We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average w/a splash of disappointment.”
Review of Olive Garden

Olive Garden
Ranked #2 of 87 Restaurants in Grandville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
Good for: Large groups
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Hudsonville, Michigan
Level Contributor
145 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Just average w/a splash of disappointment.”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We didn't have to wait long at all. I'm always impressed with that. The food was good like usual BUT what a bummer that we couldn't order just mozzerella sticks or zucchini appetizers by themselves like we used to. I didn't want both. It's just another ploy to get you to order more so I didn't order either on. The service was just okay too. Our server was very forgetful. My friend ordered the spicey shrimp appetizer and it was sour?!?! I order the Tour of Italy and that was good as usual.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teessm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    24
    17
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
GRAND RAPIDS
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
“Soup & Salad”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Love their soup and salad special for lunch. Their chicken & gnoche (not sure spelled that right-lol) is especially delicious. The wait staff was so kind to give us a few extra black olives (mufa's you know.) :-)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank NELLIE M MRS L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Comfort food for one please”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

I've been coming here since this place probably opened..I've always loved Itailian food and the atmosphere..I either get the soup with salad and bread sticks or a angel hair pasta with a peach ice tea..My notices about the staff is they are all very sweet and helpful but on there break they eat the food right in the back of the restaurant where the customers are supposed to sit. They get loads of food ordered on there break and it made me think that if there's about half the place filled with people and there waiting for there food and I see a waitress or waiter come out with a salad bowl bread sticks and pasta and desert I'm kind of thinkin that the staff is getting food before I do? so not right! I've complained about this 3 times in the last 1 year and we had the manager come out she will be all sweet and she'll say I'll talk with my staff and she'll feel bad and give you a card with $10 on it for a next time service..Nice but seriously girl it's getting old..Stop babying your customers with food and fix your staff and make a break room for them to eat in peace instead of us having to watch them eat and hear there personal phone conversations..Us customers come away from work to get away from that, not to come to a place where we're gonna hear work conversations from the staff..Good food I always come back but when I see a staff employee there eating I tell the manager and the employee gets up and eats in the kitchen. O and there REAL butter isn't real it's fake butter..They give you so little because they want you to think its real lol..It's like ranch at culvers you get 4 chicken pieces and they give you 1 ranch pack um seriously lol what is this for 1 piece lol..

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Purelifetravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
357 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“lunch”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Went there at noon on a Friday. Didn't have to wait at all. Got our drinks right away. Ordered Chicken Parmigiana Sandwich with Pasta eFagioli Soup. Daughter got the Four Cheese Calzone with the same soup. we loved them both, but I found something like plastic string on my bread. The Manager came offered me a new sandwich, I said that was ok and she took my meal off the bill. I don't do this enough, but was surprise when she took it off the bill. And was very nice about it. I would definitely go back there..

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandville, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One word: Eh...”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Bad service, and average food. It is "just okay" nothing special, but that's OG--the best thing are the breadsticks and salad. Go to Carrabba's across the street for much better and fresher Italian food!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive Garden also viewed

Grandville, Ottawa County
Grandville, Ottawa County
 
Grandville, Ottawa County
Grandville, Ottawa County
 

Been to Olive Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing