We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Prairieside Suites
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Rodeway Inn(Grandville)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites(Grandville)
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$141
$127
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$193
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
SpringHill Suites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Rapids Inn(Grand Rapids)
$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveler rating
120
12
3
5
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
120
12
3
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb btuscan villaget awayfrench rivieraheated toilet seatbeach housegrand rapidsenglish cottagedelicious breakfastbreakfast delivered to our roomrest and relaxationthe santa barbara beachfelt very pamperedoffice areaevery amenitystayed two nightsquiet neighborhood
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 144 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2012

They definately have the wow factor going on at Prairieside Suites in Grandville. Everything about this place was amazing, clean, presentable, very personable, and such a warm & helpful staff. We staying in the Southern Mansion room for two nights 3 days and ordered the hot breakfast to our room. The food is amazing, they spare no expense in decorating these rooms. For our first bed & breakfast experience it was amazing! I will definately visit many more times and am glad we chose Prairieside for our romantic weekend getaway!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesignerCheri, Owner at Prairieside Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Thanks Stephanie, I'm so glad that you and Eric enjoyed your long overdue get away!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed Prairieside for two nights, in the Southern Mansion. We enjoyed everything, from the friendly stuff, the wonderful breakfast, hot chocolate, huge whirlpool tub, comfortable bed and the music. I enjoyed my relaxing, 30minute pregnancy massage too. The room service was awesome! We hadn't been away just the two of us for a couple of years. This was relaxing and peaceful. We also liked the location because it is close, many restaurants and mall. So much do and see, we wish we had stayed longer. This was our first visit, it will certainly not be our last. I will recommend it to anyone. I almost forgot to mention, the lovely garden. We relaxed on the hammock towards the end of the day enjoyed a cool breeze. Paul was nice enough to take pictures of us in the garden!!

Room Tip: The southern mansion is right by the dining area, so it can be a bit noisy if you plan on sleeping in and not going for the 9.30am breakfast. Other than that is its quiet for the rest of the day.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bell319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This place is fantastic! This was our first bed & breakfast experience so I have little to compare it to, but we were so impressed by the personal touches and also the quality of the accommodations. The owners give so many little extras to guests to make the stay nice and the staff was so friendly and eager to do whatever they could to make our weekend what we wanted.

We arrived very late (10pm) and Cheri (owner) had one of her staff waiting up for us to make sure we got checked in and settled ok and were shown around upon arrival. This took the stress of our late start on Friday right out of the equation.

We stayed in the french villa suite which is on the lower level, but you would never call this a basement because it was so roomy and spacious and it is without a doubt a luxury suite. The room has a fire place, two person whirlpool tub, 46 inch. flat screen tv, dvd/vcr, cd alarm clock, refrig. & microwave and even a full set of dishes. The bathroom has heated toilet seats, a fog free heated mirror, and even a heated floor!. The kingsize bed was unbelievably comfortable, the best I have ever slept in. This comment comes from someone that stays at the Intercontinental Hotel in Chicago at least once every year, which is the lap of luxury for hotels, and I put the Prairieside Suites ahead of the I/C as far as comfort goes. We actually want our next mattress purchase to be the exact kind that was in our room!

They have an awesome hot cocoa mix free to all guests, free snacks, cold non-alcoholic beverage of our choice waiting in the refrig. for us, and a very good breakfast. I would say that the breakfast is very good and very pleasant, but not gourmet. This was perfect for us, as it was not stuffy at all.

They have a very nice, though small pool with a few chairs and a couple of nice glider swings and a really nice hammock in the backyard. They actually own 3 houses sourrounding a corner and have loding in two of them. We spent about 4 hours in the backyard. My wife stayed at the pool and I split time there with her and then about 2 hours laying in the hammock reading. The hammock really made my day. So relaxing laying in the shade reading!

They gave us directions to the mall and some dinner suggestions as well as some websites to check out things to do in G.R. during our two night stay.

The B & B is located about 6 miles south of downtown G.R., and is fairly close to the I-196 expressway so we had a very short drive to Charley's Crab for a fantastic dinner.

Not the country-like setting or shoreline setting that you might anticipate for a B&B, but they really have created an Oasis in a Grand Rapids suburb (Grandville). If you want a day at the beach, its about a 30 minute car-ride. I really doubt anyplace a long the water will have the quality, care for their guests and amenities that this place gives you. We loved it so much that we cannot wait to go back! We already are planning to come here every year for our anniversary.

We did have one complaint - this being our first B&B experience, how can we ever try another place? It cannot possibly compare to what we got to experience here. We are RUINED for any other B&B!

Room Tip: We would have been very happy with any of the suites we saw on the website. Not really a good place for kids. Very quiet, private place, and we were very happy about that, as we wanted a get away from the kids.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We visited Prairieside for a 2 night get away to celebrate our anniversary. We stayed in the Santa Barbara Beach house. What an amazing and beautiful room Cheri, the innkeeper and designer, walked us through everything. They have a wealth of knowledge about the area and things to do. They have a drawer full of maps, directions and menus. It was all right there at our fingertips. Loved the room with the relaxing colors, the heated floor and toilet seat as well as the tub. The food each day was wonderful. They really listened to what we didn't like and adaptd accordingly. This is a place we will definitely go to again and refer to our friends.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

This was our first bed and breakfast experience and it was a real treat. Cheri was incredibly helpful and went out of her way to show us all of the amenities Prarieside had to offer. We loved the pool, the outdoor sitting areas, the delicious breakfast, the fancy guest room (Tuscan Villa) with so many comforts, and the friendly hospitality. Thanks for making this such an incredible experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eremia_aner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews