We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Deal--Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
Ranked #20 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
GreenLeadersSilver level
Michigan
Level Contributor
181 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great Deal--Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

We chose the Holiday Inn Downtown based largely on Trip Advisors and to be located within walking distance of activities at De Vos Center and the BOB. Great rates: particularly compared to other downtown hotels. Rooms are perfectly nice and clean, although not really luxurious. They do a good job with small details such as quality linens, towels and the pillow menu. Staff were exceptionally friendly and accommodating. There is a little highway noise, but we didn't find it to be a problem. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichiganWildflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    185
    79
    25
    18
See reviews for
78
112
21
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

Great hotel. Clean, very nice. Beds were super comfortable. Great downtown Grand Rapids location. Love the free parking! Nice hotel bar. Room service breakfast was very yummy and very affordable.

You can hear the highway, but it is almost a nice white noise. The rooms are fairly quiet, although the doors let all kinds of noise in. I find that to be true of most hotels though.

Overall a great experience and we plan on coming back soon.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teammj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, MIchigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

My husband and I and our two young children (6 and 3) stayed here for a night this past weekend for a mini Spring Break trip. We arrived at noon and were able to check in right then, despite check in time being at 3pm. The young man at the desk, Troy, was very friendly and helpful and accommodating. Our room was clean and comfortable and QUIET, even though there was a bachelorette party staying on the same floor, and at least one wedding reception on the night that we stayed. The pool was small but neat and clean and just the right temperature. The location was great: a 10 minute walk to the Children's Museum across the river and right next door to the GR Public Museum. The hotel even had RECYCLING BINS! We were pleasantly surprised with the quality and friendliness and convenience of this hotel. We'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ejfamily007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2011

I stayed here for a conference and was pleasantly surprised. The hotel was clean, rooms were large, modern and comfy. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The hotel is in walking distance of some great bars.

Only one complaint, one side of the hotel is close to the overpass which makes it a bit noisy. I would ask for a room on the other side, or bring earplugs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the overpass.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nyu05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2011

My wife and I stayed here over the Winter beerfest weekend, the last weekend in February. We chose this hotel on it's location and price. I haven't been to Grand Rapids in about 10 years, and was very impressed with the city, as well as this hotel. The hotel lobby is very nice. It has a bar and restaurant in the hotel. We ate breakfast at the hotel, and the pancakes were incredible. I know, pancakes are pancakes, but these were really good. My wife and I got a king bed room, which was really nice. it was updated, and the pillows were really nice. they have a "note" stating which pillows were "soft" and which were "firm". We stayed both, friday and saturday night, and both nights when we came back from hanging out, Jerry, was there to greet us. Honestly, this is the nicest person ever. since it was the beerfest weekend, we talked about beer with Jerry, amongst other things, and it was very pleasant to come back to your hotel with someone to greet you like Jerry. All in all, this was a great hotel and a great visit.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Double-O-Negative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lyme, CT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2011

Wow! I always considered "Holiday Inn" as a budget hotel that lacked in luxury but was inexpensive. This hotel changed that perception. While it was rather inexpensive, it delivered a significant amount of luxury. I've paid 3X the nightly rate at other hotels only to find that internet access was an additional fee. I never realized that the Holiday Inn chain provides free WiFi throughout the building. In this day and age, I've always thought that should be a standard in any hotel so I was pleasantly surprised to find it in this hotel.
I love the Pillow Menu concept as well. What a great way to ensure a comfortable night's sleep.
As for this particular hotel - I loved the location. So close to everything - Hockey arena, hospitals, convention center, nightlife, etc... Who could ask for more. Decore and maintainence throughout make this seem like it is a newly opened hotel.
My destination of choice when I visit GR.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pnjstamps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2011

This hotel is in a great location, close to alot of bars and museums. The pool and hot tub are a great feature....if they aren't packed with people. The happy hour is advertised for free, but when we went there were only specials and money off drinks nothing for free. There also isn't a free breakfast, so pack your own bagels and bananas the rest. inside isn't very cheap. The rooms are nice clean and big however the sink and counter are outside of the bathroom which was really odd to me. Def visit the BOB, Charlie's Crab, Bella Bistro and Intersection (for live music) don't call a cab, call the Grand Rapids shuttle hopper!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jetersgrl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
#3 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
#15 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityFlatsHotel
CityFlatsHotel
#16 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown

Property: Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
Address: 310 Pearl St NW, US 131 and Pearl Street, Grand Rapids, MI 49504-5314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Grand Rapids
#16 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 175 room full-service Holiday Inn, officially relaunched in December 2009. All guest rooms have 32" HDTVs, easy chair, large work desk. Rates include complimentary on site parking and wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown Hotel Grand Rapids
Days Inn Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing