We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I stayed here for a weekend while attending a reading conference. It was very clean and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. Since the conference did not end until after the check out time, they allowed us to store our belongings in a locked room instead of worrying about leaving them in the car. This was a really nice service they offered and something I would recommend for anyone staying here during a conference. They do not offer a continental breakfast, but they do have a restaurant area and a snack shop if you do not bring your own food.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Emma B,

Thank you so much for your review and posting! We look forward to Michigan Reading Association's conference. We would love to have the association in Grand Rapids every year but do realize a rotation is nice for all attendees. My team truly tries to connect with each of our guests and it seems as though they accomplished that goal with you. We will look forward to your return in 2016! Don't hesitate to visit anytime before then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (480)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 480 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

My wife and I stayed here during an event at the Van Andel. We were pleased to find a hotel downtown with free parking and competitive room rates.

The staff was friendly and efficient at check-in, and the room clean and more than comfortable. Wi-Fi access was easy to set up, so no real issues at all. The rooms were also quite client--a pleasant benefit since the hotel was nearly completely booked. Moreover, the rate we got were comparable to similar options outside of town.

If there are issues, they are minor ones. The room we had (#420) had the sink inside the room rather than housed with the toilet and shower. So, if one of you gets up early and the other wants to sleep, you might find this an annoyance. And neither the cable service in the room--or the one in the bar--gets the Big Ten Channel. For some this may not matter; but remember, you're in Big Ten Country here and if you want additional sports programming you might be stuck.

Some might be disturbed by the fact that it's a short walk to "downtown proper." But the less than 15 minute walk to the Van Andel is hardly fatiguing, and the ability to use the skywalk system once you are across the bridge makes walking in bad weather (which we had to do once) easy.

All in all, if you need to be downtown, this Holiday Inn is a good choice.

Room Tip: Getting a room far away from the elevator would be a good option, given there can be a lot of traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MongoSchwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for the last couple of weeks. The hotel is located at Downtown just beside the Ford Museum. Check in was like a breeze. Courteous staffs. Clean rooms with very basic amenities. This hotel has a Green Focus, which needs to be appreciates. The restaurant has limited menu and there is no buffet arrangement. Have been waiting quite long to get the ordered items on table.

Room Tip: Check the air conditioner as soon as you enter the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iyersivaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

iversivaram,

Thank you for taking the time to post your critique of our property. We appreciate the feedback and will work to make some improvements in our food and beverage outlets. I hope that you will stay with us again soon and provide us more thoughts on ways to improve. Thanks again and safe travels to you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Stayed at this hotel a last weekend for one night. The front desk agent who checked me in was fantastic! It looked like she was training someone and it was great that she showed her and explained to her what she was doing instead of just having the trainee sit back and try to learn after the fact.

The only down side of the hotel is that I waited for the elevators for 4 minutes and it never came (was on the fourth floor, but we all could use some exercise), and there was a piece of someone's hair on my door in the bathroom.

Great staff though! Even the housekeepers! When leaving my room Saturday morning on 2/1/14 the housekeepers on the 4th floor were so friendly and nice!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I had a chance to recently stay at the Holiday Inn hotel in Grand Rapids downtown. the rooms are clean. the bathroom is slightly small for a size of this hotel.
the internet speed was not ok and i have lot of difficulty accessing the wifi. also there is no buffet breakfast in the hotel so you land up spending considerable time in the morning to get your breakfast of your liking.

Room Tip: Make sure that you get a faster internet service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mukundkasthuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Dear Mukundkasthuri,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. I am glad that you found our rooms to be clean and comfortable. However, I regret the inconvenience you may have had with the Internet connection. Your comments will be used to consider for upgrades needed in our services.

We all hope that you can give us another opportunity to host you again in the future.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I and our three young children spent four nights here. The second night, we had very rowdy drunken neighbors, and after a couple of hours of it, my husband complained to the night manager who dealt with it promptly and gave us a complimentary breakfast coupon. Everything was quiet the other nights. We specifically asked for a room opposite the freeway after reading reviews here about traffic noise, and the front desk was very accommodating.

The room wasn't large, beds were only doubles, and the bathroom was quite small, but everything was very clean. We appreciated having a mini fridge and microwave in the room because the kids could reheat leftovers for a snack.

The pool and hot tub area were clean and well maintained. During one of our visits to the pool, one of the maintenance personnel brought our kids a couple of pool toys. Our only disappointment was that the pool had to be drained, cleaned, and refilled our fourth day so the pool wasn't available for the rest of our stay. We did appreciate that the staff were making sure to maintain necessary safety standards.

We initially chose the hotel because of their "kids eat free" program, but we were very satisfied with all aspects of our stay!

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Mcmackme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a conference and it was nice. Parking was free and we were able to check in early. The location is kind of on the edge of downtown but it was not bad at all. The rooms were nice and clean. They also had a little gift shop with snacks which was nice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wannabetravler42041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Hello wannabetravler42041,

Thank you for your posting on TripAdvisor. We were very happy to know that your stay with us was quite comfortable and you were able to experience the majority of the hotel amenities. We would invite you back to Grand Rapids for future conference or perhaps just to explore the city. There is always something interesting happening in Grand Rapids. Thanks again and safe travels to you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
#13 of 49 in Grand Rapids
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
CityFlatsHotel
CityFlatsHotel
#23 of 49 in Grand Rapids
244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
4.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown

Address: 310 Pearl St NW, US 131 and Pearl Street, Grand Rapids, MI 49504-5314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Grand Rapids
#16 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range: $155 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 175 room full-service Holiday Inn, officially relaunched in December 2009. All guest rooms have 32" HDTVs, easy chair, large work desk. Rates include complimentary on site parking and wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown Hotel Grand Rapids
Days Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing