We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, wonderful staff”
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites
Ranked #27 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Stayed one night before flying out of GRR. Had a nice room but the AC went out. Wonderful girl at the front desk moved us to another room without hesitation. The room we moved to was actually an upgrade without extra cost. Used the hotel shuttle which was prompt and a blessing, since I had to drop off the rental car the night before our 6:25 am flight. Cookies were a nice touch in the evening. Didn't sample the breakfast since we left very early, but it looked like plenty for a quick bite before hitting the road. I thought the rooms were nice and not "worn" like another poster mentioned. I actually got my best night's sleep here after a week on the road. Too bad I had to rise at 4:30 for an early flight. BTW wake up call was on time and dependable. Fast internet and free.

The hotel is centrally located with in a mile or two of all kinds of shopping and restaurants. If I have another stopover in Grand Rapids and need to be near the airport, I will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joseph f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 152 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2010

The hotel lobby and grounds are very nice. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The rooms are run-down and a bit depressing. I didn't feel like the room was dirty, but it certainly wasn't super clean. The blankets smelled a bit musty. The bathroom was VERY small and the room was dark and a bit worn. We were on the first floor and heard footsteps above us until after midnight, then again before 7am. I am not super-picky about where I stay, but this hotel just wasn't very comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colette424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2010

The trip was a success. Finding an apartment and all. Plus the location of the hotel helped us because it was close to the highway.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank PatLindsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2010

Two nights were very pleasant. Looked new. Very comfortable all round. Shower only set up in most rooms - very adequate for most of us. Complimentary breakfast went fast - and was heavy on the poly saturated stuff - fruit was old - next time Perkins across the street! Staff was helpful and friendly. Several folks in our party - all were happy with the hotel. WIFI was free but extremely slow if at all - never did download my email.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flyboy29A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2010

Nice hotel on 29th street by Woodland mall. We usually stay in the double bed rooms, that usually round around $60 to $75. The rooms include a mini-refrig, microwave, tv with free comcast cable, coffe maker, iron board. THe rooms are a little small but cozy. There are larger /spa rooms available at a higher cost, but there is a heated swimming pool and hot tub on the first floor. Even though there is no restuarant, there is a free breakfast every morning (make it yourself - waffles, oatmeal), they have eggs, sausage, toast, juice, milk, coffee, fruit, yogurt, and danishes. And it's free. Now they also have free dinner on Mondays thru Thursdays. There is a city bus that goes to the mall every 30 minutes day & afternoon, evening after 7 is every hour. The hotel itself has a free shuttle to the mall and local restuarants with 3 miles area (it is free but you are expected to be nice and give the driver a few bucks for a tip (hey it beats paying for a taxi). My wife & I very much like this hotel. The staff is very freindly and helpful. The only issues was with kids leaving food trash (that is not allowed at the pool) at the pool. So I throw it away & staff sweep the area immediately and cleaned it. There is very good service here. Other than that if you haven't stayed here before make sure you bring extra plastic hangers to hang up clothes if you have alot. We like the pool, hottub, shuttle, and free breakfast.
On a scale 1 to 10 we would give them an 8.5 again. Even though the rooms are a little bit smaller it beats days Inn (days)/ holiday inn & there prices anytime.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jaws2002gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BB1980, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2010

Thank you very much for your stay and your comments on our hotel. Our staff works hard at giving the guests the experience of a three and four star hotel for a great budget price.
Please come back and try us again on your next trip to Grand Rapids!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2009

I stayed at this hotel overnight for a wedding. The price was extremely reasonable. Our room, with a king-size bed, was a good size. There was plenty of room for me, my boyfriend, and our two dogs (one small & one 120 lbs). The hotel allowed two dogs, with no weight limit, and allowed us to leave them in the room unattended.
The hotel was VERY clean and the staff was VERY helpful.
I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAH_in_Lansing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2008

What an incredibly small space for a family of 4! Thank goodness this was just a "rest stop" on a longer journey--we checked in, swam, slept, showered, ate and left. No room for our family to move at the same time! However small, it was clean, the bed was hard but comfortable and the breakfast was more than adequate. We'd recommend this hotel as a place to sleep but not for more than a night at a time!

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Traveling_Mom_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 48 in Grand Rapids
450 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites
1.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wyndham Garden Grand Rapids Airport
1.6 mi away
Econo Lodge & Suites
Econo Lodge & Suites
#17 of 48 in Grand Rapids
180 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites

Address: 4284 29th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512-1936
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range: $80 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sleep Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn And Suites
Sleep Hotel Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn Grand Rapids

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing