We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great quality” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Macomb Twp., United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Hotel was in a good area with a lot of nearby conveniences. The suites were very nice. The hallways smelled a little funny. There were a lot of families with small children because of the style of rooms. This meant that it could be loud at times. Overall, I would say this was an excellent hotel if you are looking for a suite with multiple rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMIHospitality, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hi Mark S,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a nice review for our Homewood Suites Grand Rapids. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed our suites and the local area attractions! We certainly love being so close to great restaurants and shopping while being tucked away in a quiet corner! I want to apologize for the noise level and funny smell that you experienced while with us. We strive to provide comfortable and relaxing accommodations to all of our guests. Please know that your comments are being used to evaluate our staff procedures to insure each and every guest can "be at home" while staying with us. We look forward to seeing you when your travels bring you back to the Grand Rapids area!

Thanks again,
Cassaundra Hickok
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    134
    42
    18
    7
See reviews for
196
86
12
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

I always seek out a Homewood Suites when I travel with my family. The two room suites are great and most have a pool and/or a basketball/tennis court. The breakfasts and dinners served are always good, but primarily have a "heated up" taste. There are several good restaurants and shopping within a couple miles either direction of this location. I will stay here again on my next visit to MI. The hotel was under renovation, which didn't affect our stay, but it will improve our future stays.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Cara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandRapidsHWS_GM, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hi Cara P,

Thank you for your review! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us! We love our location close to restaurants, the mall and other great shops and attractions!
I appreciate your feedback about our renovation as well. It is important to hear from guests that our management of the process is working and that the guests are not feeling negatively impacted by the work going on.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Cassaundra Hickok
Director of Sales
Homewood Suites by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

The Homewood Suites in Grand Rapids was very nice. We had a two-room suite that was more than adequate. We paid extra to stay there because the Homewood Hotels advertise a light dinner Monday through Thursday nights. That's always been true until this time when the printed schedule in the room surprised us with the announcement that there would be no food service on Thursday, the 4th. I wish I could tell my family, "Sorry, there's dinner tonight. It's a holiday!" I realize that many guests are at the beach or fireworks displays on the 4th, but we are seniors and planned to spend a quiet night at the hotel after sightseeing in Muskegon.
Breakfast was good, but keep in mind that the food is put away at 9 am on weekdays, which doesn't quite mesh with the late sleeping habits of people on vacation during the summer. We saw many guests come down to find that most of the food had been taken away.
I would have given the hotel 5 stars, if it hadn't been for the lack of promised food service on the 4th.

Room Tip: During the renovation work that's going on now, ask for a room away from the noise. We heard it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nana8fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandRapidsHWS_GM, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hi nana8fish,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your feedback, it helps us know what areas we can improve in and where we are excelling!
I apologize for the confusion surrounding our dinner service on Thursday July 4th. While it is our hotels standard practice to not serve dinner on holidays, I can understand how it is disappointing to expect it and not get it.
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to get out and do some sightseeing in West Michigan.

We hope to see you again when you are next in Grand Rapids. We would love to show you how we have used your comments to improve our service.

Cassaundra Hickok
Director of Sales
Homewood Suites by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Station, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

First suite was a horror show--defective bedroom TV, refrigerator ice maker water line flooded part of the suite, toilet seat would not stay up, no lighting in living room. All resolved by being moved to another suite after 2 nights. High noise level due to ongoing renovations that started at 8 AM Fri, Sat, Sun, Mon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMIHospitality, Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Alan W,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us last week. I am so sorry to hear the start of your stay was less than wonderful! I saw my Assistant Manager was in contact with you, and I trust he was able to express how truely sorry we are for the lack of comfort with your stay. If there is anything else I can do to assist, please do not hesitate to let me know!

Sincerely,
Rebecca Kuptz
General Manager
Homewood Suites by Hilton, Grand Rapids
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clear Lake, Iowa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed here when we were in town for the Grand Rapids Marathon and to celebrate a birthday. The room was perfect for our trip...very clean, had a kitchenette, and was very quiet. The breakfast that was included was very nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnMarie1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandRapidsHWS_GM, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hello AnnMarie1002,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review about our hotel. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and our breakfast!
We look forward to seeing you when you are next in Grand Rapids.

Cassaundra Hickok
Director of Sales
Homewood Suites by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

The reception desk and kitchen staff were excellent. All greeted me with a smile and asked if I needed anything. I left an item in room during checkout. The housekeeper found it; the staff notified me while I was returning home; they FedEx'd the item to me that same day. (I'm sure they paid more to ship it than I actually paid for it.) Thank you Homewood. I'll see you next time I'm in Grand Rapids

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank KenSearsMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattawan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Very nice hotel. I have been there twice in the past year. A visit with my sister Michelle Volk and this visit. Hotel attendants are very friendly. Check in staff this past time was preoccupied. Oveall great experiences!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Maureen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandRapidsHWS_GM, Director of Sales at Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hi Maureen J,

Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad that you have enjoyed both of your stays with us while in town visiting your sister. I apologize that our staff seemed preoccupied during check-in. We strive to provide personalized, attentive service at all times. Your comments will be used to help better our staff and service, so thank you!

We look forward to seeing you when you next visit your sister!

Cassaundra Hickok
Director of Sales
Homewood Suites by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
4.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
6.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
#3 of 52 in Grand Rapids
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
6.3 mi away
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
6.3 mi away
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
#4 of 52 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids
Address: 3920 Stahl Dr SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546-6154
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
#6 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#7 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Homewood Suites-by Hilton, is an upscale, yet casual, all-suite residential-style hotel that caters to travelers seeking a homelike hotel experience for a few days or more. The extra space and privacy of the suites, the casual atmosphere, and the many homelike amenities and services ensure guests satisfy their individual need for comfort, flexibility and convenience. All at the price of a high-quality, traditional hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Grand Rapids Hotel Grand Rapids
Homewood Suites Grand Rapids
Hilton Grand Rapids
Homewood Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Homewood Suites
Grand Rapids Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing