We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, by airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Ranked #18 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, by airport”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

We travel to Grand Rapids often and have stayed at many hotels in the area. This is the first time staying at this Marriott near 28th street and the airport, more the north east area. It is off the main road, but very close. It is also close to the freeway, restaurants, 2 malls, many stores, and just about everything else you might want. Our main reason for this trip was to see a play downtown but staying downtown was too expensive and not close to the malls. This was a nice choice as it is a quick drive to downtown.

The room was clean and the beds were very comfy. It is a bit sparse for a Fairfield Inn and I was disappointed that we did not have a refrigerator. I should have looked closer at the hotel's website. Breakfast was fine, but nothing really to rave about. I am trying to watch both calories and cholesterol so I had oatmeal and yogurt both mornings and it was as expected. They did have some nice choices for fruit cups, yogurt, etc. My daughter loves doughnuts but none were available.

The best feature was the location coupled with the fact that I knew this brand would be clean and well maintained. It was a good choice and I would stay here again if needed. I do prefer to stay on the south west end of the city though.

Room Tip: I liked being on the 3rd (the top) floor as there were many families with young children so I did no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaelicmom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    59
    38
    6
    0
See reviews for
47
30
9
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We arrived here late in the evening, exhausted after a long day at Michigan's Adventure. We had stayed at an awful hotel down the street the night before and were so pleased when we arrived here. Hotel must be fairly new. The lobby was clean and check in was quick. Our room was spotless and we all had a great nights sleep. In the morning my kids (3 little boys) got out of bed and I noticed a big blood stain on the duvet. Totally grossed as I knew for sure it was not from them, I went to the front desk. There was no one there just a sign saying someone wuld return soon. On our way to the pool I found the cleaning lady whom did not speak English very well about the problem. When we went back to the room the bed was made with the bloody duvet still on the bed only covered with the runner that the Fairfield's always put on the beds. Guess putting the stain on the outside solves the problem? I went to the front desk on our way out and informed the lady behind the desk. Upon returning back to the hotel 4-5 hrs later our bed still hadn't been changed. I called the front desk and the clerk came up and changed the bed. When we returned home I sent a complaint in to the head office and the manager offered a free night. When I emailed her back a few months later to get my free night she never responded. Other than that episode stay was great. Nice pool and good continental breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momof3hockeyboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

Three families stayed here last Saturday night and found the service superior. All staff were friendly and accommodating. We had a group of parents, grandparents, and children that used the pool and hot tub and that was good, too. The breakfast was better than some hotels of this kind. Areas were clean, the decor in the rooms was modern which were all pluses. Some parts were a little worn, but not bad. We would stay there again. To improve, add mini-fridges and microwaves to rooms.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti-trvler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

This hotel staff always tries to do the best in order to serve the customer. Clean rooms, halls, breakfast area. Comfortable beds. I left some clothing on the hanger - they sent it back to me at no charge.

Room Tip: Got to have third floor so no one is walking above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wishtravelmore2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Room was clean, bed was a little hard, towels are poor quality. Strange thump sounds in the wall. sounds like someone knocking ..kept me awake, but I sleep light... water leaked from the ceiling in the bathroom. told front desk. they offered to give me another room,but they fixed the leak. Breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jibjab b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

This is a very basic hotel with several problems. The rooms smell like smoke – both ours and our friends were non-smoking but smelled terrible. It is also a little loud with a lot of hall noise.

Room:
Beds were very comfortable
Room had a stale smoky smell despite being non-smoking

Bathroom:
Basic – some minor wear to sink and tub

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Got this hotel for 2 nights through Priceline, by bidding on 2-star hotels...
We found the room to be clean and nice; well decorated. Good choise with breakfast, very nice staff. Compared with the avarage other 2-star hotels, we found this to be a pleasant surprise!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gera R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 48 in Grand Rapids
433 reviews
4.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
1.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
#3 of 48 in Grand Rapids
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St
0.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Grand Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Grand Rapids

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Address: 3930 Stahl Dr SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546-6154
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#10 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Grand Rapids 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Grand Rapids, MI Marriott hotel offers guests spacious guest rooms with free WiFi, complimentary breakfast daily, and access to our heated indoor pool, hot tub, and our 24-hour fitness center. Our location places us just a few miles from the Gerald R. Ford International Airport (GRR), and only 15 minutes from downtown Grand Rapids. While visiting us be sure to visit the Frederik Meijer Gardens & Sculpture Park, the Grand Rapids Public Museum, or check out nearby Woodland Mall. No matter the reason for staying with us, our staff is always willing to help you with anything you may need during your time with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Grand Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn Grand Rapids Hotel Grand Rapids
Fairfield Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing