We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Ranked #13 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Reviewed September 15, 2011

I have stayed here a few times and was very happy. The rooms are nicely appointed & decorated with plenty of space, and clean (a must for me)! The location is perfect if you are dining or attending attractions downtown. The pool was average but if you have kids they will be satisfied. My only complaint was the service in the restaurant was poor, however in their defense it was very busy that night and morning because of a concert at Van Andel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hjeldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 369 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2011

Very nice facility, walking distance to various downtown venues.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OleAbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

I was very disappointed in this hotel selection. I am a platinum member at Marriott and was not impressed. Not only was I not impressed, I was unhappy with my selection. The first room I was provided smelled like BO and i immediately asked for a room change. The second one I received smelled a little different but not as bad. When I returned home to go to bed i found my neighbor on his phone and could make out every single word....the walls are like paper. I am a light sleeper and knew this was not good. Needless to say, I will never stay here again. On the positive side, people were friendly and it is a great location to restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank island30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

We've stayed at this hotel before and really enjoyed it. It's right in the heart of downtwn Grand Rapids within walking distance to one of our favorite restaurants (Bistro Bella Vita) and one of our favorite music venues (The Intersection) as well as other hotspots The Bob and Van Andel Arena. The rooms are big, clean, modern and comfortable. The views are nice. The pool is great. The Wi-fi works well and is free, and parking is convenient. It's not a cheap place to stay - but the ammenities are very nice and given the level of accomodations it is competitive for the price.

Check in was a breeze, the guy was nice enough. So far so good! However, when we got to our room we were disappointed to find that we had been placed in a disabled-access room. This presents a problem for us because there is no lip on the shower and the bathroom floor floods as a result, making preparations for a night out or a day at work very difficult. The mirror and sink are also lowered to accomodate weelchairs.

We called the front desk and politely asked to be relocated and were told "sorry, but there are no more rooms." Well, I could appreciate that if this were 9pm on a weekend night or there was some huge conference going on, but it was 5pm on a Tuesday. The parking lot was nearly empty. I find it hard to believe they couldn't have wrangled us a new room with a little effort. We expected more from the Marriot chain and were disappointed with their lack of effort in this matter. Such a shame because this hotel is a great spot when visiting this under-appreciated city center! Not sure if this was a deal breaker for us or not as we plan our next visit to Grand Rapids.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adavici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

The hotel was just average. The staff wasn't overly helpful. Rooms were clean and just a traditional room...nothin special. We paid almost $200.00 for one night with parking which was a little expensive in my opinion. I would probably check in to other hotels on my next stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jcoff2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Stayed overnight (Friday-Saturday). The Courtyard is located in Downtown Grand Rapids, convenient to the night life (however much of it is in GR). The building is a bit weird in that it shares the location with an apartment complex. The parking is pretty reasonable for a city hotel at $11/night. Big-screen LCD TV with the hookups for a laptop, Internet is free, but unreliable - the only ding on this place, really. GR isn't much of a vacation spot, but for business and a night stop-over can't beat it. I wouldn't pay more than $100 for this room, though. Oh yeah - my room's windows faced the street which made it a little loud.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highlanderfil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed here for two nights. Excellent location and exactly what I expect from a no-frills hotel. Nice rooms, free wi-fi, fast check-in and check-out, helpful front desk. What more can you ask for? Excellent value, would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sport10010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.2 mi away
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
#4 of 48 in Grand Rapids
969 reviews
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
0.2 mi away
CityFlatsHotel
CityFlatsHotel
#19 of 48 in Grand Rapids
237 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown

Address: 11 Monroe Ave NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503-2662
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#10 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#12 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range: $239 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Grand Rapids Downtown Hotel Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Marriott
Grand Rapids Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing