We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CityFlatsHotel(Grand Rapids)
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$265
$201
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Comfort Inn Airport(Grand Rapids)(Great Value!)
$90
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites(Grand Rapids)(Great Value!)
$125
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn & Suites(Grand Rapids)(Great Value!)
$65
SleepInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites South(Grand Rapids)(Great Value!)
$94
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
JW Marriott Grand Rapids(Grand Rapids)
$297
$279
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (396)
Filter reviews
396 results
Traveler rating
136
174
55
20
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
174
55
20
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvan andel arenagreat locationbistro restaurantstandard courtyardvalet parkingdesk spacewalking distancedirectly across the streetself parkusa todayper dayjw marriottfront desk staffsky walkvalet serviceart prizebusiness travel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
261 - 266 of 396 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This was our second visit to the Courtyard Grand Rapids downtown. Once again, the staff was very friendly, polite and helpful. Just about everything is within walking distance which is why we chose this hotel for our visit. Both the Gerald R. Ford Presidential library and the GR Public museum are within a few blocks of the hotel. Panera bread is just around the corner and the B.O.B is across from the hotel. We walked the Skywalk one day from our hotel to the Amway Grand Plaza. Our room had a view of Monroe Ave and the B.O.B. We booked a King room. The bed was very comfortable and the room very clean. We ate breakfast at the Bistro which was very good and reasonably priced (you can order room service). We are planning on booking this hotel for Art Prize in the fall.

Room Tip: Rooms on the river side might be directly across from the Skywalk.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sanjz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for coming to see us a second time! We are glad that you enjoyed both visits, and appreciate you taking the time to share about your experiences in this review. There is certainly plenty to do within walking distance of the hotel, and I'm glad you had the chance to take advantage of some of the wonderful nearby destinations. I think you will really be able to take advantage of our location once again when you are visiting for ArtPrize! We look forward to hosting you again then!

At your service,

C. Kolehouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This hotel is very close to everything downtown and is in walking distance to lots of attractions and restaurants! There were a few minor things you could tell that needed attention. The ceiling had some spots on it which was either water damage or who knows and you could see they did some updating but didn't take a lot of time or money to do it. Still the staff was very pleasant and helpful and overall it was a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rutharoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us, and for taking the time to review your experience. Thank you especially for taking notice of our friendly staff! I am glad you enjoyed our proximity to so many restaurants. Thank you as well for your feedback about maintenance - we will use that to continually improve our facility. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again on your next visit to Grand Rapids.

At your service,

C. Kolehouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Everyone from the person who checked us in, to the valet, to the bartenders, to the various employees walking around were extremely friendly and nice. We ate and drank in The Bistro, which had pretty good food and service. The room was comfortable and quiet. My only complaint is that the vanity in the bathroom had absolutely no room for my toiletries. This may be due to the fact that we were given an ADA compliant room (even though we did not need one). That was a little frustrating, but a great experience otherwise.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Carol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed here here for the Rush concert at Van Andel arena. We took the skywalk and were in the concert in 5 minutes without leaving the buildings. Hotel was clean and nice, parking was a bit of a pain and costs an extra $15. Lots of restaurants in walking distance and a liquor store. No free breakfast, but there is a restaurant and room service.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MIChicago_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us when you were in Grand Rapids for the Rush concert at Van Andel Arena, and for rating your experience with us. We appreciate you selecting us out of the many hotel options downtown, and hope to host you again when you are visiting the city again!

At your service,

C. Kolehouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Located close to the Van Andel center and lots of restaurants, this is a very nice hotel. There are also quite a few bars and those type places close by. The staff are very polite and the rooms are clean. They include a refrigerator in the room. Very nice!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kuwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews