We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth visiting”

Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Kastria
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Arendal, Aust-Agder, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth visiting”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

It was very nice visit to the cave. Nice and professional guide. Its a must to visit this place. The children love it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sofia U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    46
    12
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Too Much Money for Too Little Effort”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This could have been a great place to visit, but the price of 27 euro for two adults and two older persons is a bit on the steep side for what is on offer. The "guide" called us forward with another couple and preceeded to steam ahead at full pace with the commentary in Greek. I asked politely if she could guide us in English and she said "no". And that was that. (Now before you start, I wasn't expecting her to speakj fluent English or indeed any other language, but the many attractions that I have been to over the years in many different countries, do cater for the tourists - this one does not, they just take our money).

This is all such a shame because the caves are fantastic. Just read the paper guidance notes before you go in and take a small torch so you can then read them at each designated point. Being left to our own in the caves was a little unnnerving, as the guide oomed off with the other couple, but we had fun anyway - oh, and you can't take photgraphs - but when the guide has run off, there's no-one to stop you is there?

(Just as a side note, the photos on this page are not of the caves, but of the monastery at Mega Sileo - a good place to visit)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank patrick_mallett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Amazing cave”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Prototype cave full of lakes at different levels. You can only see five hundred meters but worth it. It's better for you to visit in the early spring when snows melt and lakes are full of water. It's very impressive that season.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Pelazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time...”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is a smallish cave with an interesting water feature. It really has nothing exceptional to offer that other similar caves do not have. Getting there was at least a 1.5 hours drive from Nafplio. The drive was more worth it than the cave. The scenery was exceptional.

When we visited the cave, we were told there was only a Greek speaking guide. It was low season and we could understand the staff limitations. However, the guide was one of most unfriendly and unhelpful guides I have ever encountered. It is one thing to not be able to speak English, but another to be totally uncommunicative to the non-Greek speaking members of the tour group.

My advice is, not to bother.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Muluvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“cave of lakes”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

impressive cave (about 500m) with stalaktites and stalagmites.... it must be more beautiful in winter time when there is more water flowing in the cave and the consecutive lakes are full of water - there is also a "waterfall" ...

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank VentonK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kastria Cave of the Lakes also viewed

 
Feneos, Corinthia Region
Kalavrita, Achaea Region
 

Been to Kastria Cave of the Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing