We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing place!!”
Review of Prairieside Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Prairieside Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Grandville B&B and Inns
White Lake, Michigan, United States
1 review
“What an amazing place!!”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

They definately have the wow factor going on at Prairieside Suites in Grandville. Everything about this place was amazing, clean, presentable, very personable, and such a warm & helpful staff. We staying in the Southern Mansion room for two nights 3 days and ordered the hot breakfast to our room. The food is amazing, they spare no expense in decorating these rooms. For our first bed & breakfast experience it was amazing! I will definately visit many more times and am glad we chose Prairieside for our romantic weekend getaway!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DesignerCheri, Owner at Prairieside Suites, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thanks Stephanie, I'm so glad that you and Eric enjoyed your long overdue get away!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    12
    3
    5
    4
See reviews for
2
118
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Goshen, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed Prairieside for two nights, in the Southern Mansion. We enjoyed everything, from the friendly stuff, the wonderful breakfast, hot chocolate, huge whirlpool tub, comfortable bed and the music. I enjoyed my relaxing, 30minute pregnancy massage too. The room service was awesome! We hadn't been away just the two of us for a couple of years. This was relaxing and peaceful. We also liked the location because it is close, many restaurants and mall. So much do and see, we wish we had stayed longer. This was our first visit, it will certainly not be our last. I will recommend it to anyone. I almost forgot to mention, the lovely garden. We relaxed on the hammock towards the end of the day enjoyed a cool breeze. Paul was nice enough to take pictures of us in the garden!!

Room Tip: The southern mansion is right by the dining area, so it can be a bit noisy if you plan on sleeping i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bell319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Orion, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This place is fantastic! This was our first bed & breakfast experience so I have little to compare it to, but we were so impressed by the personal touches and also the quality of the accommodations. The owners give so many little extras to guests to make the stay nice and the staff was so friendly and eager to do whatever they could to make our weekend what we wanted.

We arrived very late (10pm) and Cheri (owner) had one of her staff waiting up for us to make sure we got checked in and settled ok and were shown around upon arrival. This took the stress of our late start on Friday right out of the equation.

We stayed in the french villa suite which is on the lower level, but you would never call this a basement because it was so roomy and spacious and it is without a doubt a luxury suite. The room has a fire place, two person whirlpool tub, 46 inch. flat screen tv, dvd/vcr, cd alarm clock, refrig. & microwave and even a full set of dishes. The bathroom has heated toilet seats, a fog free heated mirror, and even a heated floor!. The kingsize bed was unbelievably comfortable, the best I have ever slept in. This comment comes from someone that stays at the Intercontinental Hotel in Chicago at least once every year, which is the lap of luxury for hotels, and I put the Prairieside Suites ahead of the I/C as far as comfort goes. We actually want our next mattress purchase to be the exact kind that was in our room!

They have an awesome hot cocoa mix free to all guests, free snacks, cold non-alcoholic beverage of our choice waiting in the refrig. for us, and a very good breakfast. I would say that the breakfast is very good and very pleasant, but not gourmet. This was perfect for us, as it was not stuffy at all.

They have a very nice, though small pool with a few chairs and a couple of nice glider swings and a really nice hammock in the backyard. They actually own 3 houses sourrounding a corner and have loding in two of them. We spent about 4 hours in the backyard. My wife stayed at the pool and I split time there with her and then about 2 hours laying in the hammock reading. The hammock really made my day. So relaxing laying in the shade reading!

They gave us directions to the mall and some dinner suggestions as well as some websites to check out things to do in G.R. during our two night stay.

The B & B is located about 6 miles south of downtown G.R., and is fairly close to the I-196 expressway so we had a very short drive to Charley's Crab for a fantastic dinner.

Not the country-like setting or shoreline setting that you might anticipate for a B&B, but they really have created an Oasis in a Grand Rapids suburb (Grandville). If you want a day at the beach, its about a 30 minute car-ride. I really doubt anyplace a long the water will have the quality, care for their guests and amenities that this place gives you. We loved it so much that we cannot wait to go back! We already are planning to come here every year for our anniversary.

We did have one complaint - this being our first B&B experience, how can we ever try another place? It cannot possibly compare to what we got to experience here. We are RUINED for any other B&B!

Room Tip: We would have been very happy with any of the suites we saw on the website. Not really a good place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Indiana, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We visited Prairieside for a 2 night get away to celebrate our anniversary. We stayed in the Santa Barbara Beach house. What an amazing and beautiful room Cheri, the innkeeper and designer, walked us through everything. They have a wealth of knowledge about the area and things to do. They have a drawer full of maps, directions and menus. It was all right there at our fingertips. Loved the room with the relaxing colors, the heated floor and toilet seat as well as the tub. The food each day was wonderful. They really listened to what we didn't like and adaptd accordingly. This is a place we will definitely go to again and refer to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2012

This was our first bed and breakfast experience and it was a real treat. Cheri was incredibly helpful and went out of her way to show us all of the amenities Prarieside had to offer. We loved the pool, the outdoor sitting areas, the delicious breakfast, the fancy guest room (Tuscan Villa) with so many comforts, and the friendly hospitality. Thanks for making this such an incredible experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eremia_aner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otisville, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We are celebrating our anniversary at Prairieside Suites Bed and Breakfast and it is everything and more than it promises to be. We are in love with this bed and breakfast's lovely charm. The room we are staying in is the Southern Mansion. It is so relaxing and homey feeling at the same time. We enjoyed relaxing by the pool and watching the innkeepers grand children jumping in and out of the pool. Anyone who knows us, knows just how much we enjoy being around children. The innkeepers are truly a breath of fresh air also! They are so caring and accommendating. The room has everything we could possibly have wished for and to top things off they are putting out the effort to be GREEN. We love that! I also loved the sign on the door that reads "If you are smoking in here, you had better be on fire!" This is great, because the air is fresh and clean smelling. This promises to be the best anniversary and beats the Burger King fiasco Kevin planned a few years ago!!!! LOL! I am loving it!

Room Tip: We love the Southern Mansion room, but our plan is to come back and experience the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Prairieside Suites, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Oh my gosh, we have the best and sweetest guests here at Prairieside Suites. It's such an honor to help set the stage for their wonderful anniversary celebration. It is our goal to ALWAYS give everyone their privacy when they stay with us.

The grandchildren do call to ask if the coast is clear before heading over for a swim. What happened was they were coming over when Candie & Kevin arrived and being grandparents and loving children, AS THEY DO, they said they didn't mind a bit. I wanted to explain, So you knew you won't have to swim with MY little lovies when you finally GOT AWAY FROM YOURS!!!

Thanks for all your kind words Candie & Kevin, please come back for some more spoiling soon. Love from, Cheri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2012

My loved one and I came here sight unseen for a single overnight stay in the French Riveria room on a short visit to this part of Michigan. Cheri was a JOY to work with over the phone and email. She was incredibly accommodating-and when she learned of our interest in wines and wineries, she sent us an amazing thorough list of local places we might enjoy (complete with directions from Prairieside, hours of the wineries, and little handwritten details about their operations)! Our suite was gorgeous, the whole house was gorgeous. And even though it was full of guests, we never knew it until breakfast, it was so quiet and private!. The gardens were beautiful, the house welcoming, clean, and open for lounging and exploration. It really was exactly like being in a private, incredibly beautiful and well kept home. And Cheri is a stickler for luxurious, warm details...from the warmed towels and popcorn in the room, to the gentle, scents that wafted through the home, to the fresh baked cookies and lemon bars with coffee, tea, and homemade cocoa that she kept available to us all of the time, to the gourmet breakfast she made, to the insanely comfortable bed and soft, soft linens...it was all very pampering, over-the-top with comfort. This is a very exclusive inn, but yet it's not terribly expensive, and not at all snooty. It is just so, so warm-clearly built with love, and with the customer in mind. We'll be back, as often as possible!

Room Tip: The French Rivera room was beautiful and quiet...but then, they all are, from what we saw!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HSA11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Prairieside Suites, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Wow, Dayton, Ohio. It was our honor to have you stay and you made my day! Make us your secret spot and come again soon. Love from Cheri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grandville
6.1 mi away
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
#4 of 49 in Grand Rapids
936 reviews
6.2 mi away
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
10.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 4 in Grandville
105 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grandvillage Inn
Grandvillage Inn
#4 of 4 in Grandville
115 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prairieside Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prairieside Suites

Property: Prairieside Suites
Address: 3180 Washington Ave SW, Grandville, MI 49418-1236
Location: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Grandville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Grandville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Prairieside Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted "3rd Best Over All B&B in North America," "Most Romantic B&B," "Best of the Great Lakes" & "Best in the Midwest!" Our Luxurious Private Spa Rooms include: Whirlpool Tub, Fireplace, King Bed, Jetted showers, heated towel bars, heated toilet seats, AC, TV/VCR/DVD/cable, CD Player, Coffee Maker, Refrigerator & Microwave. Featuring In-House Massage, Romantic Packages, Room Breakfast Services, free Wi-fi, free Music & Video library on site. Shopping malls, theater’s & restaurants 5 minutes away. Our goal at Prairieside Suites is to create an "Experience" not just a "Stay." Luxury guest rooms are at the heart of this nurturing environment. Our spa rooms feature extra long & deep whirlpool tubs with views of the fireplace. These tubs sit in our beautiful bedrooms [not in a cramped bathroom]. The elegant decor, quiet relaxed atmosphere and convenient location (restaurants and shopping malls only minutes away), make this a perfect getaway. Seasonally enjoy our beautiful gardens, heated pool, pergola, and fountain! We serve a full candle light breakfast in the dining room @ 9:30am. For the guests who prefer to snuggle and sleep in, a deluxe continental breakfast can be packed in your in room refrigerator and eaten in the privacy of their room. Relax and unwind while you enjoy your stay in one of our spotless and allergy-free spa rooms. This “Award Winning” Luxury B&B featured in the “Inn Traveler Magazine” caters to getaway couples & the business traveler and is located only 6 minutes from downtown Grand Rapids. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Prairieside Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing