We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport)
Ranked #30 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Older Hotel”
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We have stayed at the Crowne Plaza Times Square and Milwaukee Airport. Both of these hotels were up-to-date and wonderful. The Grand Rapids property was showing it's age. Also, used towels at the pool were overflowing the basket and the flowers outside by the pool were wilting. The front desk clerks were less than cordial. The workers in the Executive Lounge were fantastic!! Thank you ladies! I would stay at the Holiday Inn Express the next time we visit Grand Rapids.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moosewatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    88
    84
    34
    36
See reviews for
73
37
16
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
charleston, sc
2 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Great place, indoor outdoor pool great in summer. Jacuzzi was wonderful. rest/Bar friendly and glad to help. Peace y'all.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thee_happy_hippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

We attended a wedding there and received a deeply discounted rate or we probably would have looked at different lodging. Now we're so glad we were able to enjoy the experience. Accomodations were roomy and very clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. Location very convenient to shopping and major highways. The pool and whirlpool was clean and there were plenty of towels in the pool area. The morning wedding ceremony and evening reception were held there, along with a luncheon. The furnishings were very elegant and the bartenders quick and friendly. Highly recommend this hotel and look forward to staying there again someday.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bunnyyoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

I stayed with the Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids from Monday 22nd November 2010 and checked out on Monday 29th November 2010 and was charged to my Barclays Visa debit card.
The same card was put down by me as a gurantee on my room as that was required by the hotel, a photo copy of the card was taken by them.

On December 7th 2010 Crowne Plaza, Grand rapids hotel charged my card £3359.30. They used my card without my permission for a service I did not use.
This is huge case of Fraud and misuse of information. I trusted Crowne Plaza with my card information and they illegaly took money from me.

Sunny, the manager of the hotel told me he was sorry but had to balance his books and offered me a free night at the hotel as compensation? I found that insulting. Since then I have been charged £40 a month for late fees as my bank was in overdraft due to Crowne Plaza's illegal misuse of information.

In addition I wasnt even in the country, I have proof of this with flight tickets and passport stamps.

Room Tip: biggest tip - dont trust Crowne Plaza hotel staff!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hsbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2011

This hotel has been updated and the staff are very friendly and accommodating. In other places refurbished hotel rooms have the lingering stench from cigarettes, but not this one. The hallways are like long tunnels, but well maintained. The elevators belong in a museum with glaciers, continental drift, and other slow moving objects. The stairs were much faster, which leads to the cleanliness issue, I don't think the stairs have been vacuumed for a long time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face 28th.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vao_Fefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2011

Stayed here on business for 4 days in January. It was a freezing cold winter wonderland in MI at the time and I'm happy to say that the hotel was always warm and comfortable. Good service, friendly people and I enjoyed the breakfast every morning... particularly the real corned beef hash and potatoes.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shannalyss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2011

Did a "park & stay" here for a flight out of GRR. Very nice people. Our little boy enjoyed the free Teddy Grahams on the plane the receptionist gave him. He had a great swim in the pool & hot tub. When we got back from FL out car battery was dead. I wandered in to the lobby kind of expecting to get handed a phone book.....but instead they pulled the shuttle van around and jumped the car. You won't get that just anywhere.....above and beyond.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juggernaut13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Grand Rapids Airport
Courtyard Grand Rapids Airport
#26 of 48 in Grand Rapids
84 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree By Hilton Grand Rapids Airport
0.8 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
#3 of 48 in Grand Rapids
149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport)

Property: Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport)
Address: 5700 28th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49546-6904
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport) 3.5*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cascade Township, our property features 320 newly renovated guest rooms, 21,000 sq. feet of meeting facilities, indoor/outdoor swimming pool, gym, sauna, restaurant and lounge, and free WI-FI. Conveniently close to the the Gerald R. Ford airport with access to a free airport shuttle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Grand Rapids (Airport) Hotel Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing