We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (493)
Filter reviews
493 results
Traveler rating
290
128
61
10
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
290
128
61
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews front desk room was clean park and fly waffles the breakfast area hot breakfast would stay here again an early flight staying at this hotel calvin college upon check great place to stay nice breakfast free breakfast parking lot exercise room one night stay
Filter
Updating list...
320 - 325 of 493 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I stayed in this location for 4 nights. It is on the main strip of Kentwood on 28th street where you can find just about any shopping you could ever want. It is about 10 minutes to the airport and about 20 minutes to downtown Grand Rapids from there.

Good things:

1) They have a continental breakfast from 4:30am - 6:30am for business travelers who need to leave early. Hot breakfast starts at 6:30 and runs until 9:30.
2) It is the only CHOICE brand hotel I have stayed in so far that has had grapefruit at breakfast, which I personally enjoy greatly. They had apples and oranges also.
3) The location is great if you want shopping and restaurants nearby.
4) The rooms were nice. The desk had multiple outlets including 2 USB ports for charging. In addition to the desk there was also an extra chair with an ottoman.
5) The exercise room is open 24 hours although I did not have a chance to take advantage of it.

Negatives (nothing major):
1) Every day with the eggs they only had linked sausages. I would have hoped they would have changed the breakfast meat each day, at least some bacon occasionally.
2) The maid service wasn't top notch. They failed to replenish the plastic cups in the room. One day I did not have a bath mat.
3) On the day of departure the bill was not under my door in the morning.
4) They were doing renovations on the front of the building so you could not drive up to the entrance. They were able to give me a room on the opposite side of the building so I was not disturbed by any of the work.

Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanagergr, Manager at Comfort Inn Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

New Jersey Traveler - thank you so much for taking time to complete an online review of our property. It is always a treat to receive honest and constructive feedback and your insights were wonderful. We are glad to know that the breakfast was pleasant and that you found our location to be ideal. We appreciate you commenting on the USB ports as well. Technology has changed the world and we added additional ports as a convenience for the guests. We also thank you for letting us know about the missing cups and the receipt not being delivered. Both of these were obviously errors that we will address with each of the employees. In terms of the construction, we are so excited about the new look of our property. They just completed the front and have begun work on the back. It is part of our larger plan to be the best hotel we can be. Again, please know how much we appreciate you staying with us and for offering insights to help us improve. We hope you have a great rest of your week. Take Care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed here while on a college visit in Grand Rapids. I was very pleased with Kyle, who took my reservation on the phone 2 weeks prior to our visit. I had called other hotels to check prices/availability and they were less than professional. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. We had some trouble connecting to the Wi-Fi, but the front desk clerk was very knowledgeable and hooked us up quickly. The room was clean, as was the lobby. Breakfast offered many choices and was well stocked. The only thing I would change is having a room with 2 queens beds available. I would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanagergr, Manager at Comfort Inn Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Valued guest – on behalf of our entire staff, thank you so much for staying with us and for offering such kind feedback on your stay. Selecting a school is an important step in life. Grand Rapids has some wonderful colleges and universities. We hope your tours went well. In terms of our staff, thank you so much for the compliment. We strive to be professional and personable, so your insights are meaningful. We definitely agree about Kyle being top notch. We will make sure to show him your post. We also will pass your suggestion onto our owner. He is always interested in guest feedback. Again, thank you so much. Have a wonderful weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this location for a last minute weekend trip. It is in a convenient location, but is in poor condition. The beds are poor, the AC unit didn't work, the walls are thin and the pipes make bizarre noises. Also, there is usually only one person at the front desk, so expect long waits. I would not recommend this to others.

Date of stay: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rheinjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanagergr, Manager at Comfort Inn Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Grand Rapids Visitor – we want to personally thank you for your candid review of your stay with us. We take all of the guests’ comments very seriously, so we feel terrible that you did not have a good experience. We were very surprised by some of your comments. We almost always have two staff member scheduled, just had our AC units replaced, and just got new bedding in the rooms. We would love to have a chance to speak with you to get further insight on your stay. We value all our customers and want to make sure you are satisfied with your experience. Again, thank you for being so honest and for offering feedback. We are always striving to be the best we can be and input like yours helps in this endeavor. Have a great weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Friendly check-in and check-out, clean, quiet, conveniently located to GRR, and the price was a 1990 throwback. My favorite thing, I had an early flight and they had breakfast out at 4am! I'll stay here again, no question.

Date of stay: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garci1r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanagergr, Manager at Comfort Inn Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Friend – we were thrilled to read your review. We specialize in catering to early morning travelers so your endorsement was a welcome treat. We know that cutbacks by the airlines have taken a toll on everyone and hope that the early morning breakfast starts your trip off on the right foot. We laughed at your 1990 reference. That was a huge compliment. We do our best to provide great value at a reasonable price. Again, thank you so much for staying and for taking time to write such a nice review. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Grand Rapids.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Came in for the night on drive through. Friendly and helpful front desk staff. Gave us snacks and water upon arrival. Room was comfortable with plenty of amenities. Great breakfast and friendly staff. Would recommend.

Date of stay: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanagergr, Manager at Comfort Inn Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Grand Rapids Visitor - on behalf of our entire staff thank you so much for staying with us and for offering feedback on your experience. We know that travelers have many options when they come to the area. We are humbled by your kind words and are honored that you would recommend us. Please stop in again the next time you visit Michigan. We will have the refreshments and snacks all ready. Have a relaxing and restful week.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews