We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“October 3-4-5-6, 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Inn & Suites Airport
Ranked #33 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Reviewed November 18, 2012

While overall our stay was quite good, there were several issues that could be improved.

1-The shuttle service and communication for the Artprize event proved undependable, including one evening when we waited in the cold for 2 hours for a shuttle that was about to find us but never did, requiring us to eventually call a cab to return to the inn.

2-The soda machine was not stocked.

3-Breakfast. Eggs were cold. Orange juice dispenser inoperative. Coffee watery.

4-Hair dryer needed to be replaced.

5-TV cable array very limited, no sound on some channels.

6-Layout is too institutional and vast in scale.

7-Key card didn't always work.

8-The elevator and maid service was impressive.

9-The front desk appeared to be understaffed and congested.

J. Wyler and S Mezger
San Francisco

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 206 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

The property is a short distance from I-96, which made it convenient for my travels. I thought the price was reasonable, given the amenities (nice hot breakfast, food between 5-7p for example). Front desk person was very pleasant and efficient. The room was clean, with a nice bathroom. Also included a microwave, small refrig, coffee maker. I noticed in the morning that the staff was busily cleaning rooms, lobby, and common areas. I was impressed by seeing so many folks doing that at 9 am! I would definitely stay there again, and would recommend the Clarion GR MI to my friends.

Room Tip: The elevator is quite a distance from the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chermar48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The hotel is very clean and the staff are friendly and considerate. We stayed in a jacuzzi suite with a king-size bed for $99. The jacuzzi was enormous, the room was very clean, and the bed was very comfortable. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 10AV10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

One of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed in. Wish we were in the hotel longer-the room was gorgeous and had everything you could have wanted. Large bed, large tv, microwave, fridge, desk, large bathroom (which is what always gets my attention) VERY clean-no bedbugs ;) I always check lol

Room Tip: PRICELINE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Great room for Art Prize in Grand Rapids Denny's right down the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank im_dawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

While the room was fine and the staff very friendly, our overall experience was bad. We booked the ArtPrize package, which was advertised on the hotel web site to include round trip shuttle to downtown, discounts to area businesses, and the ArtPrize guide - a $15 value. Well, the hotel clerk directed us onto a shuttle van that took us to the airport...there was no knowledge of any discounts to be included...and the $15 ArtPrize guide is available everywhere for $5. For this package, I paid $23 more than a room would've cost without the package. When I complained about this at checkout, I was given the manager's business card with contact information. No thanks! I will not waste anymore of my time with the Clarion Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Booked this hotel through Priceline and got a great deal with a nice surprise. Very clean and comfortable rooms. This hotel looked like it went through a renovation for the better. From check in to check out I was treated great. This hotel offers a reception/dinner from 5-7pm, it was Burrito night when I was here, offering hot Burritos, Chips & Salsa and a Salad. I came down about 6pm and there were just two Burritos left (good sign), the staff must have noticed because as I was there they brought in a tray of Sub Sandwiches for anyone that needed food for the next hour. Nice move staff and way to pay attention to detail. Great customer service that would make me want to stay at this hotel again. Overall a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cweld5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I am happy to report that I just stayed at the nicest Clarion Hotel I have ever seen! This hotel has been recently renovated and it is very impressive! The second you step foot into the lobby you know you're not entering just any clarion! The interior design and decor makes you feel like your staying in a up scale place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#27 of 48 in Grand Rapids
152 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 48 in Grand Rapids
452 reviews
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites
0.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Grand Rapids
Red Roof Inn Grand Rapids
#30 of 48 in Grand Rapids
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn & Suites Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn & Suites Airport

Address: 4981 28th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512-2046
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range: $97 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn & Suites Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Choice hotel is big on value. You'll love new flat panel 32" TVs in every guest room along with microwaves and refrigerators. A daily breakfast buffet is complimentary as is an evening reception served Monday - Thursday. Complimentary area shuttle service will take you anywhere within a 3 mile radius. Free wireless Internet and outdoor heated pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Inn & Suites Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn & Suites Airport Hotel Grand Rapids
Clarion Inn And Suites Airport
Grand Rapids Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing