We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the location, very clean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Grand Rapids West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn Grand Rapids West
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Grandville
Certificate of Excellence
Flint, MI
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Loved the location, very clean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed here for one night while attending orientation at Grand Valley State University. We got the hotel on a bidding website. We had never stayed at a Residence Inn before so we did not know what to expect.

We loved the location. Easy to find from the expressway using the GPS even though it is tucked behind a couple restaurants. There are many dining options and a large mall right across the street. Surrounding the mall are several other shopping plazas and a Meijer and Costco. This sounds busy but the hotel is tucked behind the main street and has a residential street on the opposite side. It was actually very quiet and peaceful.

There is outdoor fireplace, a pool, hit tub and basketball court. We did not use any of these due to the season/weather. They also offer guest "theme nights" during the week with food/drinks, etc. however we were here on a Sunday night so we didn't get to experience that either. But it sounded like a nice, fun perk.

The lobby was spacious and clean. I also like the decor with its warm earth tone colors. Check in was quick and painless. No mention of us using a bidding site for our booking. They just wanted a credit card for incidentals.

We were surprised that this hotel does not offer standard rooms with two beds. All their standard rooms have one queen bed and a pull out sofa. They had 10 two-bedroom suites which offer two queens (one in each room). We asked if we could upgrade since we were with our teenaged son and I know how horrible hotel sofa beds are (or any sofa bed for that matter!) but we were told all those rooms were sold out. I found that odd on a Sunday night but there was recent flooding in Grand Rapids and at least one large hotel is closed so maybe more guests are coming this way to stay. A bit disappointing not to have "real" beds for everyone but for one night we were not going to worry about it.

We got a standard room on the 3rd floor with a view of the residential street side. Not much traffic down this road and no complaints with the location of the room. The room was large and basically set up like a studio apartment. A desk with chair is set up right when you walk in. There is a living area with couch, chair, side tables and gas fireplace. There is a kitchen area with a full kitchen. Full size stainless fridge, microwave, stove top and sink. The kitchen is fully stocked with dishes and cooking gear. There is also a coffe maker and bag of microwave popcorn! (bonus!) A small table with two chairs seperates the kitchen and living area. There is a large flat screen tv between the living space and bed. The tv swivels so it can be viewed in the living room or from the bed. The bedroom area has no walls or doors. The bathroom is off the bedroom area. The sink is separate and outside the door for the shower and toilet. The bathroom was on the small size but it was clean and sufficient with plenty of towels and basic toiletries. There was a hair dryer in the drawer by the sink. I honestly think you could live here full time. It has everything you need.

On top of being fully equipped, it was very clean and modern. The tv quality was good and included cable and HBO. The countertops are granite ( or appear to be) and the bedding was very cozy. There are extra hangers and a iron/ironing board in the closet.

The hotel was quiet and I did not notice hearing any noise. This hotel also allows pets and there were a few there. We did not hear or see them in the hotel at all, we only saw them outside in the morning. We have pets so allowing pets at a hotel doesn't bother us at all.

We did take advantage of the free breakfast in the lobby. The dining area is very large with plenty of tables. They offered yogurt with granola, other yogurt varieties, fresh fruit, English muffins, bagels, muffins, toast, "Egg McMuffin" sandwiches, make-your-own waffles, scrambled eggs, Canadian bacon (which did look really thin and more like sliced ham) and homemade oatmeal with brown sugar, raisins and walnuts. They also offered cereal, juices and milk. Overall, one of the better free breakfasts we have had at a hotel.

Our only complaint would be the sofa bed. As suspected, the sofa bed was pretty bad. Basically like laying directly on springs. Im not sure this would be acceptable for an adult but for our teen it was tolerable for one night. Barely.

Overall we were impressed and would stay here again, assuming we only needed one bed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Griswolds198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnGR, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Grand Rapids West, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of your experience at our Residence Inn Grandville, MI. I am so happy to read that you enjoyed the many offerings that we had at our property and that your first experience with us was a positive one. We look forward to having you as our guest again. Once again thank you.
Brenda Johnston
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    44
    14
    7
    4
See reviews for
57
22
9
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

With four adults and one toddler, vacations are always an adventure. Coming up for the tulip festival in Holland we wanted a peaceful stay and found it at the Residence Inn.
Room layout was great with the two bedrooms and common area. Full kitchen was helpful with the baby and included breakfast was standard hotel; nothing outstanding but decent selection and quick. Coffee was above average.
Staff were great, rooms were good, though furniture was a little chipped up if you're picky.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnGR, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Grand Rapids West, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your experience with us and the room was comfortable. The 2 bedroom is perfect for families. Tulip time is a wonderful time to be in the area and you had the great weather to go with your fun. We hope to see you again be it for Tulip Time or for any occasion.
Thank you once again.
Brenda Johnston
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at the Residence this past weekend, the first impression was good - but things went downhill.
The one bathroom was not cleaned - still had garbage. I spoke to someone who said they would take care of it - but nothing.
The elevator broke and we have an elderly mother that has issues climbing stairs to the 3rd floor - nothing done although the elevatory was fixed on Sunday when we were leaving.
No pay per view movies and was told they have issues with the cable service. Also, at first HBO did not work, but eventually they got the HBO to work
Then Sunday morning, we went to make coffee and the coffee maker was broken - spilled all over - they gave us a box of candy for this.
We paid for this suite - it was not cheap and these things should be handled

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnGR, Guest Relations Manager at Residence Inn Grand Rapids West, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry to hear your experience with us was not a positive one. Regarding the trash left in your room, yes this is unacceptable and has been addressed with the housekeeping staff as has the lack of response to taking care of the issue.
I do apologize for both the elevator and HBO. As soon as we learned of the elevator issue we did call the service department, who was able to get it working quickly. With HBO, that was a outside issue with our carrier and can sometimes happen at any hotel. The chocolates were delivered to your room in response to your coffee maker not functioning, as a jester of apology. Prior to your departure your room rate was lowered and you should see that on your credit card charges. Again I am sorry to hear of your experience with us and do hope you will try us again when in the Grand Rapids area. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

The Suite Room was very spacious. The mattress however was terrible, it sank in the middle. High price for room with a mattress that was awful. I would rather have a smaller room than a bad mattress. I stay at hotels all over the country, and want a comfortable mattress.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anitandallaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddle Brook, New Jersey
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I went down for breakfast and because there was a big group before me, there was not enough food. The answer I got was I'm sorry. So i had to go elsewhere for breakfast. They should have done something to remedy the situation.

Room Tip: The fire place is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberto R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnGR, Guest Experience Manager at Residence Inn Grand Rapids West, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write of an issue you incurred at our property. I am sorry to read of the experience you had with our hotel and in particular with our breakfast service. We do provide a full experience and that does include a hot breakfast each morning. I can assure you that this has been addressed with our staff and will not be an issue in the future. I am glad to see that in additional areas of value, location, cleanliness and quality we did meet your expectations. If travelling to Grand Rapids area again, I hope that you will return to our property to give us another try. Once again thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
327 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Three of us (wife, bro-in-law and I) shared a two-bedroom unit in late March. We often choose two-bedroom Residence Inns as they provide lots of privacy for all of us (separate bathrooms, too), with lots of space to share as well.

No disappointments, as this is a "typical" Residence Inn. The staff was quite friendly (and, indeed recommended several interesting-sounding dining options), and the free breakfast more satisfying than the usual hotel-comp'ed fare.

Mattresses in both rooms were a tad soft, but the rooms were dark and quiet.

The only downside is that it's a modest drive out of town. So if you're there for an event (as we were) you'll have to drive to-and-from. But, hey, we knew that when we made the reservation. Still, you'll have tons of shopping nearby, along with a flood of dinnerhouse chains and other food options.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MongoSchwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnGRR, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Grand Rapids West, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear MongoSchwartz ,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Residence Inn. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and saw value in our Two-Bedroom Suites. The Two-Bedroom Suites are great options for families traveling together. The commute to Downtown Grand Rapids is a modest one like you said, an all highway drive about 10-15 minutes away. There are about 30 restaurants within 1 mile of the hotel and the largest mall, The Rivertown Crossings Mall, just across the street. I hope you had a chance to enjoy it while you stayed with us.

I hope that if you are in the area again you will choose to stay with us, we would love to welcome you back.

Kind Regards,

Tricia Terkeurst
Director of Sales
tterkeurst@fhginc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

I am relocating and have had the pleasure to be a guest here for two months. I have traveled and stayed across many chains. I profoundly recommend this residence inn to all in need. It is absolutley the best hotel i have ever stayed at! It is the welcoming staff that are tending to your every need and want consistently everyday. The management team and all staff are so genuine and considerate. It has been my pleasure to stay here and will always be loyal to Marriott -Residence Inn go forward.

Sincere Thanks~
Mike and Denise

Room Tip: Awesome location near great restaraunts and shopping!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResidenceInnGRR, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Grand Rapids West, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of our Hotel! I am so glad that your relocation was a positive experience and that we could assist in easing the burden of moving to a new city. Our staff takes pride in offering the best service in the Grand Rapids Area and we are so happy you felt the warmth of our service.

Please be sure to come back to the hotel and visit as well as let us take care of any friends of family that may be traveling to visit from out of town.

Kind Regards,

Tricia Terkeurst
Director of Sales
tterkeurst@fhginc.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grandville
1.6 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 5 in Grandville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grandvillage Inn
Grandvillage Inn
#4 of 5 in Grandville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Grand Rapids-South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
4.5 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn & Suites
7.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Grand Rapids West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Grand Rapids West

Property: Residence Inn Grand Rapids West
Address: 3451 Rivertown Point Ct SW, Grandville, MI 49418-3077
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Ottawa County > Grandville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Grandville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Grand Rapids West 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Residence Inn Grand Rapids West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Grand Rapids West Hotel Grandville
Residence Inn Grandville
Grandville Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing