We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Travelodge in Grand Rapids, Mi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Grand Rapids
Ranked #33 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Bethel, Oklahoma
1 review
“Loved the Travelodge in Grand Rapids, Mi”
Reviewed December 6, 2008

I arrived in Grand Rapids after dark on Sunday evening after driving 982 miles with no reservations. My intent was to check out the locations of the motels before I checked for availability, being a female traveling alone I was concerned about safety. I stopped for gas, got a local phone book and started my search for motels. There were many on 28th street, so I started that direction. I drove 28th and found the Travelodge to be favorable.
The owner and family were amazing. I questioned whether the area was safe, quiet, etc. and he assured me that all would be well and it was. I asked if I could get help unloading my Oxygen machine and he said certainly. By the time I drove around to my room, there he stood with two of his sons to assist me with the task of getting everything to my room. They were so polite and courteous. The next morning we had lake effect snow. The sidewalk was cleared from my room to the drivers side of my car --- amazing! I had traveled all over the US and have stayed in 5 star hotels, but have never felt so secure as I did during my stay here. The room and whole building was so clean, I was really impressed. I would definitely recommend this motel and will stay again.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
Thank kabono45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    128
    122
    53
    59
See reviews for
130
88
60
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2008

Didn't like the place much. Needs update. Hallways need upgrade badly, and smells like Indian food. Room was ok, don't think it's entirely clean, old towels and sheets. Location is kind of bad, rundown area, but easy access to the highway though, convenient to get to downtown. Didn't feel quite safe there. Breakfast was ok, not much to say. Night clerks didn't know much about the town.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Location area
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank pooloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North America
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2008

I came back to Grand Rapids to see a friend. She works in the Grandville area and suggested a nearby hotel. I pulled in at 12:30 am with my daughter. We were tired. The place was a mess, so rather than stay we drove across town to a known property - Travelodge. I have already written a review of this property and I am happy to say that this trip has proved my first review. The rooms are clean and fresh smelling, the air conditioners work, the continental breakfast is tasty and the staff are friendly and welcoming - right from the manager on down to housekeeping, the beds are comfortable and the sheets are soft.
The property is well-kept inside and out. My daughter and I felt safe in this location, safety is important to me. There is a Walgreen's just west on the opposite side of the street. I said last time that it was a Guardian, it may have been then, or I was confused. This pharmacy is open 24 hours which is very helpful to those of us who need a pepto in the middle of the night. The pharmacy is a short walk from the premises. There is an Applebees a few miles east on 28th, and a BD's Mongolian Grill a few miles west along 28th. The hotel is near highway 131 and that highway links to the road for the mall (which has a beautiful carousel in the middle of it for those with children) which is along 44th eastbound. There are many other restaurants in that area as well. West along 28th are a few fast food burger places.
The property has an in-ground indoor pool which has been immaculate the whole stay despite large crowds of children this past weekend. The temperature is comfortable and the depth is only 3-4 feet so the little ones can play too. There is a small patio through the pool doors with some very happy rose bushes and a few tables at which you can sit and enjoy the birds and sunshine. Ice and vending machines are on all floors. There is satellite tv in the rooms and wireless high speed internet .
This is the only place I will stay in Grand Rapids on future visits. I have learned my lesson!

M

  • Liked — The atmosphere and cleanliness.
  • Disliked — There was construction on 28th at the entrance.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nobotsht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overgaard, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2007

Our large room appeared clean. There was a little mold around the bathtub caulking and the room air-conditioner smelled a bit musty. The bathtub did not have anti-slip strips, and the melamine paneling around it had no soap dish or grab bar. Motel was conveniently located near the Gerald Ford Museum. A good continental breakfast was available.

  • Liked — Its convenient location to the Gerald Ford Museum
  • Disliked — Fluorescent light bulbs gave room a dark appearance.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SilverPearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2007

Our two-night stay was an excellent experience. Facility and room cleanliness a plus. Staff friendly and accomodating

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank TMRN24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Level 6 Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2007

Not luxurious, but very clean and an excellent value. In-room coffee, wireless internet in the rooms and a computer for guest use in the lobby. Breakfast was decent, staff was friendly, I didn't swim in the pool but it looked clean.

Yes, it's not in the most scenic part of town, but it's fine, I certainly felt safe and there are lots of restaurants and stores nearby. If you want a prime location, stay elsewhere and pay more. If you want a basic, well-kept hotel at a good price, this is for you.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank x94cherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2007

My husband and I traveled to Grand Rapids in order to attend a dedication of the Gerald Ford postage stamp, at the Ford Museum. We picked up a hotel book and found the Travelodge with a very reasonable rate.

When we arrived at the motel, we were pleased to be greated by a smiling young desk clerk, Melinda, who willingly allowed us to view our room before our deciding to stay there. After we brought our luggage into the room, the phone rang and it was the desk clerk asking if everything was satisfactory and if there was anything she could do for us. What a treat to have this service in an economical motel! She was helpful in suggesting restaurants we might want to try -- always with a pleasant smile.

The following morning, we had a light breakfast--adequate, but not elaborate (we weren't paying an elaborate rate!) and when we went to pay our bill, I realized that I had left my "Loyalty Card" at home, and therefore would not be able to receive credit for our stay. The morning desk clerk (also with a smile) said she would try to call and get our number. At first she was not successful and I told her I appreciated her attempt. That didn't stop her -- she continued to call and search and within another few minutes, she located our Loyalty Number, and credited our account.

When we returned home, I could not find my address book and remembered using it during our stay at the motel. I immediately called the motel and the "smiling desk clerk" ,who had checked us in, said she would check the lost and found and would call me back. She called back within an hour and reported that my address book was not there. She said she would leave a note for the maid to check further the next morning.

That evening, I received a very pleasant email for the owner/manager of the motel, thanking me for the comment card I had left at the desk when we checked out. Since I now had his email, I immediately replied and told him of my missing phone book.

The happy ending is that my husband found the missing phone book under a seat in our car! So, this was a total Win-Win experience.

I'd recommend this motel because of the service, quality for low price, and pleasant surroundings.

Jackie Favish

  • Liked — Price and friendliness
  • Disliked — No free internet use in lobby
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bubie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Rapids
6.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn
#31 of 48 in Grand Rapids
168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn & Suites
6.9 mi away
Econo Lodge & Suites
Econo Lodge & Suites
#16 of 48 in Grand Rapids
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#27 of 48 in Grand Rapids
147 reviews
7.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
5.6 mi away
The Grand River Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Grand Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Grand Rapids

Property: Travelodge Grand Rapids
Address: 65 28th St SW, Grand Rapids, MI 49548-1109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Grand Rapids 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off Highway 131, Travelodge Grand Rapids hotel near Grand Rapids Convention Center is an ideal place to stay during your next family trip. Our Grand Rapids, MI, hotel offers excellent value and easy access to the most popular attractions in the area. Free large-vehicle parking makes it easy to get on and off the road. In the morning, wake up to free Bear Bites continental breakfast. Each room in our hotel features free Wi-Fi Internet access. Non-smoking, handicapped-accessible and whirlpool rooms are available. Break a sweat in our exercise room or unwind in our indoor pool. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Grand Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Lodge Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Travelodge
Grand Rapids Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing