We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Not too bad for an average hotel stay.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Grand Rapids

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travelodge Grand Rapids
Ranked #35 of 52 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not too bad for an average hotel stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is my second stay at this Travelodge as it is close to getting off highway and not too far away from downtown. The queen room was neat and clean and the bed was so comfortable. I had a good night's rest. Breakfast was average, nothing special. This stay I was not able to take coffee and breakfast to room as I had before. They had a sign posted that you could not do, so I had to stay in the breakfast area by myself. As mentioned by other viewers the neighborhood did seem a little rough around the edges, and the Travelodge does sits way back from the road. I would have liked a second floor room but wasn't offered one so I felt a little uneasy at first since I didn't arrive from Chicago area until almost midnight.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jilsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    111
    97
    36
    44
See reviews for
96
77
46
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
GREEN BAY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

The hotel was in a convenient location and was easy to find. The room rate was very easonable. The room had everything I needed for a comfortable stay. i did not have the opportunity to use the indoor pool area during my stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank JAMES C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We wanted to have a weekend away, and we were on a budget, and unable to spend the 180 dollars per night on a downtown hotel, so we chose Travelodge for 55 dollars per night. We were able to drive to downtown in five to ten minutes. The front desk can suggest a cab company, if needed. The neighborhood around the hotel is a bit rough around the edges, but we never felt unsafe. The hotel rooms are accessible from an outside door, and an interior hall. The locks worked, and a safe is in the room. A few other reviews mentioned "thin walls", I thought maybe people were being picky... unfortunately, they were right. Both nights we were woken by people coming and going. The breakfast in the morning was very minimal, two kinds of cereal, two fruits, a couple muffins, OJ, coffee, tea. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, I felt safe. . We got what we payed for in the budget hotel, so we were happy!

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room too close to the main outside entrances
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rweaver75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cass City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Service was good. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Room was clean but had a funny odor. I think someone had smoked in there. Pool was clean and warm. The hotel was nice and was not over priced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Mary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Rapids
6.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn
#31 of 52 in Grand Rapids
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#32 of 52 in Grand Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Econo Lodge & Suites
Econo Lodge & Suites
#21 of 52 in Grand Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI
5.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 52 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Grand Rapids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Grand Rapids

Property: Travelodge Grand Rapids
Address: 65 28th St SW, Grand Rapids, MI 49548-1109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 52 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Grand Rapids 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off Highway 131, Travelodge Grand Rapids hotel near Grand Rapids Convention Center is an ideal place to stay during your next family trip. Our Grand Rapids, MI, hotel offers excellent value and easy access to the most popular attractions in the area. Free large-vehicle parking makes it easy to get on and off the road. In the morning, wake up to free Bear Bites continental breakfast. Each room in our hotel features free Wi-Fi Internet access. Non-smoking, handicapped-accessible and whirlpool rooms are available. Break a sweat in our exercise room or unwind in our indoor pool. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Grand Rapids reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Lodge Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Travel Lodge
Grand Rapids Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing