We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice place to stay although a little expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Center Drive, Grand Rapids, MI 49544   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
STOP CLICKING AROUND
Ranked #12 of 50 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A very nice place to stay although a little expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is a very nice hotel with large rooms, comfortable beds and a good breakfast. It's also in a nice convenient location. This hotel was a more expensive than similar places we stayed. I would readily stay here again however will definately check the price against similar places before booking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ondama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonGRN, General Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am glad you had a great stay. I do understand the qualms with our rate, however, we are an extremely property and are priced to sell in our market. I do appreciate your business and hope you stay with us again the next time you visit Grand Rapids!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    85
    58
    20
    10
See reviews for
109
81
12
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This hotel had a very convenient location, just off the freeway. The room was large and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and courteous. The rate was very reasonable. If I am in the area, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonGRN, General Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My husband and I came there for a little mini honeymoon after we were married. We were happy with most of the services and amenities we used. The room was large and beautiful, the lobby was very nice, the pool area was clean and also nice. The staff was very friendly. The breakfast was great (I wasn't a fan of the eggs, they seem like dehydrated eggs or something and not fresh). My biggest issue was with the bed linens. The pillows were very old and lumpy, and the comforter had clearly been washed far too many times. The stuffing in the comforter was worn very thin and shoved into the corners. I did not report it because I've worked in hotels and other customer service oriented positions, and I did not want to be one of THOSE customers. Everything else was great with our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank OCTraveler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonGRN, General Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your response. I am glad to hear you had a great experience. I will make sure to replace the duvet insert and pillows in the room. Definitely, do not be afraid to report any issues to our front desk. It's not a problem at all and we would rather correct the issue to make your stay outstanding than let you suffer through any uncomfortable situations. Thank you for your review and your business and hope to see you the next time you stay in Grand Rapids!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
414 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is a nice Hampton Inn located right off the freeway. Many strip mall type shops and restaurants nearby. The lobby and eating area is open and large. Free continental breakfast with ok sausage patties and scramble eggs. The rooms were clean and service was excellent. We forgot our phone charger and they mailed it back to us. The only negative is if you want to be close to the city, it is a short drive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bcsystems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonGRN, General Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback! I am so glad you liked our property and location. It is a short drive, about 7 minutes to downtown. There are many cabs and public transportation that a guest can take if driving isn't an option. Thank you again and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

cute little hotel right on our way north. bad part was that it took us a bit to get to things in Grand Rapids. Best part was the fabulous restaurant the manager turned us on to. we will stay here again just to eat there.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Houlagrl86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonGRN, General Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. I just want to clarify we do not have a restaurant on site but I am glad to hear you had a good experience while in Grand Rapids, especially at our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We arrived late in the evening and were greeted as customers of the day! A couple of free snacks started the visit off well! The room was very nice and cleaning people took good care of us. The front desk people were very friendly. Breakfast was good - children loved the waffles! The air conditioner was strangely loud, but I suppose it worked like white noise in our room. Alll in all, this Hampton was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Jodymiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonGRN, General Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for such a nice review! I will make sure that our maintenance team checks the heating and cooling unit in your room to make sure everything is in working order. I appreciate your recognition and will share this my entire team at our daily huddle. They really love to hear our guests feedback. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We were tired and on our way to Mackinac. Booked the hotel from the road and arrives to a dossier ready for us. The front desk was gracious enough to ask if I has AAA so I got a further discount, much appreciated. Reend this to families!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonGRN, General Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
I am so glad to hear we were able to provide comfort and relaxation to your weary family. Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
5.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
3.6 mi away
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
3.6 mi away
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
#2 of 50 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 stars 809 reviews
3.8 mi away
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
#15 of 50 in Grand Rapids
4.0 of 5 stars 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North

Property: Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North
Address: 500 Center Drive, Grand Rapids, MI 49544
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
#12 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#14 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Admire the view from our Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North hotel, where our friendly, dedicated team help you make the most of your time in the area. Located near US 131 and 96 expressways, our hilltop hotel provides easy access to Griffins’ hockey games at Van Andel Arena, flower art displays at Frederick Meijer Gardens and beach sands at Lake Michigan’s shoreline. Attend a conference at Devos Convention Center or make a trip to the Gerald R. Ford Presidential Museum & Library. This four-story hotel is 20 miles front Kent County International Airport. Schedule your visit during ArtPrize or state track and volleyball competitions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North Hotel Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing