We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love homewood suites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids
Ranked #8 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Fishers, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love homewood suites”
Reviewed May 14, 2010

Checked in on May 9-12
early check-in so piced my own room. It was perfect -would have liked help with luggage but they offered a cart.
Room was very quiet at night bed was really comfortable.Staff was friendly. They ey offered breakfast and snacks for dinner but as I have family in GR did not use it.
wireless internet was free and I always take my laptop with me.
Lots of room and closets. Kitchen with full size refrigerator.Could have used some paper towels. I enjoyed my stay very much.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjorie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    142
    45
    22
    9
See reviews for
223
98
13
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2010

We stayed at the Homewood Suites last weekend for three days for a college graduation. We were extremely pleased with the large two bedroom & two bath suite with a fireplace for $153. nightly (AAA discount or Senior..same price). We did read a prior negative review about the hotel and found the elevators working fine and the hallway were standard and well lit.

The front desk staff were very professional and courteous upon check in. They couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome to the hotel. We were greeted each time we came into the lobby. The lobby was comfortable with lots of seating and a double sided fireplace. The breakfast area was very upscale...granite counters, china dishes, good silverware and glasses.

The room was very well appointed with king size beds, nice sheets, six pillows and a down comforter. The bathrooms were nice with fluffy towels and Neutrogena products. The kitchen in the room had a refrigerator, microwave, dishwasher, ect. The fireplace in the living was a nice addition. This suite could easily sleep 5-6 people.

The complimentary breakfast was delicious. Each morning the menu changed slightly. The first morning we had cheese omeletes, canadian bacon, chocolate muffins, fresh fruit, and juices. They also offer cold cereals, toast and bagels, yogurt and a waffle machine to make your own waffles which were awesome. A 24 hour coffee/tea bar is in the lobby.

The pool was on the smaller side but very clean. They also have a nice sized jacuzzi. At night from 10-12 it was adults only. The computer room down the hall had two desktops and nice high back chairs.

Other members of our group opted to stay next door at the Fairfield Inn for $85. nightly (do the math, two rooms there for $170. or a luxurious suite next door for $153.) We stopped by their hotel Sunday morning. The breakfast area looked like a low class cafeteria with minimal food choices, nothing was served hot. The main desk staff were unprofessional looking and could have cared less..no greetings when we walked in here. After seeing the Fairfield, we were EXTREMELY pleased that we had not stayed there but rather selected Homestead Suites. We'd highly recommend this Homewood Suites Hotel. We'd definately love to come back and stay here again!!!!

Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyJane91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2010

We stayed in a 2 BR suite and found everything to be as we have come to expect from Homewood Suites. The staff was great and got us a crib as we had requested. The TV had a wide range of channels to keep everyone happy.

The free breakfast was as good (or bad) as you would get from a free hottel breakfast, so no complaints there.

Th biggest problem was our fellow guests. More than once did people (seemed like a huge family group) ran onto elevators before we could get out, dominated the free internet kiosk, and let small kids run roughshod through the swimming pool area.

The hotel requires a room key to get into the pool area, and the rules state adult supervision is required, so I dont really fault the hotel, but the adults who aren't watching their kids.

Bottom line, I would go back, and hope the unruly boneheads aren't there.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GFKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2010

I stayed here for the last day of spring break and it was awful! This place is NOT for teenagers or kids...the rooms though nice the hallways were tiny and along with the pool and hot tube. The elevators wouldn't work and the staircases were pitch dark...talk about scary! this place was such a pain we ended leaving that night...what a waste!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loverzgoats21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSchmidt, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids, responded to this review, April 16, 2010
We couldn’t apologize enough to our guest. But most importantly, we have taken action to ensure that our elevators are working properly and that the staircases are well lit. Safety along and with the best experience possible are most and equally important for Homewood Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2009

Staff, service, and rooms were all excellent. We stayed here for a week while visiting family. The rooms are nice, clean and updated with full fridges, two small burners, and a microwave. We were traveling with our 1 year old son and they provided a crib and also let us borrow a high chair from the dining area downstairs! Indoor pool was clean and warm and there was also a jacuzzi that we didn't use. The business center is nice and they have free WIFI. The gym was small but clean and adequate. There is a treadmill, bike, elliptical, and free weights and they also keep it COLD which is nice! A nice bonus that saved us lots of money was a nice FREE breakfast every morning (eggs, bacon, french toast, cereal, etc.) and FREE dinner mon-thurs. The food was nothing to rave about but was decent and did I mention free? Again the staff, service, and accommodations are fantastic! We will stay here again when visiting!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan Falls, WI
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2009

We made a nearly last minute reservation here and the rate was $80.10/night for Friday and Saturday nights (AAA Rate).

My husband and I shared the bed and our friend slept on the sofa (hideaway bed). I'm not sure how that was for him, but our bed was nice. There were lots of nice pillows...it was good.

The fridge was full size, as was the dishwasher, although we didn't use it. There were some dishes in there - glasses and stuff. The tap water didn't taste funny either.

The staff was excellent both on the phone and in person. Very nice and helpful.

The only negative about the room was the placement of the bathroom. You have to go through the bedroom to get to it which makes it a little wierd if you're the guy sleeping on the couch and you have to use the bathroom at 6am while there is a sleeping couple behind the closed doors, blocking your way. But if you're alone or with children, its fine.

There are two doors that close in the middle like shutters between the seating and sleeping areas. I wanted this because I didn't want snoring to disrupt those sleeping and this was a better alternative to a "half wall" like some other suite hotels offered.

The pool is small, 3.5-4' deep square. There is a hot tub, but the chlorine smell was so strong it burned your eyes to be near it. My other traveling companions went in it and one's eyes burned worse after getting it in his eyes. We're guessing they must have recently shocked it.

Its near a number of restaurants - Hooters, Texas Roadhouse, Dunkin Donuts, and there are the Grand Rapids Brewing Company (very yummy food) were within walking distance. Krispy Kreme store just a drive down the road. There are also a number of retail stores around, a liquor store in a strip mall just down the block in one direction and an actual mall about two blocks in the other direction, all within walking distance. They area was nice, it wasn't dirty or scary looking.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TinaKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2009

My stay here was enjoyable. The suite was cozy with modern furnishings and fixtures. The bed was really comfortable. The staff was friendly. I liked the fact that there was a fitness room on site and free wireless internet access in the suite.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akillingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RSchmidt, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids, responded to this review, June 16, 2009
Dear Homewood Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments. It is nice to see that you liked the comfort of our beds and had a chance to check out some of our other hotel amenities. I will pass on your compliments to the staff regarding your stay.

Please fee free to contact me with any other suggestions so we can make your next stay even better than your last!

Thanks again for choosing the Homewood Suites by Hilton, we hope to serve you again!

Sincerely,
R. Schmidt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
1.6 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
#3 of 48 in Grand Rapids
151 reviews
6.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
4.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 48 in Grand Rapids
433 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport / 28th St
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids
Address: 3920 Stahl Dr SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546-6154
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
#6 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#7 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homewood Suites-by Hilton, is an upscale, yet casual, all-suite residential-style hotel that caters to travelers seeking a homelike hotel experience for a few days or more. The extra space and privacy of the suites, the casual atmosphere, and the many homelike amenities and services ensure guests satisfy their individual need for comfort, flexibility and convenience. All at the price of a high-quality, traditional hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Grand Rapids Hotel Grand Rapids
Homewood Suites Grand Rapids
Hilton Grand Rapids
Homewood Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Hilton
Grand Rapids Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing