We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location & comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
Ranked #22 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
GreenLeadersSilver level
Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great Location & comfortable hotel”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This hotel is in a wonderful downtown location in Michigan's best large city--Grand Rapids is very clean, safe, charming, and filled with friendly people, restaurants, art, and activities and interesting buildings. Most first-time visitors are surprised at the number of outdoor sculptures and installations in Grand Rapids,and the hotel is across the street from a beautiful river front park. The hotel is right next to the GR Public Museum, across the street from the Gerald Ford Museum & Library, one block to Grand Valley State University's downtown campus. It is also only a one block stroll over the river to downtown Grand Rapids with all the wonderful restaurants, attractions, and venues including the Van Andel Arena and the De Vos Center. Spectrum Health, a huge medical complex on Michigan Avenue is only six or eight blocks from this hotel. I wondered why the hotel was full on a weekend until I looked online and discovered 47 reported events scheduled for Friday night downtown. This hotel is also very easily accessed from the Pearl St. exit off the freeway--parking is also free, unlike most other downtown hotels. The room was quite satisfactory--comfortable, very clean, and quiet. The staff I encountered were all friendly and helpful. There is a restaurant located in the lobby if you want to eat in the hotel, but there are dozens of restaurants located within 2-3 blocks. The pool is rather small, but I'm sure that kids would be perfectly happy. There is also an exercise room with various machines that is also on the small side. If you want to be able to stay downtown and walk instead of drive, this hotel is the least expensive downtown hotel I could find, and I would definitely stay here again when visiting Grand Rapids.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the river and downtown on the east side of the hotel or a room facing the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Traveler4545,

Your review touched on everything we feel is remarkable about our property and downtown location. What a great picture you painted of Grand Rapids and it reminds all Grand Rapidians to be grateful and not take our community for granted. Thank you for reminding us and staying with the Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown. As you mentioned, there is always something fun and interesting happening in and around the city. We look forward to your next visit and many more to come! Safe travels to you and your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    195
    83
    26
    21
See reviews for
82
121
21
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our first visit to Grand Rapids we didn't know what to expect. This is a fantastic city/area. No car needed if you stay downtown. Plenty of places to eat and drink. The people are as nice as anywhere we have been. I would definitely return to this beautiful area!

Room Tip: The hotel was average but very clean. The pool is equipped to handle wheelchair "swimmers"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Joe R,
Grand Rapids truly is a great place to visit and as my team believes - to live. The Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown is delighted to be part of the city and a leading hotel in the area. Please feel free to reach out to our team here next time you are planning a trip to Grand Rapids. We would be happy to suggest some of our favorite places. Another excellent source would be the Experience Grand Rapids website, www.experiencegr.com. You will find calendar of events, fun facts, and a variety of conversation in their "Social Lounge". Can we reserve a room for you soon? We sure hope so - safe travels to you in the meantime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslett, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We traveled here as a family for several local events. The location of this hotel was central and perfect. The room was clean, the pool was warm and heated, and the hot tub was very relaxing. The free parking in this area of town was a bonus, as there is a great variety of bars and restaurants within walking distance. The staff went out of their way to make sure we had all of our needs met. Overall an experience worth repeating.

Room Tip: For a quiet room, request a room away from the elevator. We could hear the "ding" of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights on a business trip recently. It was literally a block away from the convention center, with a lovely walk over the river along the way to and from. It had free parking as well, so it cost us nothing to leave the company car at the hotel versus the $8 a day at the convention center garage. In addition, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Especially the staff at the restaurant right off the lobby. They greeted you with a smile and said good morning every day.

On the night before checkout our car wouldn't start out in the parking lot. We went in and told the front desk and they immediately radioed to the hotel engineer who met us at our car within 5 minutes. He jumped our car for us right away and we drove off to Autozone to get a new battery.

The rooms are very nice. The bed was comfortable. The place was quiet. Very pleasantly surprised at the wonderful flowery smell when you enter the lobby, too! Fantastic place with fantastic service!

Room Tip: My room away from the elevator was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaceyK603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Hello KaceyK603,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience at our hotel with TripAdvisor and its members. I was thrilled to know that start to finish your experience was great! Our company puts a large focus on guest service and the "golden rule". I have no doubt that the individuals on our team are truly what makes the difference. Don't get me wrong, we do miss the mark at times and know we can always do better. During your stay we hit the target. We will be looking forward to your return to our hotel and Grand Rapids. In the meantime, safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trevor-wa
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I was there last week for a convention at the convention center, and yes they are the perfect walking location and the girls at the front desk were excellent all the time, but the list of shortcomings is too large to get a better than average rating

1. the air conditioing unit on the roof is is very bad condition and the rumbling noise makes the rooms on the 8th (top) and 7th floors unussable ( I originally was in a 8th flr room but immediately had to relocate to the 3rd floor)

2. the they say they have a "late nite" menue, and on the sunday they did have food at 10pm, however on monday I called down at 9:10pm and the "kitchen has closed" - there is no other food within close walking distance

3.Monday was my goof off day, but heavy thunderstorms were coming thru, I was shocked they didnt' have a local area shuttle service

4. A minor complaint, but I'm platinum and most holiday inn's deliver a paper to your door in the morning and I like that so I don't have to dress and go to the lobby to fetch the paper - this one doesn't deliver papers.

If I was the management I'd address these easy to correct and improve issues

Room Tip: not on the top floors, very noisy ac unit on the roof
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trevor-wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather E, Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Trevor-wa,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. You have made several reasonable suggestions on areas of opportunity for us. I am concerned about your experience on our upper floors as we have not had that be a typical experience for our guests. Please know that these units are checked frequently and have maintenance completed regularly. Your comments have been noted for our team to review this and repair if necessary. I would hope you would give us another opportunity to serve you in the future, should your travels return to Grand Rapids.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville TN
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel but were disappointed with the room's layout. The small bathroom has in it only a toilet and bath/shower. The sink and tiny vanity area is outside the bathroom, in the room itself. Very weird to be washing your hands and brushing your teeth 2 feet from the bed. There was no closet with doors just a space to hang clothes. We are 2 women so we were disappointed by the lack of vanity/counter space. A single man traveling alone might not care.

Another disappointment was lack of electrical outlets, there was only 1 out in the open and it was at the foot of the bed. There were no outlets in easily accessible places like at the head of the bed to plug in a phone at night.

The only other problem was the hotel's 'business center' which is just 1 computer hooked up to a printer which was running out of toner. But when we mentioned this the extremely helpful front desk staff printed out our document from their printer (good thing we had a USB stick).

I did not notice a difference between the 'soft' and 'firm' pillows. The housekeeping staff smushes each pillow into a square os it's not a normal rectangle shape, which is weird. Who sleeps on a square pillow? You have to shake out the pillow to get it to be normal size, and once you do it's kind of lumpy and filled with loose fill. Not a fan of the pillows.

That being said the hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious and the breakfast staff were very nice. The rooms were very clean and the mattress was comfortable. And as other reviewers have mentioned the location is great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurap414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda H, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
We appreciate your comments about our hotel. You are right that our rooms are a little smaller than you might expect. Being a downtown property it's tough to build out, just up! As for your concerns with the pillows, our staff and IHG could not agree with you more. There is a new pillow standard in place for all properties and we have already begun replacing ours.
Thank you for all of your comments. If you would like to talk more about your stay, please do not hesitate to call me directly at 616.235.1321.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I recently had the chance to stay at the HI downtown after my original hotel across the river was overbooked. This HI is in the perfect location, it's right across the street from the Gerald R Ford Presidential Museum, with access to the river walkways and huge walking bridges into downtown Grand Rapids - 5 stars!

Rooms are very clean - looks brand new. Bed is firm - it's not the Westin. The one thing that was out of place - the sink. It's in the main room and not in the bathroom. I just thought that was odd.

Front Desk and Staff are very friendly and helpful.

The only two things I would try to fix are - place soundproof windows on the side facing the highway (the road noise is loud at all times) and the fitness center needs help. However, there is a very nice YMCA next door or you could just run/walk along the river.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Presidential Museum are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattpheil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Hello Mattpheil,

Sounds like you have fallen in love with Grand Rapids just as much as those that call Grand Rapids home! Grand Rapids is truly a big city with small town values. There is no doubt we are proud of our staff and their guest service skills. However, it is a special feeling when our guests experience that service and consider it great! Would you be willing to share some suggestions on how to improve the fitness center? Future renovation plans would impact the fitness center, so now is the time to share your thoughts. Feel free to reach out to me at Ellen@higrdt.com. Great minds must think alike as we are in the planning stages of window replacement including a special focus on sound reduction.

Thanks again for your time and comments! We hope to see you again soon. In the meantime, safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
#12 of 48 in Grand Rapids
362 reviews
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
0.4 mi away
CityFlatsHotel
CityFlatsHotel
#16 of 48 in Grand Rapids
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
#4 of 48 in Grand Rapids
947 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
Address: 310 Pearl St NW, US 131 and Pearl Street, Grand Rapids, MI 49504-5314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Grand Rapids
#16 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 175 room full-service Holiday Inn, officially relaunched in December 2009. All guest rooms have 32" HDTVs, easy chair, large work desk. Rates include complimentary on site parking and wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown Hotel Grand Rapids
Days Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing