We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great service”
Review of Mainstream Steak & Ribs - CLOSED

Mainstream Steak & Ribs
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Lansing, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good food, great service”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We opted to visit this restaurant for lunch after receiving less-than-stellar service and absolutely no food at the Ramada Inn in Grayling the night before. What a difference. We were seated right away, served drinks and given a menu with a variety of choices. The food was fantastic, the server was attentive and helpful. We will make this a stop if we have another Grayling conference.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rrileyadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    15
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Macomb
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not just a steak place”
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Stopped for lunch with the family on the way to Traverse City. Newly remodeled place. Menu is on the small side but has a variety. Very friendly people. Food was very fresh. The only downside is the hostess was also the waitress but it wasn't busy at all. This really worried me at first but I would definitely stop here again! Nice place, nice people

Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Mainstream Steak & Ribs”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

My wife and I spent a long weekend in the Grayling area. We stopped in for dinner on a Sunday evening. We were seated right away as the restaurant was about two thirds full. We opted to sit in the patio area, which was nice and open and looked like it was just added on, or recently remodeled. It look like they were making some additional renovations to the inside also, including a brew pub.
Our server showed up very quickly and took our drink orders. They have a great selection of local beers, both on tap and bottle. The server also helped my wife with some gluten free options with her allergy.
Our food arrived, and everything tasted great. I ordered a side of the potaoto balls as a previous reviewer mentioned, and they were awesome! Thanks for the tip.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jim521r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Ambitious, but long way to go with the food”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

This eatery is trying to transform itself into a trendy brew pub, and I hope it works. However, based on our mediocre food experience (limp, tasteless perch, over-breaded fish and chips, greasy fries), they are going to have to do some serious culinary upgrading to attract and retain the customers needed to support such an ambitious project.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Candonjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Stayed at the Days Inn next door, also very good, so walked 100" or so to the restaurant, as the hotel staff said it was very good. Sat in a table in the bar area, which they are remodeling. Enjoyed the cod dinner with parmesagn potatoes, many choices of beer and wine, but excellent for family as well. Waitress was very helpful, would certainly go again if in area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Partsman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mainstream Steak & Ribs also viewed

Grayling, Crawford County
Grayling, Crawford County
 
Grayling, Crawford County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing