We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Inn Airport
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

First time at this property. Room was huge, very quiet setting. Food delivery options were limited, no truck parking available. Staff was very helpful and friendly. I will most definitely stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Herb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanagergr, Manager at Comfort Inn Airport, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
First time visitor - first and foremost, thank you for staying at our property. Grand Rapids has many wonderful options for guests and we are honored that you stayed with us. Second, thanks so much for offering candid feedback on your experience. The excess snow has limited our parking spots, so we are sorry that there was not any trucking parking available. We were glad to read, however, that you had a pleasant stay and will be returning in the future. We hope things are well with you and hope you are staying warm. Take Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    109
    49
    10
    3
See reviews for
141
116
41
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Staff extremely helpful. Erin at desk and Harrision the limo driver went over and beyond politeness and helpfulness. Bed comfortable, room clean, breakfast good. Would definitely stay again. Ten days free parking for our trip really saved!! Only 10 minutes from airport.

Room Tip: great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 52angie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanagergr, Manager at Comfort Inn Airport, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Traverse City Friend - we just received notification of your review of our property. On behalf of our entire staff, thank you so much for taking time to evaluate your stay with us. We were very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable time with us. We always smile when we hear that our staff has exceeded expectations and we are glad to know you were able to interact with Erin and Harrison. They are both top notch. Additionally, we are glad your trip went well. Our park and fly package is a great way to start or end any adventure. Again, thank you so much for staying and providing feedback. We hope you are staying warm this chilly winter. Take Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia City, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

No Motel can exceed this Comfort Inn's Hospitality! We were there because of an Ice Storm for four days over Christmas this year. The fourth day was no different in the hospitality they showed us. We are Seniors and the desk clerks even volunteered to clean off our car from ice and snow. Always smiling, and willing to help you in any way possible to insure your stay is the best!! One evening at six o'clock someone made Chili for us to enjoy. The full Breakfast was outstanding. Waffles, French Toast, Eggs, Sausages, Yogurt, Cold Cereal, Homemade Oatmeal,3 different kinds of juices,Danish and Mini Muffins, etc.

Room Tip: Just ask for a quiet room and they will see to it you are made comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrissh_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanagergr, Manager at Comfort Inn Airport, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Friend - We cannot thank you enough for the kind words you offered regarding your stay at our property. We felt terrible for those who were without power during the storm so were very pleased to hear that you felt at home during your visit. We pride ourselves on hospitality so your sentiments really mean a lot to our staff. We will make sure to let everyone know about your review. We hope the rest of your holiday turned out well and wish you a wonderful New Years! Stay warm!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly and helpful staff. Great breakfasts and good evening light meals included in price. Rooms are quiet and beds are very comfortable. This is the second year we have stayed here for the Great Lakes Ecpo.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Charles089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanagergr, Manager at Comfort Inn Airport, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Grand Rapids visitor - first and foremost, thank you again for returning to the area and for staying at our hotel. We love hearing stories of people returning to our property. Second, thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. We are so glad to hear that you have been pleased with our accommodations. We know there are many choices in the area and truly appreciate your business. We look forward to seeing you again next year. Take care and have a happy holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

This is a lovely hotel. The online photos make the hotel appear a bit dingy, but this is far from the truth!! Front office staff was extremely pleasant, inviting and informative. The hotel was very warm, cozy and inviting and had very nice Christmas decorations. The lobby made you want to crawl under a blanket with hot cocoa next to the fire! The hotel room was very nice and the shower had nice water pressure. It did have a bit of a musty smell, but nothing that was offensive or would make it unable to have a pleasurable stay. The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept in. The breakfast was started earlier due to the the amount of airline employees that frequent the inn and it was very well rounded and food was warm. Very happy with our stay. We had several friends staying in two different hotels downtown and the Comfort Inn was much cheaper (by over 50% per night) and much much nicer. I would definitely stay here again and you can't beat the price!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindseyree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanagergr, Manager at Comfort Inn Airport, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Kentucky Friend - on behalf of our entire team, we would like to thank you for staying with us and for offering such a kind review. We will make sure to share your comments with each of our departments. They will be thrilled to hear that you were pleased with your experience. We do believe we are a great value, but definitely agree with your assessment of our photos. We are in the process of having new pictures updated to our websites.The Christmas season is a fun time of year and we our so glad you felt welcome. Nothing beats drinking a warm cup of hot chocolate and relaxing next to the tree. We look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Grand Rapids. Hope you are staying warm in Louisville. Take Care and have a wonderful holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed there overnight for a important seminar I had to attend and the hotel was everything to my needs. On a budget, free breakfast, free parking, near the airport, good staff. Forgot my hair-comb and they had one as a complement, so I did not have to run around. Only small downside was the bed was not that good. Had to toss and turn during the night. Maybe that was a one-off. Also the heater was not at its maximum. Other than these minor issues,, all went exteremly well. will book there again.

Room Tip: Make sure you mention to have a quieter room and a good bed. Had issues with that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrinceOfSalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanagergr, Manager at Comfort Inn Airport, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Lansing Visitor - on behalf of our entire team, we wanted to say, "Thank You," for taking time to review of property. We believe we are a great value and are pleased to know you were happy with your stay. We have shared your kind words with our staff. They are always encouraged by the positive feedback. We are sorry to hear about the problem with the mattress and heater. We will definitely have our maintenance staff follow-up on those issues. Again, thank you for staying with us. We hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I stayed at the Comfort Inn Airport in Grand Rapids for one night while on a road trip. I knew I was would be arriving late and leaving early, so I was not looking for more than a reasonably priced, clean and comfortable room that included breakfast. I was not disappointed in my choice. Despite being an older property, the ratings on Trip Advisor were generally positive, and in my opinion, accurate. The rooms have been updated with new furnishings, flat screen TVs, and beds. The only things in the room that didn't look newer were the bathtub, and the bathroom and room doors.

The provided breakfast was fairly typical of a good Comfort Inn. There were a few cereal choices, make-your-own waffles, a couple other hot items, as well as pastries, breads, and fruit. While it was not the best hotel breakfast I've had, it was fine and kept me satisfied until lunch time.

I only had one problem during this stay. As I mentioned above, I planned to arrive late. When I arrived, there were no parking spaces available. I ended up parking along the outer edge of the parking lot where a few others had parked. While I didn't mention this to anyone during my visit, I did mention it on a survey I was sent by Choice Hotels. The management of the hotel quickly responded and said they were working on their recent parking issues.

It is obvious that the management of the hotel cares about keeping their clients happy (the quick response to my survey comment, and many responses to Trip Advisor reviews). It has been my experience that establishments with this type of customer service oriented management are always a good bet.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wx-man93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanagergr, Manager at Comfort Inn Airport, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Traveling Friend - your review of our property was wonderful. We are always looking for ways to improve and your insights are the types of suggestions that help us to grow. We again apologize for the parking situation. We have been very blessed with strong occupancy this year and there were a few weekends with limited parking. We have made arrangements with one of our neighbors and we don't anticipate any problems moving forward. Thanks also for the tips on the room. As you note, we have been updating the rooms and will be continuing that effort throughout the winter and spring. We want to be the strongest property we can be and our owners are committed to our ongoing renovations. We have a capital improvement plan that will address many of the issues you commented on. Again, thank you so much for staying with us and for providing constructive insights. We hope you and your family have a wonderful Thanksgiving.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
1.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
#3 of 48 in Grand Rapids
133 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites
4.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#28 of 48 in Grand Rapids
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Airport

Property: Comfort Inn Airport
Address: 4155 28th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512-1903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Grand Rapids
#4 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
#11 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#11 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly smiling faces, impeccably clean rooms, and a full hot breakfast await you at Grand Rapids Comfort Inn Airport Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Airport Hotel Grand Rapids
Comfort Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing