We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Time in Grand Rapids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites
Ranked #14 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed in conveniently located (28th St) Best Western. Great quality as always. Saw many beautiful and interesting art works around the city as part of their art festival. Spent several hours in the GR Public Museum. Much to see and even do. Working carousel, too. (didn't ride!) Next day strolled for hours through the Frederik Meijer Gardens and Sculpture Park. Fantastic place! Even enjoyed the childrens' garden. Definitely a place for the whole family. As for food, there are too many choices for excellent dining. We like casual, so we tried the Founders Brewing Co. Unusual, but delicious combinations for sandwiches. Had a fantastic pizza at The Mitten Brewing Company. Only had two days in GR, so will have to return to see more.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 564 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

I only stayed from 11 p.m. to 8 a.m. and even that was too long. The carpets should have been replaced years ago, the bathtub plug didn't work, the shampoo provided dried out my hair, there were only five hangers, the breakfast included "omelettes" which were strangely taco-shaped egg with Velveeta inside, I had to run the English muffin through the toaster three times to get it mildly toasted, and there were no bowls for the cereal or yogurt provided. That being said, the staff were pleasant - although we were given rooms that seemed to be as far as possible from the elevator (and it was not full), the bed & bedding were good enough, the rate was low ($80 taxes incl.) it is close to highways and there was a shuttle from the airport.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASASG_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I reserved a room with two queen beds. The first thing I noticed was that the room smelled very strongly of perm solution. Then, I looked around thinking how cheap the room looked compared to how much I just spent. How can they charge so much for so little? Even the carpeting doesn't lay flat. The next problem I see is that the bathroom ceiling has very large patches of mold. When you look on the Best Western site, they only show you two reviews and they are both 5 star. Paid endorsements?

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy_Pearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I was not a guest of this hotel but I called to get information about a banquet room and Jessica was very nice and helpful and patient while answering my questions which is a plus!! im having a badd time finding places and everyone else at other hotels are very rude and tend to rush you off of the phone and she did not! Thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank hamaria t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I staied here with my husband in room 146. It was very clean and bed was so comfortable. The breakfast was very good and water in pool was perfect. We absolutely love this hotel. We will come back again soon.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sea_Shell86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I am not severely handicapped but must use a walker and must have bars to hang onto in the bathroom and shower. There must be room enough to use my 3-wheel walker in the room. The bed must be low enough to sit on and then hold onto the headboard to swing my good leg up and then help with the bad one to get into bed. All of this was impossible in the room given to my friend and I.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Mary Lu J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I showed up at this hotel having had made a reservation only about an hour prior to our arrival. The young women at the front desk were very friendly and welcoming. Evening snacks were available; however, we did not partake. We had a room with two queen beds. The bed skirt on one of the beds was missing and, apparently, was being repaired. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. There wasn't a lot of floor space, so opening luggage that wasn't on the luggage rack was difficult. We liked having the vanity separate from the toilet and tub so as not to have a foggy mirror. There was plenty of counter space near the sink; however, the only towel bar was near the tub. Although the hotel is on a highway, there is a sidewalk so it was easy to walk to restaurants, shopping and services. Breakfast was typical BW fare, with both hot and cold items.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColoradoTraveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 48 in Grand Rapids
450 reviews
0.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
#3 of 48 in Grand Rapids
162 reviews
4.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
1.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#27 of 48 in Grand Rapids
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites

Address: 5500 28th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512-2052
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range: $89 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites will be pleased to find that each well-appointed guestroom and suite includes satellite television with HBO®, a refrigerator, microwave and free high-speed wireless Internet access. Other amenities at this Grand Rapids hotel include a complimentary hot breakfast buffet each morning, free dinner every Monday through Thursday, a sparkling indoor heated swimming pool; largest in the area, hot tub and a complimentary airport shuttle service to the Gerald R Ford International Airport - located just three miles away. Proud to be the closest BEST WESTERN to Frederik Meijer Gardens & Sculpture Park, named one of the world’s 30 Must See Museums by Patricia Schultz, author of 1000 Places to See Before you Die. Meijer Gardens is home to Butterflies are Blooming and Christmas Around the World and Grand Rapids Art Prize Annual exhibitions.Business guests of the BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites will also appreciate this Grand Rapids hotel's close proximity to local businesses including the Grand Rapids Medical Mile. The Medical Mile is home to the Grand Rapids Community College Calkins Science Center, Spectrum Health’s Butterworth Hospital Complex, Grand Valley State university’s Cook-DeVos Center for Health Sciences, and Michigan State University Secchia Center Medical School. The BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites is close to Amway, Meijer, Cascade Engineering and Steelcase Headquarters. The Best Western is centrally located within minutes to over 100 restaurants’, many of them participating popular Annual Restaurant Week.Specializing in hosting sports teams, the BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites' location near Aquinas, Calvin, Cornerstone, Davenport and Grand Rapids Community Colleges. Located only minutes from Patterson Ice Arena, Soccer Spot, MVP Field House (directly across the street),and AMF Eastbrook Lanes Bowling Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Best Western, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hospitality Hotel And Suites
Best Western Hospitality Hotel Grand Rapids
Best Western Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing