We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice little operation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
Ranked #20 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
GreenLeadersSilver level
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice little operation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

very clean. great HD TV with large screen. Comfy beds and close to downtown. Front desk staff was very attentive. I was there shooting footage for the JOURNEY/LOVERBOY concert and the location was walking distance to the venue. Good room service menu and value. Quiet rooms. recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ianpeean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather E, Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. Our team works hard to provide each of our guests with great service at a good value. Should your travels bring you back to Grand Rapids, we hope to be of service once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    185
    79
    25
    18
See reviews for
78
112
21
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

Very convienient location in the downown Grand Rapids with excellent free parking , both covered and open.The executive room is great for long stays as well.Very good restaurant within the property.I wish they included breakfast for their Platinum guests. The staff is very courteous. The rates are very reasonable.

Room Tip: Away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sene4454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Hello Sene4454 -
I am so excited to learn that your last stay with us was very enjoyable! We do think our location is great, but it is nice to know that our guests agree. Your suggestion of a complimenary breakfast from Priority Club Rewards members is one that we are considering. In the meantime, however, we do offer a Best Flex with Breakfast package that is bookable with the hotel directly, 1-800-Holiday and via the web. If you have some free time on your next stay in Grand Rapids, please allow our Guest Service staff to assist you with what is happening in the city. Or perhaps you would just like to enjoy some down time and another delicious meal from our Pearl Street Grill. We'll look forward to you next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

I like this hotel. I travel about 100 nights per year and have found myself staying here more often because of its staff, location, cleanliness, restaurant and bar. It has been upgraded recently and even though some of the rooms can be on the smaller size, they're fine for me because I am by myself. I have had the opportunity to stay in a larger deluxe room and they are much larger.

Parking is good and to get on the freeway and out of town is quick and easy.

Room Tip: When picking a room request one that faces the front (north) or to the east and away from the freewa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JayRay61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We do strive to provide a Great Hotel that our Guests Love. It seems like we have accomplished that goal on your most recent trip. The key is a GREAT hotel. We invite you to share any suggestion for improvement no matter how small. GREAT is always an increasing target in our minds! Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Erie, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Very impressed with everything at this hotel! Excellent location within walking distance to downtown events. 10 minute walk to VanAndel Arena. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Clean, updated and spacious king room with mini fridge and microwave and flat screen TV. Bed was comfortable. Ate in the restaurant where the staff was nice and the breakfast was good. Nice pool and hot tub area. Will stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimi1319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Michigan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Hotel has free parking and is within walking distance to restaurants and other things to do. We were there for New Years Eve and it was very convenient. Lobby was nice and modern, staff was very friendly. Room was a decent size for a city hotel. We had a room with 2 double beds which I didn't really like, however the bedding was nice. Agree with others that a free breakfast would make this place a slam dunk.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank przybylski1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

yes everywhere.

Oh, don't go there if you plan on staying up or having any type of activity with your wife. They tell you to go to bed!!!! The guy with the walkie talkie thinks he's rambo. They run this hotel like a maximum security prison. When it's lights out, you tv and you wife better not make a peep...don't even plan on taking a shower!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Micheal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
I apologize that you felt our quiet hours were too restrictive. We strive to provide all of our guests with a quiet night’s sleep. Travelers stay with us for various reasons, some have loved ones in the hospital, some may have a competition the next day, and yet others are gathered with friends and family to celebrate important events. We view it as our responsibility to take care of each guest’s needs by being attentive to the atmosphere within the hotel and this does include the noise level at various hours. Thank you for reminding us that there is a time and place for everything and we need to be mindful of those moments of celebration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

we booked this hotel after the recommendation from the Griffins. We were impressed with the location and it's proximity to the arena. literally only a 10-15 minute walk. the Grand Rapids museum was across the road one way, and the Ford Presidential museum was across the road the other direction.

room was on the smaller side and the bathroom could have used some exhaust - if you (like most of us do) have a hot shower, everything turns wet due to the steam. the shower/toilet area was small as well, barely enough room to open that door. on the bright side, the bed was comfortable.

we never did eat at the restaurants, they seemed busy with parties or other functions. might check it out on the next trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blairs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
#3 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
#15 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityFlatsHotel
CityFlatsHotel
#16 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
Address: 310 Pearl St NW, US 131 and Pearl Street, Grand Rapids, MI 49504-5314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Grand Rapids
#16 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 175 room full-service Holiday Inn, officially relaunched in December 2009. All guest rooms have 32" HDTVs, easy chair, large work desk. Rates include complimentary on site parking and wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown Hotel Grand Rapids
Days Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing