We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel stay, not good eats.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Reviewed November 6, 2011

YAY!
-very clean, comfortable, up-to-date room
-wonderful staff
-great workout room
-Starbucks coffee in the lobby cafe
-proximity to downtown restaurants

NAY
-though free, wireless internet was incredibly slow and spotty
-food in lobby cafe was terrible, i.e. less-than-fresh tasting salads, slow service

I stayed here for work for 5 nights and greatly enjoyed my stay except for the two things mentioned above.

Room Tip: End of the hall away from the elevator was very quiet. Try and get a river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobetrotterGirl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 387 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2011

Great venue for breakfast, nice rooms, friendly staff. Clean and crisp. Easy access to the heart of downtown.

Room Tip: Try for a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HayleyBMuncyPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

I'll start by saying we loved the location, the clean rooms, and the view. Usually when visiting Grand Rapids we stay at the JW but they were completely booked well ahead of our stay so we chose the Courtyard this time. The room we were assigned was handicap accessible which wasn't required but was fine with us. It was a spacious corner room, decorated nicely, with a view of the Van Andel Arena. We appreciated the extra sheet covering the blanket, a nice touch adding to the overall cleanliness of the room. The bed was almost as comfortable as the beds at JW. Unfortunately, our sleep was interrupted at 5:00am by the police pounding on the door next to ours, yelling loudly to the occupants inside. Yikes. After looking out the peephole and deciding that whatever was happening didn't involve us, we tried to get some more rest but it wasn't easy. At checkout I mentioned it to the clerk and he confirmed that the police were indeed looking for someone but they couldn't give us any more information other than the intended person wasn't even booked in the room next to ours. A brief "sorry for that" as we were walking away was the extent of the apology. We have both wondered how often that sort of thing happens at this location on any given Saturday night.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotglassmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

This is a great hotel for the cost. If you want a little more luxury than the JW Marriott is the place for you, but you can't beat the price for the location. The Courtyard has a remodeled lobby, and a few nice dinning options, but the best place to eat is across the street at the B.O.B. The rooms are standard courtyard rooms, and I would ask for a view facing the river, as it is very nice in the morning. The staff are very courteous and kind. The only weird part of the hotel is the parking situation, which is confusing and requires tokens, which seems antiquated and out of date. I would highly recommend any GR traveler on a budget.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kovacicn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

I have stayed here a few times and was very happy. The rooms are nicely appointed & decorated with plenty of space, and clean (a must for me)! The location is perfect if you are dining or attending attractions downtown. The pool was average but if you have kids they will be satisfied. My only complaint was the service in the restaurant was poor, however in their defense it was very busy that night and morning because of a concert at Van Andel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hjeldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Very nice facility, walking distance to various downtown venues.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OleAbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

I was very disappointed in this hotel selection. I am a platinum member at Marriott and was not impressed. Not only was I not impressed, I was unhappy with my selection. The first room I was provided smelled like BO and i immediately asked for a room change. The second one I received smelled a little different but not as bad. When I returned home to go to bed i found my neighbor on his phone and could make out every single word....the walls are like paper. I am a light sleeper and knew this was not good. Needless to say, I will never stay here again. On the positive side, people were friendly and it is a great location to restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank island30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
#3 of 49 in Grand Rapids
1,001 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.2 mi away
CityFlatsHotel
CityFlatsHotel
#24 of 49 in Grand Rapids
249 reviews
1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown

Address: 11 Monroe Ave NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503-2662
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#10 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#10 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range: $227 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the middle of the energetic Grand Rapids scene, the Downtown Courtyard by Marriott delivers choices and convenience for business and leisure travelers alike. From the welcoming lobby and the functional, relaxing rooms to the friendly service and city views, it’s a stay you’ll feel good about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown Hotel Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Marriott
Grand Rapids Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing