We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Solid business Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
200 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Solid business Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stayed here everyweek for about three months on business. Staff is friendly and accomodating. Rooms are large - and the beds very comfortable. Its always hard to find a place to plug in - normally have to unplug a lamp - not here. Above one of the nightstands is a three gang plug plus a usb outlet for plugging in phones, computers etc. Nice touch. I travel with two phones, a corporate laptop and a pad - and had no problem keeping things charged. For only a few dollars more, you can get a jacquizzi room which is huge and comes with micro and fridge.

Breakfast is typical - and changes very little day to day - week to week - a low point after awhile. Every few weeks they have something extra after work - snack etc. and extra points. The hotel is out of the way - behind a few small malls which makes it close to dozens of dining options. My only complaint was the ever changing prices - one week a room was $109 another $159 and other weeks anywhere between.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeneG547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    94
    69
    23
    13
See reviews for
128
87
13
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Willing to provide info, needed supplies, and snacks. The breakfast was very good with lots of choices, "to go" bags provided if unable to eat on site. Snacks and various drinks were available at the desk, hot beverages with fresh coffee through the evening. Excellent area for travelers to work in groups or individually. Spacious and well appointed bathroom in room

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walbridge, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Duvet covers were not fresh as advertised. Bathroom had a small counter around the sink, no where to put makeup and toiletries bad let alone hair product and curling iron. Very disappointing for a Hampton, definitely not up to the Hampton standards.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newman12ryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonGRN, General Manager at Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
I appreciate the review of your recent stay at our hotel. I understand that you were disappointed and that we came short of delivering what you are accustomed to expect from us. I truly apologize if this was the case and I can assure you that I will definitely keep your review in mind to improve our in-property experience. We appreciate your business and sincerely apologize that we did not provide you with the level of quality that you are accustomed to receive from us. We do everything we can to ensure our guests enjoy our hotel. With that said, I assure that your feedback is incredibly important to us and I will definitely take your comments into consideration.

Again, I thank you very much for your review and sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity and stay with us next time you’re in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed for a quick overnight in a jacuzzi suite. The room was spacious, the staff was very nice, the jacuzzi worked. The bed wasn't the most comfortable but it worked.

The place looks a little worn but still clean and well kept. Would reccomend to anyone looking for a good place outside of downtown.

Room Tip: we had a king jacuzzi suite on the second floor corner, it was nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Clean, comfy room with professional staff. Everyone was friendly and helpful and provided whatever I needed!! I required a refrigerator for dietary needs and they brought one right up to my room. The breakfast is great selection and the breakfast room is state of the art modern.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Staff were very unhelpful and unprofessional at check in and room did not smell fresh. Would think twice before using this Hampton Inn and I use the Hilton family hotels all the time, but this one is a miss for me.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago,il
Level Contributor
71 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I had stayed here for a little over 3 months while on business in North Grand Rapids. Rooms are Hampton Standard but the Suite rooms are much nicer and roomier. Clean batchrooms and comfortable bedding, couch, and desk chair. Breakfast was good and Manager's Reception Bonus Points on Tuesday nights was nice as well. Close to the Highway, plenty of Restaurants nearby, and overall a nice place to stay. Front desk staff knew me by name/sight and housekeeping did a nice job as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank argonauts52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
5.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Rapids-North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
#4 of 52 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
3.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North

Property: Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North
Address: 500 Center Dr NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49544-6920
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
#12 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#14 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Admire the view from our Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North hotel, where our friendly, dedicated team help you make the most of your time in the area. Located near US 131 and 96 expressways, our hilltop hotel provides easy access to Griffins’ hockey games at Van Andel Arena, flower art displays at Frederick Meijer Gardens and beach sands at Lake Michigan’s shoreline. Attend a conference at Devos Convention Center or make a trip to the Gerald R. Ford Presidential Museum & Library. This four-story hotel is 20 miles front Kent County International Airport. Schedule your visit during ArtPrize or state track and volleyball competitions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Grand Rapids-North Hotel Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing