We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 31, 2014

Everything was as good or better than I expected it to be. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. We had a microwave and a refrigerator, which we used. I did not use the pool but wish I would have: it was very clean and also had a hot tub.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron C, General Manager at Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to offer such a wonderful review! We are continuously working to make sure our rooms and staff offer the a clean comfortable and stress free stay. We look forward to having you as our guest in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (580)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

375 - 381 of 580 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2014

Airport shuttle never showed after an hour wait. Room had leaking A/C unit, a closet door that fell off the hinges and a tub that drained slowly. The breakfast was good, and the bed was comfortable, but if I had my choice I'd choose a different hotel next time. We did have good luck upon return to the airport the next day.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Carolyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron C, General Manager at Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Although we never like receiving a negative review, it does help us prevent issues such as the ones you experienced from happening again. We have been working hard to fix and or replace items that are in disrepair and your input helps us to achieve that goal. I am happy to hear that the return shuttle went off without a hitch and that the breakfast and bed met your expectations. I do hope you would be willing to allow us a second chance to make a better first impression.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Too much noise and clutter! Staff was fine but the facility was a mess! The grounds were a mess and the security was lacking! The overall value was poor considering all of the substandard qualities of rooms and general grounds! I have never given the poor of a rating, but qualify that the hotel was being renovated and they probably should not have being renting rooms during this period! We were not informed ahead of time of the construction going on!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Comanchero15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron C, General Manager at Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2014

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay. I do apologize that your stay was less than spectacular due to the ongoing renovations. Unfortunately in order to stay up to date, these improvements were much needed. We tried to keep the inconvenience to our guests to a minimum, unfortunately that doesn't always happen. The good news is that the major renovations are finished and we have now been able to get our grounds cleaned up. I do hope you decide to give us a second chance to make a great first impression.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2014

In the interest of full disclosure I got my room on hotwire and because of that I got this hotel at about 50% off.

The hotel itself is a little rough around the edges but it looks like the property owners are slowly working to improve the property which is a good sign. That being said I found the room to be clean and comfortable and the rest of the public spaces were just fine. The pool was rather large which was a nice suprise as was the sauna (give it a few moments to warm up before going in). Also, the free breakfast was pretty good. It included coffee, juices, 3 types of cereal, milk, baked goods, a make your own waffle station, fruit, yogurt, sausage, and eggs.

The staff at the front desk was helpful and friendly and I had no issues on check in or out. I would reccomend this hotel to others if you are looking for a comfortable hotel with a good breakfast.

Room Tip: I would try to get a room away from stairs and the elevator to avoid any noise while trying to sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron C, General Manager at Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2014

Thank you for your review. You are correct that we are working diligently on improving all aspects of the hotel and unfortunately a project this large does take time. We do hope that you will decide to choose us next time you are visiting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2014

This hotel was absolutely wonderful! A beautiful and clean indoor pool, and a very nice and relaxing hot tub. It's only about 5 minutes from the Van Andel Arena! There's a delicious breakfast and clean comfy rooms. Myself and 3 others stayed in a bedroom with two queen sized beds. I will absolutely stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katycat4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron C, General Manager at Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2014

Thank you for the excellent review. We work very hard to maintain a clean comfortable hotel at a reasonable rate. As you noted we are only 10-15 minutes from downtown and easily accessible to downtown and other areas for visitors to find. We hope you enjoyed the concert and would love to have you join us again next time you are in town for any reason.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

This is an older hotel and needs (which they are starting to do)updating. The room was comfortable and clean. The ability to stay and fly was really a plus. Cost is MUCH less than if we parked at the airport. Thus, this made our stay very economical.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank BCTravelers16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Although some of the areas in this hotel are in need of updating( shower/tubs), it is a very good value. Rooms are good size, beds comfortable, heating/cooling adequate and not too loud. Has a very nice, large indoor pool and hot tub. Treadmills in fitness area are adequate, but there was no air and it is connected to pool, so room was warm and humid. Very nice breakfast with eggs and sausage and usual other items which were kept well stocked. Breakfast area clean, but sitting limited.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank MaryHeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 49 in Grand Rapids
459 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
4.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport
2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites

Address: 5500 28th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512-2052
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range: $79 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites will be pleased to find that each well-appointed guestroom and suite includes satellite television with HBO®, a refrigerator, microwave and free high-speed wireless Internet access. Other amenities at this Grand Rapids hotel include a complimentary hot breakfast buffet each morning, free dinner every Monday through Thursday, a sparkling indoor heated swimming pool; largest in the area, hot tub and a complimentary airport shuttle service to the Gerald R Ford International Airport - located just three miles away. Proud to be the closest BEST WESTERN to Frederik Meijer Gardens & Sculpture Park, named one of the world’s 30 Must See Museums by Patricia Schultz, author of 1000 Places to See Before you Die. Meijer Gardens is home to Butterflies are Blooming and Christmas Around the World and Grand Rapids Art Prize Annual exhibitions.Business guests of the BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites will also appreciate this Grand Rapids hotel's close proximity to local businesses including the Grand Rapids Medical Mile. The Medical Mile is home to the Grand Rapids Community College Calkins Science Center, Spectrum Health’s Butterworth Hospital Complex, Grand Valley State university’s Cook-DeVos Center for Health Sciences, and Michigan State University Secchia Center Medical School. The BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites is close to Amway, Meijer, Cascade Engineering and Steelcase Headquarters. The Best Western is centrally located within minutes to over 100 restaurants’, many of them participating popular Annual Restaurant Week.Specializing in hosting sports teams, the BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites' location near Aquinas, Calvin, Cornerstone, Davenport and Grand Rapids Community Colleges. Located only minutes from Patterson Ice Arena, Soccer Spot, MVP Field House (directly across the street),and AMF Eastbrook Lanes Bowling Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hospitality Hotel Grand Rapids
Best Western Hospitality Hotel And Suites
Best Western Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing