We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,909)
Filter reviews
1,909 results
Traveler rating
1,126
462
160
99
62
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,126
462
160
99
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new tower ruth's chris older part wolfgang puck glass tower pantlind hotel classic hotel old section sports bar corner room walk in closet valet parking view of the river room service convention center within walking distance art prize
Filter
Updating list...
1,353 - 1,358 of 1,909 reviews
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

We have our yearly chorus competition at the Devos convention center and stay at Amway. The hotel is very lovely. There are two "sides". The historic side and the new tower. Over the last 6 years I've stayed on both sides. They each have their charms and many of the rooms are different. The historic side is lovely, but has quirks--the shower and toilet can be far from the sink. The room we stayed in yesterday was a corner room on the new side and the bathroom had a pocket door and the shower was configured in a triangle. It needed a few extra hooks, but otherwise was very nice.

The beds are comfortable and the staff is friendly. We did have a coffee maker and fridge in our room.

Our only problem was the first morning we called for an extra roll of toilet paper because there wasn't a spare. We waited about 30 minutes and didn't get it. We aren't sure how long it took because we had to go.

Cornucopia has delicious bakery items and a yogurt parfait for breakfast that I look forward to every year. The sports bar has great burgers. Every year we've had a banquet dinner and the food is consistently delicious.

Date of stay: May 2014
Trip type: Traveled on business
1  Thank barbershopchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

First class for great price! They gave us a corner suite with 2 windows overlooking the Grand River. Beautiful new updated room, comfortable bed, refrigerator, safe and very nice shower/bathroom.

Best part was the service, sense of perfection in attitude, service, attention to customers needs.

Highly recommended!

Room tip: ask for the renovated tower room, King bed,corner suite
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clunce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us, and for sharing these kind words about our newly renovated rooms, and our service and staff! I am glad that you enjoyed the views and hotel amenities. We are flattered by your recommendation, and we hope to get opportunity to host you once again.

At your service,

Carrie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

This is a wonderful old grand hotel beautifully maintained. I stayed here for 6 days and very much enjoyed myself. The staff was always helpful and professional. My room was in the old section of the hotel and the rooms was lovely.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilem G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

we stayed for 1 night. the lobby and restaurants were very nice. Call ahead if you want to eat at the steak house. They were booked we had to find somewhere else to eat. The staff was very helpful and friendly. My husband was not impressed with the TV in the room, it did not have the sharpest picture. It didn't bother me in the least. The walls are thin which made it hard to get a good nights sleep. The room was very clean. I am not sure it was worth the price of the room.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeahK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We were here for the RiverBank run this weekend and stayed a few extra days. We stayed in the front this time in the Pantlind hotel area which appears to be the old original area of the hotel, not the tower where we stayed last time. The location was great as we could look out the window and see the start line, which was awesome. Our room was a handicap room which meant no tub but it was excellent. Except for carpet from the 70's it was a great room. Good bed, great pillows great A/C, good water pressure, etc. Not super huge but big enough and very comfortable.

The staff here is great. Midwestern friendly and always pleasant. From the room cleaner to the front desk and bell staff they are as good as it gets in hotel workers. I don't know how they do it but the are without exception excellent.

A final note about restaurants. We had Mothers day in the Ruth's Chris attached and it too was excellent. Not cheap but another reason to stay here at the Amway Grand. The Deli (Cornucopia?) we visited a couple times and it was good too. They went out of their way to accommodate the runners needs.

I recommend this hotel as one of only 2 worth staying in downtown GR.

Room tip: If you like the old style try for a room in the Pantlind. Ornate old style lobby and close to the street where all the restaurants are.
Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philipgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us for the second year during the Riverbank run! I am glad that you found your stay comfortable, and that you had a wonderful dining experience in Ruth's Chris for Mother's Day. Thank you for your kind words about our staff - we are very fortunate to have such exceptional staff members. We appreciate you choosing us for your stay, and recommending us to others, as we are flattered to be one of your top Downtown Grand Rapids hotels. We hope we get the opportunity to host you again next year.

At your service,

Carrie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews