We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How cool”

Dawson & Stevens Classic Diner
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Grayling
Cuisines: Diner
Restaurant details
Zanesville, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“How cool”
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Loved it food was good service great and the atmosphere was way cool. What a nice place in a small town where the Applebees of the world haven't euin them out of business. Valentyne our server makes a mea "Good Golly Miss Molly" too

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jfv123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    47
    21
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Pricey”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Fifteen bucks for a coke, cheeseburger deluxe, and fries? Hey, we are not talking organic, free range russet potatoes, or Kobe beef, just a greasy burger and frozen fries. The 60's music is nice, but the value ratio is out of whack. This is a place to avoid for everything but an ice cream cone.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brookie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Food, Fun Atmosphere!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I love when a restaurant makes an effort to have interesting stuff to look at. It's kind of important when you have kids who get bored so easily! There is Coca-Cola stuff (posters, toys, bottles...) everywhere (including the bathroom, which is kind of annoying because it's a "single" bathroom, and I don't want to encourage my kid to stay in there extra long!).

Our server was nice. My sandwich was delicious (turkey reuben - everything has a cute name, and I think this was the "Wipe Out"). The cook did a little bit of diner talk (when he called out that the orders were up), which made it extra fun. I do think it was a little pricey, but not too bad.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen1__R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced. Food not that great.”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

The food here way way overpriced. The burger was overcooked and underseasoned. The fries were cold and flavorless. The waitstaff was next to useless--took forever to get their attention, service was slow, and they didn't check up on us to make sure the food was ok or to refill drinks or water. The atmosphere is cute, but I would not dine here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CAB-MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Venice, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Blast from the past”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

For a trip down memory lane the Classic Diner is a nice surprise. From the extensive Coke memorabilia decorating the walls to the outfits worn by the waitresses, this is a fun place for a 50's themed experience. The food is just average but the service was good and speedy. Worth a stop on your way through Grayling.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dgcrawf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dawson & Stevens Classic Diner also viewed

Grayling, Crawford County
Grayling, Crawford County
 
Grayling, Crawford County
Grayling, Crawford County
 

Been to Dawson & Stevens Classic Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing