We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to eat on special ocassions” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Outback Steakhouse

Outback Steakhouse
Ranked #26 of 85 Restaurants in Grandville
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat on special ocassions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Twin daughters actually cleaned their plates, that's a first, I had porterhouse, cooked medium and it was perfect, wonderfull, wife had ribs, she thought was burn't I thought were good, best bang for the buck if you got eighty bucks with tip, this is my new special ocassions restaurant for when I want to give my family a treat

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ihopeuclosecasino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    9
    12
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grandville, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“9.99 steak dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

This dinner was just average, nothing to write home about. We usually choose to go out one night a week for a healthy meal; probably wouldn't bother again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank familyItaliano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandville
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Reliable flavor and quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Because most restaurants are not perfect I could have rated them with 4 stars. But most of the time they hover at the 5 star level. It is a comfortable restaurant with good food and excellent service. If you have an issue they will take care of it for you. Great salads, especially like their Caesar and the Wedge salad with Blue Cheese. If you like quality steak they have plenty to choose from or if you are in the mood for a hearty burger, they have this as well. The Mahi fish is another great option. And of course, don't forget about the Bloomin Onion, try it with Ranch dressing instead of the standard dip served with it. Finish the deal with a great dessert, The Chocolate Thunder From Down Under. Great place to go when you are not sure what type of food you are in the mood for.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Staff with terrible management”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Outback advertises call ahead seating. I called at 4:55 pm and told them we would be there at 7:30 pm. The hostess said that would be fine and though we might have a short wait, we would be first on the list when we arrived.

We arrived at 7:20 pm and were told that the Manager on Duty had decided to abolish call ahead seating that evening. We waited at the bar until 8:15 pm and the great bar staff (they were trying very hard) checked with hostess. We had pager #81 which was defective and not working, so we were not called.

My steak was ordered Medium Rare and it came out rare rare. During the meal, the Manager on Duty (male in a blue shirt) came by our table and called us one of his regulars. I had never met the man and I had been in the restaurant in over a year.

I sent comments to telloutback.com, but as usual, Outback has no interest in customers and never responds even when you check the block and ask for a response.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rickb1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesquite, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Do you charge for water?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

I went here on a busy night, and since I was by myself, I chose to sit at the bar. Normally, I do not do that as I do not partake of alcohol, but hey! I was greeted by one of the bartenders, who promptly took my drink order (water.) I looked over the menu, and made my selection. It took at least 20 minutes before eye contact was made with me again, while others (in groups of 2) were getting their drinks and food. I finally had to make a small scene to get anyone's attention. Fortunately, I got the head bartender, who apologized profusely for the bad service. He took my order, the food arrived, and I was served. When I got the bill, I wondered why I got charged for the drink. So, I asked, "Do you charge for water here in Michigan?" "No," came the quick reply. "Where are you from?" "Texas," I answered. "Do they charge for water in Texas?" "NO" came the quick reply. He took my credit card and promptly charged me $1.29 (I think) for the beverage. I gave no tip, but told him that if he took the water off, he could have the difference.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outback Steakhouse also viewed

Grandville, Ottawa County
Grandville, Ottawa County
 
Grandville, Ottawa County
Grandville, Ottawa County
 

Been to Outback Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing