We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel & rooms, hit and miss staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
Ranked #25 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice hotel & rooms, hit and miss staff”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

The hotel is nice. Rooms are large, have a frig and a microwave. The courtyard area by the parking lot out back has basketball hoops and a picnic area with a BBQ. Free Wi-Fi and free breakfast which is the standard HIE breakfast (pancakes, eggs, sausage, bacon, toast, yogurt, cereal... pretty substantial) The staff at the front desk are all nice and very helpful. The rest of the staff just seemed sad or something. Even when I smiled or spoke to them they barely ever said a word and I never saw any of the housekeeping staff smile even once (and we were here for 4 nights). If you are in the area, this hotel is a good value for the money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for staying with us for your extended stay to Grand Rapids and for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I appreciate your honesty regarding hotel staff that you encountered during your stay. If you decide to stay with us again, we hope you will find great changes have been made! Thank you again-Monika Harris, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    79
    40
    14
    13
See reviews for
77
28
19
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saranac, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I stayed there about six months ago and I STILL remember how great it was. Amazing staff and comfortable rooms. Had a clean pool for the kids, and a nice, relaxing whirlpool for the adults. Great Breakfast too. I HIGHLY reccomend this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher Rooms have less noise from the A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Seeing your review of our hotel 6 months later is a great compliment! Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I did see your mention of the AC noise. If you experienced this, I apologize and wish to find out more about your stay. Please give me a call at your earliest convenience. Thank you again, Monika Harris, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polk City, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

First time at an Express and I was pleasantly surprised. Nice clean room and great service. Location is good, although the entry is kind of tricky. The breakfast was good and always ready on time. I had an issue with the safe, but they came up right away and fixed it. Recommend for a short stay. Very nice pool and exercise area as we'll.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keystonekel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and writing a review of our hotel. I am pleased we were able to get your issue fixed immediately. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future! Safe travels-Monika Harris, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2014

This HOTEL is the best I've ever seen. My Family Traveled 2 Hrs for A DR APP. Unknown to us, WE HAD ANOUTHER APP. THE NEXT MORNING. JOHN not only had rooms nest to each other BUT made sure we had everything From TOOTH BRUCHES to COMBS. THANK YOU JOHN AND THE ENTIRE STAFF!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindysue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
I am so pleased that we were able to make your experience fantastic. Having appointments and dealing with a stressful day, we are very pleased to know we could make a difference on how it ended! I will pass on your compliments to John, who is invaluable to our hotel (you can see why!) Our entire staff look forward to having you back soon. Monika Harris, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Easy and fast check in with Dave, who offered us any room for our 2 day stay. He gave us a room overlooking the woods (ask for an odd number room) instead of the parking lot.

We had a two room suite with a small kitchen: refrigerator, microwave, kitchen sink and counter. The cupboards had sturdy paper plates, napkins and plasticware. Also they will have dish soap if you request it.

The hotel was convient to the expressway and walking distance to Meijer Market (like a Wal Mart and Target combined). Love this store!

The pool was a sad disappointment. As soon as we walked into the indoor pool area, our eyes started to burn. It felt like someone put "burn out" into the pool and did not close it down until it did its job. We tried the pool but it burned our skin. There were some kids in the pool but the parents stayed in the hot tub. The pool was also cloudy, which indicates that it is not good to swim in.

We complained to man who checked us in and he called the manager to let her know. She came in the next day and asked the maintenance man to correct it but it still was not balanced the next day, so we never did enjoy our pool time during our 2 day stay.

I also asked for a refund so we could stay at another hotel with an indoor heated pools but they refused. To be fair, they did offer to transport us to another hotel property they owned, for pool time, but we were not prepared to spend the time or energy to do this.

It is also interesting that they treated me like it was all me and no one else complained so therefore it was not a problem! I watched as two other guests walked into the pool area only to walk right back out again. They also agreed that the pool was not balanced and decided not to use it, but sadly did not bother to tell the management!

Room Tip: If you are looking for a hotel with an indoor pool for your kiddos to have fun, do not use this hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbeeman47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel on your recent stay with us. I would like to again apologize regarding your experience with our pool and that we could not meet the standards you expected. We did have the water tested several times during and after your stay to ensure the water and the PH was balanced. We appreciate it when guests bring their concerns to our attention. I will pass on your compliment to John at the front desk for the great check in. Thank you again for your patronage and we do hope you will change your mind and stay with us again. -Monika Harris, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a long weekend away from Florida. He LOVED the breakfast! All of his favorites and so yummy. The room was immaculate and it was a very clean, home like facility. The staff was so friendly and kind every time we interacted with them. The rooms were quiet and the pool and hotub were clean with great views!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Savannahm6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for the fantastic review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the near future! Holiday Inn Express & Suites is your home away from home!
Monika Harris, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

From my arrival to my departure 2 days later, I was always greeted & treated like a valued guest. The General Manager, Monika, and her entire front desk crew were always quick with a smile & a hello, and were very attentive to all guest requests & comments. I was especially impressed by how Monika & John handled the large group from a bus tour on the morning I was checking out; they both went above & beyond to make sure the elderly travelers' checkouts were in order and their luggage was ready to load.

Breakfast items were fresh & the stock well maintained. The all-suite accommodations are a rare treat for a Holiday Inn Express, and my room was well cleaned and very comfortable. I would definitely stay at this property again when I return to the Grand Rapids area.

Room Tip: North side rooms (opposite the lobby entrance) have windows facing a low traffic industrial court &a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMCSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monika H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to add a review of our hotel. It is awesome to see the upgrades in our pillows and decor is paying off for our guests' comfort! We look forward to having you back again! See you soon! Monika Harris, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids - Airport
0.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 48 in Grand Rapids
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St
0.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
#3 of 48 in Grand Rapids
151 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
Address: 5401 28th Street Ct SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546-6772
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#14 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Join us at the newest Holiday Inn Express in Grand Rapids, MI!The Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids Airport Hotel provides quality and comfort with a unique twist...all rooms are suites! The Gerald R. Ford International Airport (GRR) is located only 3 miles from this airport hotel and our complimentary airport shuttle service will have you there in minutes.Amenities abound at the Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids Airport. Stay Smart with Express Start breakfast served daily (including those irresistible cinnamon buns) and hot coffee offered round the clock. When you arrive, take a dip in our indoor pool or shoot hoops at the backyard sport court. If there is work to be done, you ll love free wireless Internet throughout the hotel and complimentary business center services.The Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids Airport guests often visit nearby local Grand Rapids businesses including Steelcase Headquarters, Amway, Cascade Engineering, and Meijer among others.Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids Airport is family and group friendly too, located next door to the MVP Sports Fieldhouse. We are also situated within walking distance of Cascade Meijer and Macaroni Grill, 2 miles from the Woodland Mall and Centerpointe Mall, 2 miles from Celebration Cinema, and only 5 miles away from the Frederik Meijer Gardens. The sandy beaches of the Lake Michigan shore is only a 35 minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Grand Rapids Airport
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing