We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Comfortable Convenience in Grand Rapids...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clarion Inn & Suites Airport
Ranked #36 of 52 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Columbus, North Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Comfortable Convenience in Grand Rapids...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Frequently-traveling flight crews have a knack for being able to identify a competent accommodation. Based on the numerous captains, flight attendants, etc. that I saw leaving the hotel, they must recognize a good thing. So did I.

The Clarion has a great location, sitting just a few hundred feet from I-96, less than three miles from the airport and less than twenty minutes to downtown GR. There were a variety of shopping/restaurant options nearby: Target, Bed Bath & Beyond, IHOP. Woodland Mall is just two miles away.

The hotel is clean and well-maintained. My room was well-appointed and spacious with a comfortable king-size bed, flat-screen TV, mini-refrigerator and microwave, chest, desk and a recliner. The bathroom was spotless (good shower pressure), and had a surprising feature: a three-way mirror. The bed was comfortable and the window heating unit was quiet and effective. Wireless internet was flawless.

Choice brand's standard continental breakfast featured sausage links, bacon, waffles, eggs (which, I must agree with a previous review--were dreadful) and plenty of cereal, yogurt, etc. Pickings were slim by the time I made my way to the dining area.

Service was excellent, friendly and courteous. Deb was a gem.

Should your travels take you to Grand Rapids, be sure to stay at the Clarion. While other accommodations have more features, the Clarion, at just under $80, is a pretty good 'bang for your buck.'

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roadtripphene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    51
    28
    19
    23
See reviews for
40
36
16
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vicksburg, Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

I brought a bachelorette party to the Clarion and booked the bridal suite. It was awesome. The room was giant and was able to sleep all of us comfortably. We had 2 fridges, 2 beds, 2 bathrooms and a foldout couch. The staff was so helpful and nice and accommodating. They shuttled us to Cascade Winery and picked us up when we were ready to come back. They even shuttled us to dinner later that evening. It was such a great experience. The price was fantastic for the room, too. The continental breakfast was surprisingly very good, too. Overall, I am completely blown away with Clarion and would recommend the hotel to anyone. In my opinion, I would rather stay there and take a cab to get around than stay downtown. The service was just unbelievable. Thank you so much for making my friend's party such a memorable experience!

Room Tip: The bridal suite was amazing for our group. If you plan to spend time in your room, I would recomme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, MI
Level Contributor
138 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

I booked a large group into this hotel for one night. The manager on duty was great to work with beforehand, and greeted us when we arrived. Check in was efficient. The manager not only agreed to start breakfast an hour earlier to accomodate our group's schedule -- she came in early to be sure it went ok. Which it did -- this is one of the best chain hotel "breakfast included" breakfasts many of us had ever experienced. Not only that, but one of the group got sick during the night and the hotel staff on duty could not have been more gracious (and good humored) about clean up, notifying persons in charge of our excursion, etc. and checking on the person in the morning. The hotel is an excellent value, nothing fancy but certainly clean and convenient to the airport and to various businesses in Kentwood and E Grand Rapids. They have my loyalty because of the professional, kind way our group was treated.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Opinion8ted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
100 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel. It seems to have had a recent remodel that included a new elevator and new beds and flat screen TVs. Perfect! I didn't expect much from a Clarion, but this one is quite nice. The beds were firm and comfortable, and the pillows good too. The new TV's were great, but the remote controls had very finicky controls, and the "sleep" function did not work. The refrigerator was great, I love when hotels have those! The hallways were nice and quiet, we were all the way on the end upstairs, the walk was long, but at least it was quiet. The bathrooms were just ok. The countertops were tiny, and the hotel adds way too many things to it. All the ice buckets and cups were in there, these should be in the room near the fridge or something. I had to move everything to the floor, I felt way too crowded. Also, the ceiling had several black spots of what appeared to be mold. I don't know if was from the ceiling leaking or from too many showers. Either way, it was a bit gross in an otherwise nice bathroom.
Breakfast was a standard free breakfast, nothing to write home about, but above average. I always appreciate hard boiled eggs at hotels.... you know they are real eggs and you don't have to worry about them being cold. :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njkrisko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Found this place on Priceline for a great last-minute deal. Very clean, nice staff, and pretty comfortable. The hallways looked really dated, but the interior of the rooms looked like you were in a completely different decade! Nicely updated. Free continental breakfast was par for the course, but the eggs looked absolutely dreadful.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
Thank snowflake_chaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

While overall our stay was quite good, there were several issues that could be improved.

1-The shuttle service and communication for the Artprize event proved undependable, including one evening when we waited in the cold for 2 hours for a shuttle that was about to find us but never did, requiring us to eventually call a cab to return to the inn.

2-The soda machine was not stocked.

3-Breakfast. Eggs were cold. Orange juice dispenser inoperative. Coffee watery.

4-Hair dryer needed to be replaced.

5-TV cable array very limited, no sound on some channels.

6-Layout is too institutional and vast in scale.

7-Key card didn't always work.

8-The elevator and maid service was impressive.

9-The front desk appeared to be understaffed and congested.

J. Wyler and S Mezger
San Francisco

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manistee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

The property is a short distance from I-96, which made it convenient for my travels. I thought the price was reasonable, given the amenities (nice hot breakfast, food between 5-7p for example). Front desk person was very pleasant and efficient. The room was clean, with a nice bathroom. Also included a microwave, small refrig, coffee maker. I noticed in the morning that the staff was busily cleaning rooms, lobby, and common areas. I was impressed by seeing so many folks doing that at 9 am! I would definitely stay there again, and would recommend the Clarion GR MI to my friends.

Room Tip: The elevator is quite a distance from the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chermar48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#32 of 52 in Grand Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn
#31 of 52 in Grand Rapids
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North
Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North
#14 of 52 in Grand Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 52 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn & Suites Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn & Suites Airport

Property: Clarion Inn & Suites Airport
Address: 4981 28th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512-2046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 52 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn & Suites Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in 2009, this Choice hotel is big on value. You'll love new flat panel 32" TVs in every guestroom along with microwaves and refrigerators. A daily breakfast buffet is complimentary as is an evening reception served Monday - Thursday. Complimentary area shuttle service will take you anywhere within a 3 mile radius. Free wireless Internet and outdoor heated pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Choice Hotels so you can book your Clarion Inn & Suites Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn And Suites Airport
Clarion Inn & Suites Airport Hotel Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing