We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably could do better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI
Ranked #31 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Probably could do better”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel off and on for many years, first when it was a Residence Inn. The price was right, the location great, but we wouldn't recommend it for a couple reasons: the quality has slipped, both in terms of the amenities and the physical structure. We like the two-bedroom layout and the breakfast was fine. But some of the little things were not there--only had 4 hangers for a two-bedrm. unit, and the front desk said there were no more to be had. No blankets (just a thin cover), and the pillows were a mixed bag--most were hard and stiff. When we arrived (freezing temps outside), the heat had been set too high, so the place was hot--especially the upstairs part.so it was very uncomfortable. We think it was set to cover up/dry out some cleaning smells--later the room smelled of cigarette smoke. Noisy guests nearby late in the night meant we didn't have the comfortable sleep we expected.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruth4005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke F, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Hi there, I hope this finds you well. I sincerely thank you for your feedback and please know we use this information on a serious level and try to improve with each and every comment.
I am sorry that the room experienced noise in the night and I surely hope the front desk representative was able to assist you with that complaint.
Please contact me directly if you would wish to discuss this stay further. Again, thank you for the feedback and I hope we can exceed your expectations next time!
Kind Regards,
Brooke.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    195
    154
    119
    71
See reviews for
258
115
47
204
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I stay at the Hawthorne Suites every weekend for school. The stay is comfortable for the value and the staff is friendly and professional.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
1 Thank Chad T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke F, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are honored to be the hotel of choice for you and your classmates and are glad that you think it is a good value. If there is anything we can do to make your stays more comfortable, please let us know.
Thanks again!

Brooke.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2013

every now and then I like to get a room that feels more like an apartment that another hotel room, I travel a lot and it makes for a nice change of pace.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke F, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share. We love our apartment style set up and we are glad that it was a nice change of pace for your visit.
We hope to see you back at Hawthorn Suites!

Kind Regards,

Brooke.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Great rooms, great staff, like being a home away from home. Whenever in Grand Rapids the only place to stay. Close to malls, easy to get downtown, close to Gerald Ford airport. If you get a one double bed suite, you can have a fireplace. They also have pull out couches but they are not in the rooms with the fireplace.

Room Tip: If you get a one double bed suite, you can have a fireplace. They also have pull out couches but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james_kaludis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke F, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you so much for the nice comments! We certainly appreciate your loyalty and feedback. Hawthorn Suites is looking forward to seeing you in the future when you are in town to visit your son and we hope you notice the improvements we are continuing to make!

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, MI
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel many times since before it was Hawthorn. The new owner has done a nice job of updating it. The only thing I would ask for is that the staff be a little more attentive to keeping the parking lot clear of snow and ice as much as possible. It's a long walk to the lobby from some of the rooms on the far side of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelmover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke F, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you so much for the review. We are so glad that you have continued to stay with us through the brand and management transitions. We love the loyalty!! Thank you for mentioning the attentiveness to the outside of the property. We have hired two extra staff members to assist on these snowy days, so we certainly hope you notice a positive difference the next time you stay with us.
Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had to make an unexpected trip to Michigan due to my mother-in-law being critically ill. We initially chose this place due to it was cheap and close to the hospital she was staying at. WOW were we surprised when we arrived. It was so clean and had a fire place and it was like being in a Condo. If we ever have to stay in Michigan again, we will be staying at this hotel! I can't even say it is a hotel, like I said, it is like a small condo. Loved it!

Room Tip: The rooms with a fireplace are warm and cozy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyWonders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke F, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We are so sorry that the circumstances with your family brought you to stay with us; however we are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We think our hotel is very unique and are so happy when guests have an enjoyable stay.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and we hope all is well.

Kind Regards,
Hawthorn Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I've stayed here three weekends in a row this winter. They have clean, spacious, well-appointed suites. The beds and pillows are comfortable and the bathrooms have all you need. There's even a full kitchen. It's more like a small apartment than a hotel room. I consider it an exceptional value.
The only drawbacks I've encountered are: (1) the complimentary breakfast is very lame -- cold cereal, soupy oatmeal that seems to be made from oat powder, no fresh fruit, no protein; and (2) they are very slow at clearing snow and ice, of which there is a lot in GR.
The staff is very friendly and professional, though, and overall it is a place I'll probably return to regularly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsjk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooke F, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for the feedback!
We are so happy to hear that you feel our property is a good value. Since we are a new Hawthorn Suites, we are continuing to improve the property to meet (and exceed!) the Wyndham standards. Our breakfast program will be upgrading soon and we hope you notice the improvement next time you choose our hotel.
Thank you again for choosing Hawthorn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
1.4 mi away
Wyndham Garden Grand Rapids Airport
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#8 of 49 in Grand Rapids
423 reviews
0.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#28 of 49 in Grand Rapids
139 reviews
2.2 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
#3 of 49 in Grand Rapids
125 reviews
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI
Address: 2701 E Beltline Ave SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546-5914
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extended stay property, offers a free breakfast every morning and a free dinner Monday thru Thursday! Pet friendly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Grand Rapids, MI reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gatehouse Suites Grand Rapids East Hotel Grand Rapids
Residence Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing