We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Inn Airport
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Wyoming
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We have now stayed at this hotel three different times. The staff is always friendly and accomodating. It is centrally located near many restaurants. Our room is clean and spacious with a small frig and micowave. The breakfast buffet was always fresh and well stocked. Heidi was especially friendly and courteous. Would definitely recommend a stay with Comfot Inn Airport!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BJsnorkeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanagergr, Manager at Comfort Inn Airport, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Friend - thank you so much for writing such a kind review of our property and for being such a faithful visitor. One of the joys of working in the hospitality industry is getting to see returning faces. Our staff truly enjoys the opportunity to interact with guests so it is encouraging to know you were treated well. We definitely would agree with your assessment of Heidi. She is a truly ray of light. We will make sure to let her know you mentioned her name. Again, thank you for taking time to give us feedback. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Grand Rapids.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    108
    47
    10
    3
See reviews for
139
113
40
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leatherhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

It's undoubtedly the staff that elevate this hotel above and beyond the ordinary. Though the facilities and decor are somewhat dated, the rooms are spacious, comfortable and well maintained. Unlike many hotels, staff seem able to express their personalities nicely, while still maintaining a competent and professional demeanour.

Restaurants and convenience stores are easily reached on foot, though 28th Street is a somewhat dull location, making a trek downtown a real necessity.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeSmyley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanagergr, Manager at Comfort Inn Airport, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Irish friend - what a treat to read your review of our hotel. Thank you so much for your kind words. I can say with great confidence that we truly enjoy meeting travelers - especially those from the Emerald Isle. You hit one of the main things were strive for in our customer service - friendly and professional. We know what high standards they have for hospitality in Europe, so your review is very meaningful. We hope the rest of your visit to the States was pleasant. Please come and see us again if you should return to Michigan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Heidi has been a wonderful addition to our stay here. She's courteous, and strives to make everyone's day a good one. We're staying while a family member is hospitalized, and the staff has been comforting for all of us. Wouldn't have found that elsewhere!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtimmer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanagergr, Manager at Comfort Inn Airport, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Grand Rapids Visitor - I am so glad to read that you met Heidi on your visit to our property. We can't agree with you more. She brings the type of energy and passion for serving others that inspires us all. I'm sure she will be very humbled by your especially nice review. I will make sure to pass your comments onto her. Thank you for taking time to let us know about your experience. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night while visiting family in Grand Rapids. Matt, the front desk clerk at check in, was a really nice young man. Very friendly and helpful...a role model for front desk staff at many hotels in which we'd recently stayed. Our king room was clean and spacious and the breakfast selection was varied. Would definitely stay here again. Front desk staff on check out were nice as well and they give you a bottle of water "for the road.".

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanagergr, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Airport, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thanks so much for the awesome compliment! Matt does a great job and is an absolute pleasure to have on staff. Our front desk team works extremely hard to provide the best possible guest service. We are glad you slept well on the nice king bed and enjoyed our breakfast selection in the morning. We at the Comfort Inn believe in well-hydrated guests for this hot summer and appreciate you staying with us! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

-Comfort Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
152 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We were only here for one night, on our frequent customer points, so it is hard to give a thorough review on just one night's stay. However, we can certainly say a lot of positive things about it:

- The beds and pillows were VERY comfortable; we were told that all of them had just been replaced a few months ago.
- The air conditioner was not noisy, and worked well.
- Everything in the room was clean and functioning the way it should.
- The staff were very helpful and friendly in the front desk and breakfast areas.
- The breakfast area was nicely maintained, with a good number of tables; lots of items to choose from, including some hot (although just FYI to those for whom this is important -- no hot egg or meat items -- not a big deal to us)
- Very attractive lobby area, with a unique layout not common with most Comfort Inns.

We would return again. The only reason for not giving it a 5 rating is that, in all honesty, the dark colors/lighting of the hallways and carpeting and furniture in the rooms just give it an older, uninspiring motel feel. A refurbishment to a more modern, lively environment in the areas I mentioned would help to convey an entirely different first impression.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weston66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanagergr, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Airport, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thanks so much for all of the positive comments about our property. We receive a lot of great feedback on our beds and pillows and are happy that you had a good night’s sleep. Our housekeepers and maintenance staff work hard to keep everything running smoothly and as clean as a whistle! As for your comment about the hot eggs and meat, these are available as our hot breakfast begins at 6:30am. We are so sorry that you missed it!

More good news! We are remodeling a lot of the rooms and hallways at our property. Trying to grasp a more modern look, we have chosen some brighter paint colors in areas such as our breakfast room and meeting room. Thank you so much for your input and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!

-Comfort Inn Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

This was the first time I've ever stayed at a Comfort Inn. I'm not so sure I'd come back. We chose this hotel because of the rave reviews, but when we arrived the room was much, much smaller than the pictures. Asked about upgrading to a suite, but did not feel the room/hotel was worth the additional cost.

The room was clean and the staff was very nice, but we too were a Choice Privileges member and were not told about extras. We also were never told about any hotel events, pizza, free water/cookies etc, maybe this was something we were supposed to notice or ask for.

I agree with another reviewer who said the drapes were 2 inches too short which left a lot of light coming in the room. The a/c was also loud - almost vibrating. At one point, we could also hear someone turning on the sink on the floor above us.

The price was very reasonable, but one thing to remember is low rates attract that kind of clientele. A family stayed across the hall from us and had multiple rooms. They argued all night. I could hear them cursing and slamming doors past 1am. Very rude.

Stay here if you want free breakfast, but don't expect anything special or fancy.

Room Tip: Ask to be put on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanagergr, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Airport, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you so much for your candid review and for pointing out some of both the positive and also difficulties you experienced. Our staff should have explained the various extra benefits we offer at our property. We feel terrible if you weren't able to take advantage of them. We also apologize for any excessive noise you encountered. Most of our clientele are wonderful. Unfortunately, some individuals are not as respectful as they should be. We always do our best to address the issues as soon as we learn of them. On a positive note, we are pleased to let you know that the issue you mentioned with the curtains is about to be rectified. We have just ordered brand new bedding and window treatments for the rooms. They should be arriving in the next few weeks. This should eliminate any problems with the curtains. Again, we truly appreciate your input and will share them with the rest of the staff as we continue or effort to be the best hotel we can be. Have a wonderful week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
226 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This was the best Comfort Inn we have been in recently! They won the 2011 Gold Medal Award. I feel they should win it in 2012 too! The service was excellent, and so was the room, the lobby area, and the free breakfast. This motel definitely goes out of their way to make sure their guests are accommodated. The desk clerk, Erin was very professional and pleasant. Thank you!

The breakfast consisted of various cereals, good rolls, breads for toast (and strawberry jam! instead of grape, grape, grape which most motels have), a waffles, juices, boiled eggs, biscuits & gravy, coffee, yogurts, fresh fruit, etc.

They also have china, coffee mugs, "glass" glasses, and silverware to use rather than foam plates/bowls/cups and plastic!

They had a chart posted listing the special items for each day of the coming week. They also have a printed list of what they provide as part of the hospitality each evening day. Their dining room also had a very good attendant who made sure the food was replaced as necessary and kept clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelalot963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelmanagergr, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn Airport, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Friend-thank you so much for the nice compliment on our property. We are very proud of the Gold Award we received last year and are striving each day to become an even stronger property in 2012 and beyond. We are so glad to hear you were able to enjoy breakfast and the other features of the hotel. Furthermore, we are so pleased you were able to meet Erin. She is top notch and a true asset to our staff. We will pass your insights onto her this week. Again, thank you so much for staying. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
4.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
1.6 mi away
Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites
1.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
#4 of 49 in Grand Rapids
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
1.7 mi away
Econo Lodge & Suites
Econo Lodge & Suites
#17 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Airport

Property: Comfort Inn Airport
Address: 4155 28th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512-1903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Grand Rapids
#4 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
#11 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#11 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly smiling faces, impeccably clean rooms, and a full hot breakfast await you at Grand Rapids Comfort Inn Airport Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Airport Hotel Grand Rapids
Comfort Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing