We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Checked out on day 2”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
Ranked #24 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Not a terrible hotel however it was my husband's and my 1 year anniversary, we booked the reservation for one bed but were given a room with 2 double beds. Not the ideal anniversary room for 5 days. There was a convention in town and they were unable to accomodate us into another room but were very apologetic about it. I also had arranged for rom service to surprise him upon check-in, I was told the kitchen would be alerted to our arrival and all we had to do was stay in the room until it arrived. Well 1.5 hours later as my husband is hungry and I am stalling I finally had to fess up and call them. It was clear they forgot since it took another 30mins to arrive. Not what I hoped for. Also there were a number of very large spiders on the windows (because it is right near the water and I am sure they can't help it but it creeped me out nonetheless). Anyway we checked out and went over to the JW Marriott and had a nice time there (for almost double the price though of course). Also when we informed them we would check out a very nice manager guy told us to pop over to the restaurant and have a drink on him as an apology however I guess he forgot about us because we ended up paying for that too. Luckily we both have a great sense of humor and we laughed about our disastrous 1st anniversary night so it was okay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cass182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

Dear Cass182,

I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at our hotel. We strive every day to create special experiences one guest at a time and I am truly sorry we did not manage this for your stay. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced and I regret you received room service which was less than satisfactory. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving the quality and service we offer to our guests.

I hope that you will give us the pleasure of hosting you again on your next visit.

Regards,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

353 - 359 of 477 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

This is one of the nicer Holiday Inns I have stayed in lately. Rooms are upto date and very clean. It is more reasonably priced than the other hotels in this area. Plus you do not have to pay for parking. It is located downtown with a lot to do within walking distance. I will stay here again whenever I am in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rtp216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was the perfect place to stay during the ArtPrize event - close and reasonably priced. Imaginative art was everywhere. Our comfortable room gave us a restful night and the Pearl Street Grill was handy and reasonably priced to get us on our way. The staff and eager to point us in the right direction. The ArtPrize was a learning curve, the Holiday Inn wasn't. We'' be back for both next year.

Room Tip: Nicer view looking north
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Farmerbobmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed in the Holiday Inn Grand Rapids for a wedding in mid-September. Once we had parked in the adjacent lot (big cities make you forge how convenient that is) we never got in our car again. Lots to do, see and eat! The hotel was very clean and the staff helpful and nice. This will now be our go-to in GR!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ozdocgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed here because they offered a discount to people who had family members in the Butterworth Hospital up the street. We were there because my mother was in the hospital. The staff was so professional and so compassionate, I guess the look on my face must've said that there were problems when I checked in but they were very, very nice to us. The rooms were so clean - we had stayed the night before somewhere cheaper but it was horrid - so don't even think about it anymore - just book here. Clean, neat, great staff, great restaurant and work out facilities. The little bar is friendly and peaceful and the bartender cooked up some popcorn for us when he found out we'd been at the hospital all day and hadn't eaten the 2nd day. Plus they have a heart. I would stay here again anytime.

Room Tip: every room is probably good here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed here for a work related training for 2 nights. They have a pool, decent exercise equipment, a nice bar. Basically everything you need. I wish they had the continental breakfast though. Other then that it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed at Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown for a business visit. It was a good hotel for the area- close to downtown and restaurants. Property seemed to be an older but nicely updated property in that the bathroom was smallish but clean and the sink is outside of the bathroom. A/C filter was dirty but this was not complained about - house keeping just had a dusty tub to clean out the next day as the filters were rinsed out in the tub. On-site restaurant had breakfast through dinner available and there was a little express shop onsite with juices, beer/wine, snacks,and travel trinkets. Staff was very nice and presentable. The management said that they were going to be doing some minor renovations in the near future which includes putting in automatic front doors in place of the push doors.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank econobiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
#13 of 48 in Grand Rapids
371 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityFlatsHotel
CityFlatsHotel
#23 of 48 in Grand Rapids
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
0.3 mi away
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
#4 of 48 in Grand Rapids
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown

Address: 310 Pearl St NW, US 131 and Pearl Street, Grand Rapids, MI 49504-5314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Grand Rapids
#16 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range: $155 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 175 room full-service Holiday Inn, officially relaunched in December 2009. All guest rooms have 32" HDTVs, easy chair, large work desk. Rates include complimentary on site parking and wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown Hotel Grand Rapids
Days Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing