We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location, Friendly Staff, Nice Accomodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
GreenLeadersSilver level
michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Convenient Location, Friendly Staff, Nice Accomodations”
Reviewed March 7, 2010

We stayed at this Holiday Inn during an event, it was recommended by another person who was going. We got the group rate, which was nice as it is a bit lower than the advertised rate.

The front desk was very friendly, aware of our event and more than willing to help us find everything that Grand Rapids had to offer. Overall, the room was nice if smaller than I was expecting. It had a flat screen TV, a writing desk and a comfy chair. The bathroom was also tiny, but clean and the towels were soft. The bed was nice for me, but my boyfriend thought it was a little too firm.

The location was perfect for us, easy access to downtown and very close to the highway.

My only real complaint was that we got a room with a connecting door to another room and when the people next door got loud, we could hear them very clearly. Before I booked this hotel again, I would definitely double check to make sure that I didn't have that type of room.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizalulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hemmons, Guest Service Director at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, March 25, 2010
Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write a review. We appreciate your thoughtful comments and suggestions to travelers. We do take your comments about noise very seriously as we strive to provide a relaxing and enjoyable atmosphere for all of our guests.

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    193
    81
    26
    20
See reviews for
81
118
21
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange Ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2009

We stayed here to be close to downtown Grand Rapids. The Bed is OK and they now have flat screen TV's but that is about the best thing i can say about this hotel. The staff is aloof and disinterested. We did not feel as if they cared whether we were even there or not. The Pool was closed and of course, there was no mention of this when we reserved the room. I actually got trapped in one of the elevators and had to use the phone in the elevator to get help. The other elevator, just before it stopped on the floor we choose, made a hard stop throwing us off balance and then shot up to the top floor without stopping. This place is an accident waiting to happen....

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcstatler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
118 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2009

The location seemed pretty convenient to everything, but I wonder if anybody over the age of 25 stays at this hotel. We stayed here for a wedding weekend and came in about 1 am and the lobby was filled with drunks....one sitting ON the front desk on her cell phone, people eating pizza (some pizza joint sells pizza outside the door), someone walked in with a construction cone he had obviously stolen from somewhere, one kept passing out and waking up again in a chair. Maybe the atmosphere is different during the day, but this isn't somwhere I'd bring a family. The next morning we saw people in various states of half pajamas/half going out clothes sitting on the curb outside smoking. I just wasn't comfortable here.

The rooms were just ok. The bathroom is tiny. It's hard to get in, turn around, and get the door closed. There is no room! There was a hair in the bathtub.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank FlyStayEat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Huron
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2009

My wife and I decided to come to Grand Rapids to celebrate our 10 year anniversary. When we arrived, we were greeted promptly with a smile from Troy Lambie at the front desk. He checked us in and congratulated us on our anniversary. He got us set up and our room was great. Troy then went above and beyond to make sure we had a great trip. He asked if we had dinner reservations and we said we were going to Charley's Crab on Saturday night. He asked if it would be okay to call over to Charley's Crab and set us up with a VIP table. That was extremely nice. When we arrived at Charley's Crab, we were greeted by the Manager (Mike) and the Executive Chef (Jeff). Both of them made sure that our meal was perfect. They both mentioned that they had talked with Troy and he wanted to ensure we had great service. A wonderful dessert was also included with our dinner, compliments of Troy. When we first checked in and got to our room, I mentioned to my wife that I was amazed at how great service can sure make the start of your trip more relaxing and enjoyable. What a great way to start a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2009

This hotel is located right in the heart of Grand Rapids, convenient to museums, parks, and the river. Service was pleasant, the room was clean and nicely furnished, as was the pool, which my 6 year old daughter and I had all to ourselves for nearly 2 hours - and that was on a Saturday night of the Labor Day holiday weekend. This was also our first ever hotel stay with our dog, so we weren't sure what to expect as far as the quality of the "pet block" of rooms, but there was no discernible difference from regular rooms at any other nice hotel we've stayed at. Overall, very pleasant, and highly recommended as a great value based on the rate under $100.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoppyTrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2009

What a rotten place to stay. The air conditioning unit was so frozen over that it would not work. We had to pry the cover off of it, break up the giant ice chunks and throw them in the bathtub. The bathroom fan did not work and the bathroom smelled like mold.
The pool was closed in the middle of August. What a nasty place to stay, I will never stay at a Day's Inn again.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kittemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludington
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2009

Service & staff was wonderful, rooms and interior are being remodled and look great, rooms offer microwave & frig. Reasonable price & within walking distance of downtown.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjeldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
#4 of 49 in Grand Rapids
935 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
#13 of 49 in Grand Rapids
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
0.4 mi away
CityFlatsHotel
CityFlatsHotel
#17 of 49 in Grand Rapids
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
Address: 310 Pearl St NW, US 131 and Pearl Street, Grand Rapids, MI 49504-5314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Grand Rapids
#16 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 175 room full-service Holiday Inn, officially relaunched in December 2009. All guest rooms have 32" HDTVs, easy chair, large work desk. Rates include complimentary on site parking and wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown Hotel Grand Rapids
Days Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing