We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I tried to love this place ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Woodland Motor Lodge
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Grayling
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2012

I stayed here twice the first time our room was on the road side and they seemed surprised by our visit. The owner said something like if you had booked soon we could have got a better room. I had booked 3 weeks in advance through Expedia. The room was clean but had a musty smell that bothered me. The next time I stayed we got a room off the road. The room was clean but it had the same musty smell. The door also did not have a dead bolt. I was traveling alone with young children and would have felt safer if I had a dead bolt. I know nothing bad would happen in Grayling, MI but for peace of mind it would be nice. The owners seem wonderful but I prefer to pay a couple more bucks to stay in a room that has no smell and a good lock on the door.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarianneWalters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 61 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2012

A wonderful experience! Very clean and the staff is outstanding. I have not seen customer service ever that was this good! Great value and a memorable experience.
Enjoy your stay!

Ken @ Farmington Hills

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kllss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

I'm glad I read the reviews on here and decided to give this place a try. For the price, I wasn't expecting much. We were amazed at how great the place is! It is family-owned and the staff was so friendly and helpful. We were able to bring our dog along and loved our room! it was modernly updated, but cute and cozy. Everything was so great for our stay. It would be a good place to stay at a higher price, but for this price, you seriously can't beat it! We have family in town and will definitely be back to stay here. Thank you!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank septembremelody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

What a wonderful surprise! The setting is very peaceful. A fire pit was near our room...the motel even supplied the wood for our campfire. The room was clean, spacious and well equiped with a microwave and a refrigerator. Best of all, the owners were incredibly friendly. It was a great change from our typical stays at the chain hotels!

Room Tip: The back unit is farthest from the road...very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Met my wife for a brief overnight get- away. The owner put us in the back of the property, which gave us excellent peace and quiet. If it wouldn't have rained, we could have had a nice campfire in the fire pit. ( Wood was provided) We will certainly be back for another stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a unit in the rear of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WAG80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

We usually are campers but due to a recent injury needed to stay at a hotel while in Grayling. We opted to try a private hotel rather than a chain one. We were so happy with this little place. It was very clean, affordable, friendly and comfortable. We enjoyed campfires in the evening, a grill and shelter for outdoor cooking and friendly, neighbor like staff. Rooms included a fridge and microwave, some even had kitchenettes. It has a rustic feel but amenities are modern and comfortable. We were very relaxed there and will definitely return. It was very clean and well cared for.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greenthum66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2010

My family came up to Grayling for a family get together. The owners of this place were great. They helped set up a canoe trip for us. Let our teenagers borrow bikes to ride on the bike path (that is right across the street). Each night we had a camp fire. it was one of the best weekends of the summer and are definitely going back there again this summer.

Very Clean
Very Friendly
Very Helpful

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j0hnaandsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grayling
2.3 mi away
Ramada Grayling Hotel and Conference Center
5.6 mi away
Super 8 Grayling
Super 8 Grayling
#2 of 9 in Grayling
392 reviews
23.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Gaylord
Hampton Inn Gaylord
#1 of 15 in Gaylord
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Gaylord
1.9 mi away
Days Inn Grayling
Days Inn Grayling
#1 of 9 in Grayling
502 reviews
2.1 mi away
Motel 72
Motel 72
#4 of 9 in Grayling
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodland Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodland Motor Lodge

Address: 267 S. I-75 Business Loop, Grayling, MI 49738
Location: United States > Michigan > Crawford County > Grayling
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Grayling
Price Range: $69 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Woodland Motor Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A clean, friendly family-owned and operated motel, cabins, and snowmobiling facility in the heart of the Northern Michigan Woods. We continue to operate the Woodland Motor Lodge as a clean, quiet family motel that has served its customers well for over forty years. We have many repeat customers, and we make many new friends every season. We are located centrally to outdoor activities including canoeing, fishing, skiing, and snowmobiling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Woodland Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing