We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, clean room, but maintenance needed.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI
Ranked #31 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Traverse City
1 review
“Great staff, clean room, but maintenance needed.”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Hotel staff was great, very friendly and welcoming. The room was clean however some items in the room needed repair - shower curtain rod, door lock, window curtain was torn, light bulb needed replacement. So no items relating to cleanliness however comfort, convenience and safety were compromised.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke F, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for the nice comments about the staff. We are so proud of the nice, professional staff we have here. I appreciate the comments about the room repair and we will certainly look at these issues immediately.
Thank you for letting us know about your stay. We hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,

Brooke - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    195
    153
    119
    71
See reviews for
258
115
47
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The facility was first class but what impressed me was the over the top. I shipped a folding trike to tour mi. I called ahead and the manager was most help full. They received the trike from fed ex held it until I checked in and are now holding the box until I finishe the bike tour. One of the handy men helped with a bicycle adjustment I did not have the tools to accomplish.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke F, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hawthorn Suites Grand Rapids!
We were so happy to be able to assist in making your Michigan trip memorable. We appreciate the good comments and we hope to see you soon at the Hawthorn Suites! We hope the bike trip is going great!

Kindest Regards,
Brooke - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holton, Michigan
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This property has changed hands many times over the years, but it still remains an odd choice worth considering. Originally intended for business types to stay for extended periods, the rooms feature full kitchens and good space. However, the property is fairly dated, and it looks like the owners are slowly working to update everything. Not unusual to find cracked ceilings, banged up doors, or sewed over upholstery. Yet the rooms are clean, the beds good, and everything works. I will look forward to staying again next year, when more updates are completed.
Note that the property has only one entrance/exit, and is bound in by fencing from all the businesses around it: like an island, if you will. It makes coming and going a little interesting.
Staff is attentive. No problems. Wi-Fi, TV good. Parking adequate. The place isn't huge, so you aren't ever far from your car.
Breakfast is pretty standard for hotels. eggs, sausage, waffles, etc... They also serve a dinner on Monday-Wednesday nights. I couldn't attend, but I think I saw lasagna and tacos.
Most rooms feature a real fireplace, which can only burn 'compressed logs,' that are available for purchase at the desk in case you didn't bring your own.
There are better rooms in the area, but I love the location of this hotel. A short walk will give you Woodland Mall, cinemas, Barnes & Noble, and more restaurants than I can mention. Being located at the corner of 28th St. and East Beltline, you a short drive to the best of Grand Rapids.
Finally, the price of my room was more than reasonable, considering the amenities that most hotel rooms don't offer: full kitchen, fireplace, breakfast and dinner (M-W). I look forward to staying here again next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corsair53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke F, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate the thoroughness of your review and are glad others will have a great idea of what staying at our property is like.
We hope to see you again in the future at Hawthorn Suites and hopefully you can join us for dinner next time!!

Kindly,

Brooke - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Very clean great shower older building pool needed to be heated and hot tub wasn't hot breakfast was good

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke F, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
It was very nice of you to take the time to let us know how your stay was.
The hot tub is now in working order so we sincerely hope you try us again the next time you visit Grand Rapids.
Thanks again for your review!

Brooke - GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
1.4 mi away
Wyndham Garden Grand Rapids Airport
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 49 in Grand Rapids
422 reviews
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#28 of 49 in Grand Rapids
138 reviews
2.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
#3 of 49 in Grand Rapids
125 reviews
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI
Address: 2701 E Beltline Ave SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546-5914
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extended stay property, offers a free breakfast every morning and a free dinner Monday thru Thursday! Pet friendly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatehouse Suites Grand Rapids East Hotel Grand Rapids
Residence Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing