We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living in the Dark Ages”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites
Ranked #15 of 48 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Helena, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Living in the Dark Ages”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

There was loose food and bloody bandaids lying in several hallways. We got the very last blanket available when we checked in. How can you not have cleanliness in the middle of the day? How can you not have enough blankets? There was NO internet and trying to talk to the service people they contract with was HORRIBLE. I have never had sch a hard time trying to connect to any ethernet or wireless EVER.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redbirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best_Western_23161, General Manager at Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Redbirdie,
I want to apologize that your stay at my hotel was not up to standard. We have a houseman whose job is just to clean the public areas daily, so there is no excuse for any hallways to have trash in them. I am so sorry that you had trouble with this and also with the internet. We contract a local company to provide and also to service our internet, so I will be sure to discuss with them how it is imperative for my guests to have a local person helping them.
I am sorry for the trouble you experienced, and I want to let you know that if there is anything you need on your next stay to Grand Rapids, I would love to help.
Sincerely,
Cyrena Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    130
    87
    48
    43
See reviews for
206
110
41
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Our stay at the Grand Rapids Best Western was fantastic in every way! The staff was remarkable---we had hoped for a suite and they were all booked when we called. Bu the desk manager said she would do everything she could to get one for us. As we were on our way to the hotel, we called to give our arrival time, asked again about the suite and she had found one for us and held it until we arrived. The cleanliness of the place, the comfort of the rooms/suites, the quality of the breakfast, the condition of the pool and spa--ALL was just terrific! we stayed for 5 nights and are already looking forward to our next stay. We had often stayed in Grand Rapids but never at the Best Western. Those days are over! The Grand Rapids Best Western on 28th Street is our hotel of choice whenever we are in the Grand Rapids area again! Thank you to ALL who work so hard to make this possible for those of us who travel!

Room Tip: If you are staying more than a few nights, ask for a suite. The extra space is really pleasant for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best_Western_23161, General Manager at Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the wonderful review on Trip Advisor! I always enjoy it when a guest is happy with their stay! I see that you are thinking about coming back to Grand Rapids and staying here at the Best Western Hospitality Hotel. I would love to have you back here any time. If you need reservations or if you have any special requests, please call me at the hotel number (616) 949-8400. We would love to help you!
Sincerely,
Cyrena Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is the best Best Western we have ever stayed at. Granted, we haven't stayed at them all, but we've been to a bunch over the years. Top notch stuff about this hotel in every way, and at a reasonable price, too. I would go well out of my way to stay here again.

Room Tip: Call ahead, I'm sure glad we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lltpopeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best_Western_23161, General Manager at Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear lltpopeye,
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We are proud to be a part of the Best Western family, and although I know we are not the very best and fanciest hotel in the world, I am sincerely joyous that our efforts to make our guests feel at home have had a good effect on you. Nothing makes me happier than to hear that someone has been welcomed into our hotel and enjoyed the experience. Thank you for sharing that with me and with the other guests.
Sincerely,
Cyrena Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Huron, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed at the Hotel for 3 nights. It was wonderful! Starting from the beginning-we had a wonderful lobby experience. The staff (Meghan) was extremely helpful and p;easant to talk too. Dinner was still available when we arrived (smelled wonderful!)
Our room was great! Everything was clean. Plenty of towels and toiletries. The A/C worked great. The bed was very comfortable. Bedding was clean and fresh daily. Maids did a wonderful job too.
Breakfast was good and so were the dinners. The staff did a great job at keeping it looking good.
Close enough to down town without spending a fortune. We drove to the Devos center every day, the commute was only about 15 minutes from the Hotel to parking.
I would not hesitate to book this Hotel again-and actually will the next time I'm in Grand Rapids area!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nora G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best_Western_23161, General Manager at Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Nora,
Thank you for staying with us! We loved having you here. I hope that you do come and stay with me again next year. I think the expo will be coming to Grand Rapids again the same time next year. I'll see you then!
-Cyrena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed here during the House Tour in May (5/17-21). I will mention that there was no fan in the bathroom - 3 adults sharing a room, all taking showers, really made it humid (but I've come to discover that many hotel rooms do not have fans. . . at least in Michigan). The carpet was dirty, the bed skirt torn, and someone had dumped food on the balcony attracting bugs, the bathroom had quite a lot of mildew, and closet doors were impossible to open. The hotel staff propped a rear door open so they could take cigarette breaks - and it was left propped open - all night. During Saturday & Sunday the hotel was booked, I think it was for some sporting event, the breakfast area was overtaken and is not large enough to accomodate a crowd. And the last item, we returned late Sunday night to a hallway reaking of raw sewage - we were grateful that our room didn't smell bad. However, one flush of the toilet, and there you have it, overflowing and stinky. We called for maintenance, who arrive promptly with a punger and resolved our bathroom issue - but the stench remained. During checkout, the young clerk ask how our stay was and we replied "unpleasant" and nothing more was said.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkiptotheLOUmydarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best_Western_23161, General Manager at Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear Guest,
I appreciate your honest feedback regarding your stay at my property. I am extremely sorry to hear that your stay was not perfect. One thing that I would like you to know is that in hotels where there appears to be no fan in the bathroom, such is the case because there is a fan on the roof that is constantly sucking air from the bathroom so that the noise of a fan won't disrupt the guest. Since you have stayed, we have hired a new maintenance manager and a new housekeeping manager. The programs that are in place are so much better and are really improving the property. It is feedback from guests like you that really help us to view what needs to be changed in our property so that we can continue to improve every day. Thank you for taking the time to review this property so that we can get better. If you need anything at all, please do not hesitate to call me at the property between 9am and 5pm Monday-Friday.
Sincerely,
Cyrena Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Arrived just before midnight after a very long, tiring day and our room was disappointing to be polite. The toilet & shower were both clean, so we made the best of it. I made a list of all the problems and gave it to the ladies (both very pleasant) at the front desk & they thanked me and said they would pass along to the general manager. After returning home, I called the hotel to see if my list and the problems had been addressed by the manager. This is where it got complicated, so let me cut to the bottom line - the general manager (Cyrena) was fantastic. A compassionate, warm-hearted individual who honestly loves this hotel. There has been recent remodeling, and this room had fallen through the cracks. If you stay there, ask for Room 114 - I believe it is now in tip-top shape. Also, please ask for Cyrena and give her a hug from Mary Ann!!

Room Tip: Ask for room 114 - Cyrena assured me it is now up to their high standards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mare4422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best_Western_23161, General Manager at Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Dear Mary Ann,
I just wanted to say thank you for all of your help and for your persistence. I am lucky to have had the opportunity to speak with someone who is kind-hearted and truly cares about others. Sometimes it seems that we don't find enough people like you in the world, and it is a true blessing to me when I come across someone with a heart like yours. I thank you so much for the opportunity to work with you, and please rest assured that your kindness will be payed forward again and again. I hope to see you next time you are in Grand Rapids! Please stop by if you are ever in town again. I would really love that hug!
Sincerely,
Cyrena Johnson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed at the hotel the beginning of August and enjoyed everything. We were "guest of the day," so we were upgraded to a jacuzzi room. It was very clean and spacious--very nice. We're looking forward to staying again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best_Western_23161, General Manager at Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear A W,
Thank you for your review of my hotel! I am so happy that you enjoyed your time at our place! We would love to see you back here for your next trip to Grand Rapids! If there is anything you need, or if you have some recommendations about how we can improve our hotel, please do not hesitate to call any time. We are always happy to help!
Wonderful wishes!
-Cyrena Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#7 of 48 in Grand Rapids
426 reviews
0.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
#3 of 48 in Grand Rapids
132 reviews
4.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
The Grand River Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites

Property: Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites
Address: 5500 28th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512-2052
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites will be pleased to find that each well-appointed guestroom and suite includes satellite television with HBO®, a refrigerator, microwave and free high-speed wireless Internet access. Other amenities at this Grand Rapids hotel include a complimentary hot breakfast buffet each morning, free dinner every Monday through Thursday, a sparkling indoor heated swimming pool; largest in the area, hot tub and a complimentary airport shuttle service to the Gerald R Ford International Airport - located just three miles away. Proud to be the closest BEST WESTERN to Frederik Meijer Gardens & Sculpture Park, named one of the world’s 30 Must See Museums by Patricia Schultz, author of 1000 Places to See Before you Die. Meijer Gardens is home to Butterflies are Blooming and Christmas Around the World and Grand Rapids Art Prize Annual exhibitions.Business guests of the BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites will also appreciate this Grand Rapids hotel's close proximity to local businesses including the Grand Rapids Medical Mile. The Medical Mile is home to the Grand Rapids Community College Calkins Science Center, Spectrum Health’s Butterworth Hospital Complex, Grand Valley State university’s Cook-DeVos Center for Health Sciences, and Michigan State University Secchia Center Medical School. The BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites is close to Amway, Meijer, Cascade Engineering and Steelcase Headquarters. The Best Western is centrally located within minutes to over 100 restaurants’, many of them participating popular Annual Restaurant Week.Specializing in hosting sports teams, the BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites' location near Aquinas, Calvin, Cornerstone, Davenport and Grand Rapids Community Colleges. Located only minutes from Patterson Ice Arena, Soccer Spot, MVP Field House (directly across the street),and AMF Eastbrook Lanes Bowling Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hospitality Hotel Grand Rapids
Best Western Hospitality Hotel And Suites
Best Western Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing