We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safety concerns”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Safety was our main concern here. We had a two bedroom suite and our toddler could've have easily fallen from the upper bed, over the half wall down to the floor below. It is a very unsafe set up. Also the railings outside our room were spaced far apart, a child could easily slip through them.
The kitchen was missing a few items such as a tea kettle, oven mitts. The coffee packs provided were meant for mini coffee makers but the room had a big coffee maker.
I did appreciate the coffee available in the lobby and my older child enjoyed the pool.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary7053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke F, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you for sharing your concern with us about the potential safety hazard that you encountered while staying with us. We take every guest concern seriously, and without feedback we wouldn't know the potential areas that we can work toward to improve the quality of our property. The hotel is advertised as having a loft style set-up for the second bedroom in our two-bedroom suites. Another option we could do for you in the future is a studio room that has a king bed and a pull-out sofa bed all on one floor. I'm glad to hear that your family enjoyed the pool while staying with us at Hawthorn Suites. Thank you again for the feedback.

Brooke - GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (730)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

602 - 608 of 730 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

The girl at the front desk was wonderful. Out neighbors were obviously slinging rock as it was a non stop parade of people all throughout the night into the wee hours of the morning. The ice maker made 7 cubes every three hours which is horrible when you need ice. In the morning a man with a clipboard tried entering our room at exactly the worst time ever.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
2  Thank Devin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke F, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you for the compliments on the staff. We work very hard to ensure fantastic customer service!
I'm sorry you experienced a disturbance while you were here. I hope you called the front desk and the disturbance stopped. We have a very strict no party policy so again, I hope this was taken care of as soon as it was reported.
Thank you again for taking the time to review our property. Every comment truly helps!

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Brooke.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brooke F, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

When we checked in and FINALLY found somewhere to park, we opened the room and the room smelled of smoke. There were some things that were dirty, old, torn, we made due. When taking a shower, the water did not drain and the tub was slanted and we noticed blood on the carpet in the bathroom area, so the next morning asked for a new room. New room was dirty too. food smeared on the outside of the microwave,light switches were gross, moldy tub. Cleaned up a bit and dealt with it.I think they need to work on the housekeeping big time. I feel like cleanliness is the most important thing, I don't care if things are outdated, as long as they are clean, things were not clean.We could not even open the slider to the balcony, as it was screwed shut. It did not look safe, so maybe that is why, still not really okay, we wanted some fresh air in that room. The stairs and landing need fixing, though i did see some new, just both rooms we had we not. Major issue with the hotel is parking. We got back late at night from a wedding and drove around the property twice, no where to park. There were at least 2 cars double parked. The front desk said, yeah that is a problem here, Let us park in handicap space and we moved in the morning. This is unacceptable. They must fix this problem. Overall, I would feel guilty recommending this hotel to anyone, if they need to save money, I would mention it but would make sure to add all the downsides. Also, Internet was horrible in both rooms, not good when you need to check into work and emails.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThoRocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke F, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay. Feedback is one of the best ways we can learn how we need to improve for our guests. I was shocked reading this as we do not have many cleanliness complaints. Our housekeepers have all worked here for a long time and are very conscious of some of the items you have mentioned.

The sliders don't open all the way for safety purposes, and I understand wanting them to open more. It's something we are looking into to see if we can change.

Thank you again for the comments and please know these will be addressed asap with our other management and staff.

If you wish to discuss this further, please feel free to call me directly at the hotel.

Kind Regards,

Brooke.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
1  Thank Marcellino S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brooke F, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We just stayed at the Hawthorn Suites in Grand Rapids, MI. Beautiful place, awesome staff!! Definately stya there again!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
1  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke F, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We enjoyed having the tournament guests and hope to see you next year!
Thanks again!

Sincerely,
Brooke - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Lela H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brooke F, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids
1.4 mi away
Wyndham Garden Grand Rapids Airport
2.6 mi away
Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 48 in Grand Rapids
450 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#27 of 48 in Grand Rapids
152 reviews
2.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
#3 of 48 in Grand Rapids
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI

Address: 2701 E Beltline Ave SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546-5914
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range: $97 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extended stay property, offers a free breakfast every morning and a free dinner Monday thru Thursday! Pet friendly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatehouse Suites Grand Rapids East Hotel Grand Rapids
Residence Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing