We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm a lumberjack and I'm OK”

Hartwick Pines State Park
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Grayling
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
West Branch, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“I'm a lumberjack and I'm OK”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I have not camped here, but I have visited several times. The logging camp is both a fun and educational look back into the early lumbering days in Michigan. The huge virgin pine trees give us a glimpse of what it must have looked like in the 1800's. If you don't mind crowds come during the "Black Iron Days" and see several live demonstrations including blacksmiths and other traditional craftsmen. There is also a paved biking trail that runs from the park several miles into the city of Grayling.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jr7648661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    39
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ludington, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful and worth the trip”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A wonderful area....natural White Pine forest....much like used to exist here in MI before logging. Interesting museum and artifacts. Lovely walking trails. Worth the trip. take your kids!

Helpful?
2 Thank Teri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“WHERE AM I?”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had heard that there was great X-country skiing available here, there was once we found the trail head. For those not familiar with the park there needs to be a sign on the highway letting visitors know x-country is available and another sign that identifies the trail head better. The trails were not as groomed as I would have expected at a premier park with perfect terrain for new skiiers. Somebody is slacking.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MIMaryandSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“CC skiing maps could be better.”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Snow storm brought 10 inches just in time, groomer was out and had trail ready.
As a first timer on CC skiing, let me suggest marking the map for experianced or beginners. I could of really hurt myself on the one downhill with right turn. Thanks goodness I fell before the turn..

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CommunityHostess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpena, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Family fun”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Great place for a family. We love to camp here. There are great trails for your bike and for walking.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Teacher4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hartwick Pines State Park also viewed

 

Been to Hartwick Pines State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing