We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highway noise dominated our night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Booked a room for 2. Got a room with one small bed. Front desk was kind enough to replace it with a two (small) bed roon.
However, the room was just few feet from the highway.
Truck & car passing noise dominated our night.
For that price, there are much better hotels in town.
Will never return here.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rnoray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Rnoray,

I was disappointed to learn that your stay was not as you expected. I do apologize that your sleep was disturbed by traffic noise near the hotel. Our location is typically a great advantage to our guests, but occasionally it can be a challenge as in your experience. Please know that your comments are taken seriously. Our ownership is currently reviewing specifications for new windows. Their intention is to invest in specialty glass that will compensate for any outside noise. I invite you to give us another opportunity when you are in Grand Rapids next. I would be happy to personally make your reservations and room selection. Thank you for your candid comments, we appreciate them very much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 481 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

From the minute we checked in we continued to run into employees that were friendly, informative, willing to answer questions for out-of-towners and happy! It was a nice change from other hotel staff we usually find. The location for this hotel is great for just about anything in/near downtown. There are excellent restaurants close by and plenty of things to do in the area. The room was clean, the price was decent and the beds were amazing! Very nice hotel in the area.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Ryan P,

Your review brought a smile to many faces on our staff! There is nothing better than hearing/seeing direct from a guest how we impacted their experience in our great city. Your kind words remind us to provide that service to each and every guest on a consistent basis. Thank you for reminding us that being great ambassadors for Grand Rapids and Holiday Inn is important and rewarding. We hope to see you again soon! Safe Travels to you and your family in the meantime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Great location - next to public museum and Gerald R Ford museum. Walking distance to downtown attractions, restaurants, brewpubs (which was the main focus of our visit to Grand Rapids). Loved the location, free parking, and breakfast. I had the eggs benedict.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiki63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Tiki63,

Thank you so much for your review! Grand Rapids recently won "Beer City USA" so you certainly selected a great place to experience beer. We proudly feature all local mircobrews on our draft system. You might want to visit Experience Grand Rapids' website - www.experiencegrandrapids.com. They will have all the events that include beer. Each year there seems to be something new and interesting. We hope you will stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

This is the 3 rd time we have stayed here and it's just great customer service. Feel like they care about you the customer. Walking distance to some great places downtown!!!!!!!! We will stay next time we are back in Michigan

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather E, Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Paul,

Thank you for writing a review about your experiences at the Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown. Our downtown area really does have a lot to offer and I am so happy you have had an opportunity to experience it. Please do not hesitate to ask our team for suggestions on new places to see or things to do the next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Good sized rooms and quite modern for a holiday inn. Nice shower. Guest self-service laundry which was handy. Small fitness suite, but very clean, modern and empty! The pool is also very small, not really for swimming, more for a paddle. Staff were all very helpful and friendly. Loads of free parking, and the hotel is situated just over the river within easy walking distance of the town centre and lots of eating/drinking options.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordonl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night and our experience was an awesome one! This is a five star hotel for the price of a 3 star! Nice, clean rooms. Close walking distance to downtown, bars and restaurants. Their is also a museums across the street. Its in the heart of Grand Rapids. Also if you love antique shops, they have a huge one the size of a warehouse not to far from the hotel. Love this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lettie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Lettie d,

We were thrilled to see the words "awesome" and "love"! It is our goal along with Holiday Inns worldwide to be "Great Hotels, Guests Love". It appears that we hit the mark during your stay! Thank you for allowing us to be your home while in Grand Rapids and for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor. There is always something fun to do in Grand Rapids and it sounds like the antiques might be trying to call you back! Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at this hotel during a visit to Grand Rapids. I was pleasantly surprised by the city. The hotel is right next to a general museum (with an Apollo space capsule in the front yard) and across from the Gerald Ford museum. Neither of which I had time to visit, unfortunately. The hotel is a 5-10 minute walk across the river to downtown where all of the bars and restaurants are.

Service: the check-in was courteous, but seemed rushed. The night staff went above and beyond twice, once to offer to-go condiment cups as make shift contact lens cases at 1am, and another time to change the battery on my door lock, again after midnight.

Restaurant: breakfast was okay, fair prices, but not cheap

Price: although this is a good hotel and the parking is free (unlike others in the area) I still felt it was a little pricey for having to walk downtown and not including breakfast. I did not get a chance to try the pool or the complimentary bikes, these might have improved my feelings on value, so check those out!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherreal07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Cherreal07,

I am so sorry that you were not able to visit the Gerald R. Ford Museum. It is quite interesting and a true honor for Grand Rapids to be the final resting site for the President and his amazing wife. The Grand Rapids Public Museum provides a great history of the city and always has some top notch exhibits like the Titanic and Bodies Revealed. We are very fortunate to have them next door. I do believe the little extras like the bikes, our dedicated and creative staff, free parking, and unique food and beverage options do offer value. I invite you to visit again when you have a few extra minutes to relax and experience them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
0.4 mi away
CityFlatsHotel
CityFlatsHotel
#23 of 49 in Grand Rapids
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
#13 of 49 in Grand Rapids
384 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
#4 of 49 in Grand Rapids
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown

Address: 310 Pearl St NW, US 131 and Pearl Street, Grand Rapids, MI 49504-5314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Grand Rapids
#16 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range: $155 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 175 room full-service Holiday Inn, officially relaunched in December 2009. All guest rooms have 32" HDTVs, easy chair, large work desk. Rates include complimentary on site parking and wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown Hotel Grand Rapids
Days Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing