We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 26, 2009

Front desk staff was very friendly and accommodating. They knew a lot about the area and was more than happy to answer questions. I would recommend this hotel for anyone staying in Grand Rapids for any reason. Excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsboomy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (486)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

452 - 458 of 486 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2009

I'm not as enthusiastic as some other travelers about this Days Inn. I think this is really just a typical days Inn--rooms are basic and kind of small. But the room is clean, price is good, and the staff were very friendly. The location is wonderful, it's right across the street from the Ford Museum and the Public Museum, both are great to visit. Overall I think this is a solid choice.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a_traveler040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2009

Within walking distance to all downtown attractions, right next to the beautiful river. All staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms have been nicely remodeled. The only downside was no breakfast but that was OK. Loved not needing to move my car for two days.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
Thank tenmiletraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2009

I recently stayed at this hotel for a few days and its best features are LOCATION, access to the downtown area and relative affordability as compared to both the Amway and JW Marriott. This is a very solid 3 star hotel which has made significant upgrades in the past few years. Rooms have been remodeled and customer service and front desk personnel are now at a high level of service (not the case a few years ago).

The Ford Presidential Library is right across the street and the GR Public Museum is next door, both of which are recommended. Being in a great location, you are nearby to a number of very good restaurants, the convention center and arena.

The one problem I had with my recent visit is that the rooms are not very sound-proof, both in terms of thin walls between the rooms as well as street noise if you have a room on the north side directly on Pearl St.

The hotel is being transitioned to Holiday Inn Select at the end of 2009. It will interesting to see what this means, as it sounds like this may include some room rate increases. They may market themselves still being cheaper alternatives to nearby hotels.

I have stayed at this hotel many times, and would indeed recommend it if you are looking to be near to the downtown area. Check out the hotel web site (or call) for the best deal.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IslandMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

We decided to stay at the Days Inn in Grand Rapids rather than splurging for the J.W. Marriott. We spend the afternoon at the amazing Meijer Gardens, and then came back to the Days Inn. Our room was a bit small, but clean and comfortable. We did eat dinner in the hotel, as they had some 1/2 off Happy Hour specials on drinks and pizzas. The pizzas were quite good, although the service was a bit slow (especially given how empty it was).

The best part of the hotel for us was the location, which was just a block from the Gerald Ford Museum and the site of Grand Rapid's July 4th Fireworks. We were able to lay our blankets down about 6 PM and then just enjoy the entertainment until the fireworks began at 10 PM. Our kids (ages six and two) got a bit antsy with the long wait, but my oldest was able to stay up and enjoy the fireworks (the little one fell asleep just as they began...poor guy).

The next day we took turns running along the river where the hotel is located. We also took a swim in the hotel pool, which was a nice break from the summer heat. The hotel is a very good bargain given it's location and proximity to nearly everything in Grand Rapids.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2009

We just got back from a visit to Grand Rapids and could not have been happier with our hotel choice. The Days Inn is the perfect place to stay while visiting GR. It is clean, modern, comfortable, affordable and close to everything. It is a short walk to many great attractions in GR. The staff is super friendly, the beds are super comfortable, and you cannot beat the price. We will definitely tell our friends to stay here and we too will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meesh-in-A2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2009

The Days Hotel is the perfect place to stay to take in the sights of Grand Rapids. We stayed here during Festival weekend and found that any place we wanted to go was just a short walk across one of the many pedestrian bridges that cross the Grand River.
The hotel is exceptionally clean and beautiful. The decor is very urban chic and causes one to forget that they are staying in a "bargain" hotel. Our room had lots of comforts including a refrigerator, microwave, coffee pot, hair dryer, high speed internet, desk and comfy furniture. The beds were extremely comfortable complete with beautiful duvets. Our room had a beautiful view of the park and grounds of the Ford Museum as well as the river and the Grand Rapids skyline. The view at night was breath taking.
The hotel has easy access from the expressway and parking is in the lot that surrounds the building - no ramp!! It was just so easy to come and go without the hassles of the larger hotels. We enjoyed a wonderful breakfast at the Pearl Street Grill as well as a nightcap at the lounge. The "mini-market" located in the lobby made finding snacks at any time of day a breeze.
I have stayed at the upscale hotels across the river and would recommend this property over those. The friendly staff, the extended pool hours and the vast room amenities surpassed any room that I have stayed in at other properties downtown.
*****If you are going to attend a concert at the Van Andel, this is the place to stay. We attended a concert on Saturday night and found that the arena is just a short, 2 block walk out the back door of the hotel. After the concert, instead of fighting the traffic, we enjoyed a beautiful walked back to the hotel and a nightcap in the hotel lounge.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hillbillski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
0.4 mi away
CityFlatsHotel
CityFlatsHotel
#23 of 49 in Grand Rapids
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
#13 of 49 in Grand Rapids
393 reviews
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
#3 of 49 in Grand Rapids
1,008 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown

Address: 310 Pearl St NW, US 131 and Pearl Street, Grand Rapids, MI 49504-5314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Grand Rapids
#14 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range: $155 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 175 room full-service Holiday Inn, officially relaunched in December 2009. All guest rooms have 32" HDTVs, easy chair, large work desk. Rates include complimentary on site parking and wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown Hotel Grand Rapids
Days Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing