We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, but a few problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
Flint, Michigan
1 review
“Nice room, but a few problems”
Reviewed February 25, 2008

This is a nice hotel, but there are a few issues that need improvement. The hotel staff is not one of them. The staff was
very friendly and very accomadating. Now, the tub on the other hand is another issue. The shower stunk, and it leaked real bad.
The bed was very comfortable, and the room was large. I have to also say it is in a great location, right off the expressway. The parking lot was not plowed right and just packed with ice and snow which made parking difficult.

  • Liked — The bed
  • Disliked — Shower
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jcmitton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    130
    85
    47
    43
See reviews for
201
109
41
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2007

We went on a little anniversary trip to Michigan. We booked our hotel online. We picked the hotel we did based on pictures on the website as well as ammenities and price. We arrived in Grand Rapids after a full day trip of sight seeing. We checked into our room and was very pleased with it. Our room was very clean and spacious with a king size bed. It was located off the main route but conveniently close enough to the pool area. We had a good night's sleep and awoke to a great continental breakfast that included some hot foods. Everything was going great until something strange took place at breakfast. The area that is used for the breakfast is a loft overlooking the lobby. Tables were located at each end with the food tables along the wall in the middle. Two people were eating when we arrived. They finished shortly after our arrival and left. So we were left eating alone. We heard a lot of chatter going on down in the lobby. The chatter and laughter grew louder and louder. We then realized that it was coming upstairs as the elevator door opened and probably 35 housekeepers, in full uniforms that said "STAFF" , stepped off and proceeded to form a line in front of the food tables. They then filled up their plates with food and sat down at ALL of the tables that were there for the guests! During this time, a mother with a child came up looking rather disgusted and grabbed something to drink and left. Another couple came up looking kindof shocked and started getting their food. My husband had me save our table while he threw away our garbage and told this couple they could sit at our table. It was the only table that staff wasnt sitting at! We have been to several hotels over the years and have never had staff come in at the continental breakfast proceeding to eat the guests food!! We are not sure if this is a routine thing that this establishment allows its staff to do, but it was rude to see that many staff members barge in especially when the breakfast time had just started. Overall, a great stay. Just make sure if you stay here, you get up early to beat the staff to breakfast!!

  • Liked — great room!
  • Disliked — eating with the housekeepers
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IkeBoxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2007

My boyfriend and I wanted to take a romantic vacation and chose the Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites. We reserved a suite and the room was very clean. There wasn't any lighting above the microwave/fridge area. In fact, lighting was not very bright unless you opened the window shades. The pool and hot tub was very good, but the sauna took so long to heat up that we would just give up. Meijer is located across the street. Room service came at nine am, and the woman at the front desk had told me she had no idea what time they came, so I was in the middle of dressing. The maid spoke very little English, and when I asked her to come back in half an hour (at 9:30 AM) she only told me "I go home at 1", so I let her in and had to finish getting ready to go while she cleaned. Also, the water pressure in the shower wasn't very good. We paid for two nights, and went out the morning after our first night. When we returned that afternoon, we found the front desk had made a mistake, and our room keys had expired, so we had to get them reactivated. Though it isn't listed as free in the amenities, hi speed internet is free, and it was very good and fast.
Breakfast was better than I expected, with make your own waffles, cereal, oatmeal, fruit, yogurt, several beverages, hot eggs and sausage and much much more.
I would stay here again, but not as a first choice.

  • Liked — The pool/spa.
  • Disliked — That housekeeping spoke little English.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank phsgradin2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
323 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2007

The renovations are complete and all in all the hotel is very nice. A good breakfast area, but sapce is limited for the amount of people they get. You have to get there early.
Rooms are nice, but ours was not cleaned as well as it could have been. Bathroom and shower had places that needed a little more attention.
The pool area is very nice, but on the small side. When there are alot of kids, it is impossible to relax.
My only big complaint is the staff (except for front desk) spoke little to no english, so it was frustrating sometimes to ask questions.
My recommendation is to go to the front desk for everything.

  • Liked — Hotel common areas were very nice
  • Disliked — Cleaning lacked attention to details
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank stones2125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2007

This Hotel was very clean but that's about the nicest thing that I can say.
There were so many screaming children in the pool/hot tub area that we were unable to use it with any enjoyment.
We needed a roll away and I believe it was the most uncomfortable roll away I've ever used!
The young man at the front desk was rude.

  • Liked — Close to the Airport
  • Disliked — Poor service
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dakotakelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Arkansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2007

This hotel has some major issues going on with it. They have been renovating this hotel for over 6 months and slowly maybe it will get better. Last time I stayed there I had problem after problem. The door wouldn't lock, the tv didn't work, there was no iron. Each problem was dealt with by the staff just like it was no big deal. The staff didn't care if everything was ok or not. The time before (yes i had to stay here more than once due to a meeting)I stayed at this hotel I had to demad a new room after multiple problems in the one they gave to me. The staff never offered any apologies and seemed almost mad that I had requested another room. I would stay away from this hotel if possible. Also the breakfast is horrible, I suggest going down the street to Perkins if you want breakfast.

  • Liked — Location to the Airport
  • Disliked — Everything Else
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pigsooie222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2007

I rated this above average because of the price. We had a group of 21 travel up to Grand Rapids and had 6 rooms booked. The price per room was $58/night which is fantastic. The hotel is being renovated and much of it appears to have been done so in general it is a nice place, especially for the price.

The good things:
Staff was very friendly.
Lobby/breakfast area was very nice. It is two floors with an open area. There are two flat panel TVs in the breakfast area with lots of small tables so we would gather there at night to play games and watch football. The breakfast included hot scrambled eggs and sausage as well as do it yourself waffles. There were also the normal doughnuts, cereals, juice, fruti, etc.
Huge pool, good sized hot tub, sauna and nice exercise room all in one area.
Rooms have mini fridge and microwaves.
Easy to get to with plenty of dining choices nearby.

The not-so-good things:
While staff was friendly they were not much help beyond check-in/check-out. There were never enough towels in the pool area even though we asked multiple times. Each time they were going to send someone and only once did anyone show up and those towels got used up immediately. The pool area was quite packed with people on the Saturday we were there. There was an ice-storm coming through the area that did not amount to much but when we had problems with toilets that would not flush, televisions that did not work, etc. the front desk blamed them all on the ice storm. The huge pool was as warm as bath water, way to warm. The hot tub only had 2 of the jets working but was nice and hot. The sauna was out of commission (must have been the ice storm!) The area around the pool and hot tub appeared to be recently tiled but all the water drained to a spot right in front of the door to the fitness center as well as under the door and onto the carpet in the fitness center. If they don't fix this soon they will have a real mold/mildew issue.

We had one person in our party who had a new cast on her leg and was still learning to operate her crutches so we asked to make sure there was an elevator because they put us all on the 2nd floor so we could be together in one wing. The night afternoon when we checked in the elevator was out of service and we found out it was scheduled maintenance to replace the interior. It took them until very late that night to complete the work and the so our person on crutches had to negotiate the stairs several times.

When we entered our rooms nothing worked. The TV did not work, the fridge did not work, the microwaves did not work, the phones did not work. Nothing but the lights. For some reason we found that everything else was unplugged. We had to crawl behind the armoirs to plug in the tv, fridge and microwaves and the phone cords were also undone. We suspect the remodeling efforts were the reason but our room did not look like it had been redone recently so we can't explain that. The bathroom is VERY small. One room's tub would not drain, another's toilet was clogged, our toilet took 4 or 5 flushes to get things to go down. These were all blamed on the ice storm. One room was given a plunger to use themselves when the toilet got clogged.

As you can tell most of these things are minor and easily rectified, and for $58/night, well, you get what you pay for.

The consensus of the group was that they would not mind going back to the same place if we travel up that way again as a group.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gbsinkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Airport
Comfort Inn Airport
#8 of 49 in Grand Rapids
423 reviews
0.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
Drury Inn & Suites Grand Rapids
#3 of 49 in Grand Rapids
125 reviews
4.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Airport
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Grand Rapids Airport
9.2 mi away
The Grand River Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites

Property: Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites
Address: 5500 28th St SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49512-2052
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of the BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites will be pleased to find that each well-appointed guestroom and suite includes satellite television with HBO®, a refrigerator, microwave and free high-speed wireless Internet access. Other amenities at this Grand Rapids hotel include a complimentary hot breakfast buffet each morning, free dinner every Monday through Thursday, a sparkling indoor heated swimming pool; largest in the area, hot tub and a complimentary airport shuttle service to the Gerald R Ford International Airport - located just three miles away. Proud to be the closest BEST WESTERN to Frederik Meijer Gardens & Sculpture Park, named one of the world’s 30 Must See Museums by Patricia Schultz, author of 1000 Places to See Before you Die. Meijer Gardens is home to Butterflies are Blooming and Christmas Around the World and Grand Rapids Art Prize Annual exhibitions.Business guests of the BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites will also appreciate this Grand Rapids hotel's close proximity to local businesses including the Grand Rapids Medical Mile. The Medical Mile is home to the Grand Rapids Community College Calkins Science Center, Spectrum Health’s Butterworth Hospital Complex, Grand Valley State university’s Cook-DeVos Center for Health Sciences, and Michigan State University Secchia Center Medical School. The BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites is close to Amway, Meijer, Cascade Engineering and Steelcase Headquarters. The Best Western is centrally located within minutes to over 100 restaurants’, many of them participating popular Annual Restaurant Week.Specializing in hosting sports teams, the BEST WESTERN Hospitality Hotel & Suites' location near Aquinas, Calvin, Cornerstone, Davenport and Grand Rapids Community Colleges. Located only minutes from Patterson Ice Arena, Soccer Spot, MVP Field House (directly across the street),and AMF Eastbrook Lanes Bowling Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hospitality Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hospitality Hotel Grand Rapids
Best Western Hospitality Hotel And Suites
Best Western Grand Rapids
Grand Rapids Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing