We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hope You Don't Expect Customer Service” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clarion Inn & Suites Airport
Ranked #33 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
252 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Hope You Don't Expect Customer Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

I booked five nights at this Clarion, expecting the usual amenities and service. I only need a nice place to sleep, while in town working and don't get back to the hotel till after 10:00Ppm, usually. The second night i came in my room hadn't been cleaned, even touched and no fresh towels. I went down to desk, the young lady informed me " Yea, we've had problems with house keeping alot, lately"! I told her I need towels daily, expect my room cleaned and she informed me to call manager. I left my number for manager to call me, went back to room and had a nice shower in morning, using hand towel. Next night, russian roulette opening door and you guessed it, room not touched. I again go down to desk, informed young lady Again, that I had called at 10:00am and told desk I wanted my room done that day. Still no manager and no call back, no response except "Sorry, we've had problems with house keeping". Lots of choices on this road and I'm now down the street!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadDogCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    51
    30
    19
    25
See reviews for
41
38
16
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
165 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

This Clarion Inn is located right off the freeway & is in close proximity to many restaurants & shopping areas. I have stayed here twice, & the king-sized beds are very comfortable, the rooms are clean, the expanded continental breakfast is quite good, and the price is very reasonable. The staff is friendly, they honored a late check-out request, & the hotel was quiet- no road noise or noise from other guest rooms.

Room Tip: Top floor to avoid hearing footsteps above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Borntotravel365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Being a member of the Choice Hotels rewards allowed me to book a room here for an amazing price for my father. Check in was nice and easy.

The room was very nice with a big bed and a nice bathroom! The bathroom mirror had sprays of water on it but otherwise it was nice.

If any family needs to stay near the airport I will recommend this place highly and secure them a good rate once again :)

Room Tip: Check out your area and make sure all your needs are met. A meijers is nearby as well as many restau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leigh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellefontaine, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

This hotel was a great choice for us. The room and bathroom were both spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable and multiple down and down alternative pillows were on the bed. The staff was exceptional, from the front desk to the breakfast room gal-- all very pleasant and intent on our satisfaction. The lobby is spacious and attractive. We were pleased with the variety of hot breakfast available: eggs, bacon, sausage gravy and biscuits, country potatoes, waffles, and lots of cold choices also. They were running low on several hot items a half hour before closing and the hostess prepared fresh refills for those of us still eating. It appears to be an older hotel in need of a few updates here and there - our desk chair had a large tear in the seat, the carpet was missing/frayed in a few spots - but the great customer service and the quiet, clean rooms made this a great choice for us. We would stay there again without hesitation and recommend it to others!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank making6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

Located close to the airport on 28th Street, the hotel is fair value for money...but don't take anybody special for the weekend.

Low ceilings, thin walls and polystyrene plates at breakfast. Complimentary breakfast is fair although the cooked items I would be embarassed to serve my house guests at home.

My room was not made up on day three and the front desk person told me this was normal. No offer was made to make it up although we were offered clean towels...and to think I left a good tip the day before.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yelbid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

I travel around the county for work and I must say this hotel and all the staff far surpass all basics.
i travel about 45 weeks a year and never bother to write any reviews but this stay was one of the
best i have ever had. the staff was helpful well beyond hotel hospitality standards. rooms were clean. i would recommend this hotel to anyone with no second thoughts.

Room Tip: I personal like the rooms on the right facing side for am sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton Mi
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

This property is very nice. The staff go out of their way to accomodate you. The rooms are neat and clean and are nicely decorated. I stay in a two room suite and it is beyond comfortable and clean.
The hotel is very clean. Breakfast is nice-- varies daily, but the selection is very nice.
In the evening, a light meal is offered. Again, the selection varies but the food is very good. Nice gester offering this meal especially when the weather isn't cooperating.
I stay at this property one week a month and I really do enjoy staying here.
I highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: the suites are real nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites
0.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#28 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#8 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport
0.8 mi away
Econo Lodge & Suites
Econo Lodge & Suites
#17 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn & Suites Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn & Suites Airport

Property: Clarion Inn & Suites Airport
Address: 4981 28th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512-2046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn & Suites Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in 2009, this Choice hotel is big on value. You'll love new flat panel 32" TVs in every guestroom along with microwaves and refrigerators. A daily breakfast buffet is complimentary as is an evening reception served Monday - Thursday. Complimentary area shuttle service will take you anywhere within a 3 mile radius. Free wireless Internet and outdoor heated pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your Clarion Inn & Suites Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn & Suites Airport Hotel Grand Rapids
Clarion Inn And Suites Airport
Grand Rapids Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing