We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Perfect hotel we stayed during July 4th holiday. We books three rooms, all of us enjoyed the stay and breakfast. In-door pool was also clean and good. Hotel staff was friendly. We will definately stay in this hotel for our future trip.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Wei Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron C, General Manager at Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Thank you for your review. We look forward to your next visit and hopefully we are able to exceed your expectations once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (546)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

362 - 368 of 546 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014

This hotel Was great, It was pet friendly which is so good to know when you have to take your pet with you. The Breakfast was a good selection. and very clean. They did not run out of food no matter if you were early or later in the morning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron C, General Manager at Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Thank you for your review! We are glad that you were able to enjoy our hotel in the company of your pet. We have made many changes to our breakfast design to encourage a better flow and make it easier to keep maintained and stocked, whether you are the first person or the last person to visit for breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We have family in the area that we visit often, but our family has grown to the size that staying with family just doesn't work anymore. So, we were looking for a cheap but nice hotel that will work for family visits several times per year. This hotel is NOT it.

I will start with the positives, however, because if I don't get to them now I won't get to them at all. It isn't fair to not mention: quiet rooms, large and very warm whirlpool, swimming pool with a deeper (9') end than most, sand v-ball, and the breakfast buffet was well-attended by staff. However, NONE OF THESE POSITIVE ATTRIBUTES WILL EVER MAKE ME STAY THERE AGAIN.

We stayed three nights, and if other family members hadn't been staying there, too (two add'l rooms!), we would have left after the first night. The exterior was filthy with cigarette butts, cobwebs, bugs (dead and alive), and random junk (an old fridge, hoses, tools, construction material strewn about, etc.) When we arrived the side door was left wide open, not only letting plenty of moths inside, but the hallway wide open to intruders. Our room's lock even had old crowbar marks around it, as if someone had once busted in! So, right off the bat we were concerned about safety.

That said, our room had seemed clean on arrival. OK, so, we had two spiders: one in a corner in a web and one on a pillow. But the paper strap on the toilet assured me it had been sanitized. We noticed several maintenance items. Recent/ongoing renovations were done very poorly. We had a broken curtain rod hook. A spacer had been left in the grout and the ceiling had not been painted in the bathroom. There was an old pipe in the wall filled with grout. There was bubbling around the light switch, and odd patch marks on the ceiling. Obvious evidence of cheap renovations.

But, this is a two-star hotel, so what did we expect, right? That's what we told ourselves. We thought we could gut it out for just a couple of days. But, it all went down-hill from there. No one came to clean our room at all that first day. Then next day we got fresh towels and garbage bags replaced, but nothing more. Melted ice was still in the bucket, dirty coffee cup still sat on nightstand, no new coffee pack, surfaces were not wiped, etc. It was then that we discovered it wasn't being vacuumed, either. And it hadn't been before our arrival. How do we know? SOMEONE ELSE'S TOENAIL CLIPPINGS WERE FOUND IN OUR CARPET! Seriously. TOTALLY GROSS. At this point it was late at night and we were leaving early the next morning. I just wanted to get the night over with and get out of there.

We did talk to the manager on duty (Heather?) who apologized and said they had hired more housekeeping staff and we're working on correcting problems they'd had. She offered a $15 refund, as if $15 was going to make me feel better about our three-day stay in this RAT HOLE. But, because we booked through a third party she couldn't even do that. She opened a reward account and gave us points toward a future stay. Except, we are not likely to stay at a Best Western after this experience. I know she tried - really, she did. We did eat breakfast and swim in the pool, so I can't expect to have all my money refunded. But $15 on a $270 bill? We should have gotten at least one if not two nights free given that our room was NEVER properly cleaned in the three days we were there.

Granted, they are obviously trying to update their facilities with the renovations, but the owner/management is obviously not willing to pay for decent work, and I'm guessing they aren't willing to pay a decent wage, either, which is why they have housekeeping problems. That's my theory based on my experience. A cheap hotel, being managed cheaply, and walking my business right out the filthy door.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trakie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron C, General Manager at Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

I first would like to apologize for the issues you had during your stay with us. I want to assure you that the issues you described have been taken care of or are in the process of being taken care of. In regards to some of the problems such as the cigarette butts, we do have ashtrays for guests and we do a daily sweep of the grounds to clean up the butts as well as the bugs. Others such as the objects in the parking lot were a direct result of the renovations we are undergoing. To address your safety concerns, those marks you saw on your door were not crowbar marks, but in fact were marks created from guests leaving the secondary latch in the door opening and repeated slams from the door closing. We are in the process of replacing all of the curtains in each and every room and have replaced our outdated 4 cup coffee makers with much more sanitary single cup makers. As far as the other issues, that is something we take very seriously and have let go of some of our employees who were not living up to our expectations. I understand all of this is not going to change your mind on the first impression that was left, but please understand we are working very hard at eliminating the "cheap" fixes and have a much better product already than the one you encountered during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We always stay at Best Western hotels so we picked this one as closest to the Van Andel Arena for a concert. Great service right away, they said I was a VIP and they gave us a free room upgrade to a suite! No complaints! Room temperature was great, bed comfy, we slept very well. Very good breakfast, shower was great! Don't understand other complaints! If there were malfunctions in anything I think the staff would have been right on it! We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron C, General Manager at Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

We would like to thank you for your wonderful review. I am pleased that everything was at or above your expectations, which is what we are always striving for at the Best Western. We look forward to your next visit when you are in Grand Rapids in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We had a medical emergency in Grand Rapids, MI. and we only needed a one night stay. We found that by calling the hotel directly and talking with the hotel staff you will have an easier time booking a room. The hotel even offers rooms at a discounted rate for family medical emergencies. All of the staff at this hotel were always very pleasant. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone for business pleasure or family medical emergency Special thanks to Alexis and her supervisor Heather

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron C, General Manager at Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Thank you for such a kind review. We do try our best to make sure every guest feels at home even in tough situations such as the one you faced. We do hope everything turned out for the best. We look forward to your next stay with us! Hope next time you are able to visit, it will be under much better cirmcumstances.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Old, dirty with much maintenance needed! Convenient to the airport however the bathroom door didn't shut, sink was plugged and shower was malfunctioning. Staff did not seem to care much and didn't offer any compensation. I would not stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank judithb766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron C, General Manager at Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Thank you for your review. I apologize that your stay did not live up to your expectations and quite frankly based on your words, your stay did not live up to my expectations either. I am sorry that you felt our staff did not care as that is furthest from the truth. We care deeply about every one of our guests and are always working hard to make sure everything goes as smooth as possible during your stay. We have recently implemented new training tools for our maintenance department so that we are able to fix any issues prior to the guest having to tell us. Unfortunately in this case we failed and I apologize for that. We do hope you will reconsider and allow us a second chance to make a great first impression.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights with students and parents. When we checked in our rooms were not connecting and the staff was very accommodating, changing our rooms right away. The rooms were very quiet and clean. There was construction going on at the motel, but we did not hear a thing. I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again myself.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank basketchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron C, General Manager at Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review! We always try to make our guests number 1 while they are here. We have been striving to create a culture of helping in any way we can to make our guests feel at home with a clean, comfortable room and top notch customer service. We would love to host your group anytime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 48 in Grand Rapids
441 reviews
0.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
#3 of 48 in Grand Rapids
155 reviews
4.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
9.2 mi away
The Grand River Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites

Address: 5500 28th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512-2052
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range: $89 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites will be pleased to find that each well-appointed guestroom and suite includes satellite television with HBO®, a refrigerator, microwave and free high-speed wireless Internet access. Other amenities at this Grand Rapids hotel include a complimentary hot breakfast buffet each morning, free dinner every Monday through Thursday, a sparkling indoor heated swimming pool; largest in the area, hot tub and a complimentary airport shuttle service to the Gerald R Ford International Airport - located just three miles away. Proud to be the closest BEST WESTERN to Frederik Meijer Gardens & Sculpture Park, named one of the world’s 30 Must See Museums by Patricia Schultz, author of 1000 Places to See Before you Die. Meijer Gardens is home to Butterflies are Blooming and Christmas Around the World and Grand Rapids Art Prize Annual exhibitions.Business guests of the BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites will also appreciate this Grand Rapids hotel's close proximity to local businesses including the Grand Rapids Medical Mile. The Medical Mile is home to the Grand Rapids Community College Calkins Science Center, Spectrum Health’s Butterworth Hospital Complex, Grand Valley State university’s Cook-DeVos Center for Health Sciences, and Michigan State University Secchia Center Medical School. The BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites is close to Amway, Meijer, Cascade Engineering and Steelcase Headquarters. The Best Western is centrally located within minutes to over 100 restaurants’, many of them participating popular Annual Restaurant Week.Specializing in hosting sports teams, the BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites' location near Aquinas, Calvin, Cornerstone, Davenport and Grand Rapids Community Colleges. Located only minutes from Patterson Ice Arena, Soccer Spot, MVP Field House (directly across the street),and AMF Eastbrook Lanes Bowling Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hospitality Hotel Grand Rapids
Best Western Hospitality Hotel And Suites
Best Western Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing