We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,888)
Filter reviews
1,888 results
Traveler rating
1,116
459
158
96
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,116
459
158
96
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new tower older part ruth's chris wolfgang puck tower room pantlind hotel classic hotel old section sports bar walk in closet valet parking view of the river room service convention center within walking distance art prize restaurants and bars
Filter
Updating list...
1,331 - 1,336 of 1,888 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2014

I stayed here for a conference and I was shocked that we stayed at this hotel as part of the conference. From the moment I walked in, I was looking at every piece of artwork and decor that they had. When I was greeted at the reception desk, the woman who helped me was extremely pleasant. I was slated to switch rooms each night as I booked late and that is all they had for me at the time. She did her magic and I was able to stay in the same room the entire stay. Also, they have a special going that if you opt out of room cleaning during your stay, they give you a voucher for a free Starbucks coffee, which was onsite. Perfect way to help stay green. The room was a little small for my taste but since it was only me and I was only in the room to sleep, I didnt mind. Overall a very nice experience.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

I've stayed at the Amway Grand at least a half dozen times, and it is consistently one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at. Their customer service really sets them apart. Very friendly, professional and welcoming. I prefer the tower side of the hotel, with the more contemporary rooms. They also offer rooms decorated with antiques in the old wing of the hotel. For the high quality of this hotel, the price is very affordable.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emily F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your staying with us and for sharing this experience with prospective and future guests on TripAdvisor! We are flattered by your kind words about our staff. We appreciate your loyalty and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

At your service,

Carrie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

We have our yearly chorus competition at the Devos convention center and stay at Amway. The hotel is very lovely. There are two "sides". The historic side and the new tower. Over the last 6 years I've stayed on both sides. They each have their charms and many of the rooms are different. The historic side is lovely, but has quirks--the shower and toilet can be far from the sink. The room we stayed in yesterday was a corner room on the new side and the bathroom had a pocket door and the shower was configured in a triangle. It needed a few extra hooks, but otherwise was very nice.

The beds are comfortable and the staff is friendly. We did have a coffee maker and fridge in our room.

Our only problem was the first morning we called for an extra roll of toilet paper because there wasn't a spare. We waited about 30 minutes and didn't get it. We aren't sure how long it took because we had to go.

Cornucopia has delicious bakery items and a yogurt parfait for breakfast that I look forward to every year. The sports bar has great burgers. Every year we've had a banquet dinner and the food is consistently delicious.

Date of stay: May 2014
Trip type: Traveled on business
1  Thank barbershopchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

First class for great price! They gave us a corner suite with 2 windows overlooking the Grand River. Beautiful new updated room, comfortable bed, refrigerator, safe and very nice shower/bathroom.

Best part was the service, sense of perfection in attitude, service, attention to customers needs.

Highly recommended!

Room tip: ask for the renovated tower room, King bed,corner suite
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clunce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us, and for sharing these kind words about our newly renovated rooms, and our service and staff! I am glad that you enjoyed the views and hotel amenities. We are flattered by your recommendation, and we hope to get opportunity to host you once again.

At your service,

Carrie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

This is a wonderful old grand hotel beautifully maintained. I stayed here for 6 days and very much enjoyed myself. The staff was always helpful and professional. My room was in the old section of the hotel and the rooms was lovely.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilem G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews