We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We Came. We Saw!”

Hartwick Pines State Park
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Grayling
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Oakland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We Came. We Saw!”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

I visited the state park with a group of fellow birdwatchers for the sole purpose of seeing the Kirtland Warbler. Found the Park to be very beautiful. Attended a 15 minute vidio presentation before going to the area where the warbler was to be seen. Our guide was very knowledgeable and took the time to help us hear and find the bird as well answer any questions we had. Would highly recommend this guided tour if you want to see the Kirtland Warbler.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    35
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trenton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We saw many birds and walked the trails. It was well maintained and a joy to experience. Spent time in the visitors center which was clean and comfortable.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marsha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody, Wyoming
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Go for the Warblers and Much More”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I'm so glad I came here and went on a guided tour to see Kirtland's Warblers! Our guide (Alison) was knowledgeable, very friendly, and accommodating, making sure that everyone who wanted to do do could look through her scope. We saw at least half a dozen Kirtland's, along with several other warblers (all new to me), sparrows and other birds. After the warbler tour, I came back to the visitor center and took another guided tour (sorry, don't recall the guide's name) through an old-growth foresr, seeing othe birds. The feeders outside the center attracted grosbeaks, nuthatches and funches, and the trees nearby held tanagers and vireos, among other species. All in all, a great place to visit and a great opportunity to commune with nature!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank WyoFanCody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayling, Mi
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing Outdoor Paradise”
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Great place to see old growth forest, hike, bike, ski, and walk the trails. Great informative visitors center with interactive learning for kids and adults alike. Wonderful logging museum with annual events

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbiaville, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great park!”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We went here last August and loved the amazing walkways! There is also a great lumber museum. The forest is awe inspiring!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelerP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hartwick Pines State Park also viewed

 

Been to Hartwick Pines State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing