We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel-5 Star Secret in Grand Rapids” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Grand Rapids
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel-5 Star Secret in Grand Rapids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

First class for great price! They gave us a corner suite with 2 windows overlooking the Grand River. Beautiful new updated room, comfortable bed, refrigerator, safe and very nice shower/bathroom.

Best part was the service, sense of perfection in attitude, service, attention to customers needs.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: ask for the renovated tower room, King bed,corner suite
See more room tips
Green Features: Very environmentally friendly! Even recycles room cards!
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clunce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us, and for sharing these kind words about our newly renovated rooms, and our service and staff! I am glad that you enjoyed the views and hotel amenities. We are flattered by your recommendation, and we hope to get opportunity to host you once again.

At your service,

Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    866
    363
    111
    68
    41
See reviews for
214
367
44
629
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Simeon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

This is a wonderful old grand hotel beautifully maintained. I stayed here for 6 days and very much enjoyed myself. The staff was always helpful and professional. My room was in the old section of the hotel and the rooms was lovely.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Ohio
Level Contributor
97 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

we stayed for 1 night. the lobby and restaurants were very nice. Call ahead if you want to eat at the steak house. They were booked we had to find somewhere else to eat. The staff was very helpful and friendly. My husband was not impressed with the TV in the room, it did not have the sharpest picture. It didn't bother me in the least. The walls are thin which made it hard to get a good nights sleep. The room was very clean. I am not sure it was worth the price of the room.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeahK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

We were here for the RiverBank run this weekend and stayed a few extra days. We stayed in the front this time in the Pantlind hotel area which appears to be the old original area of the hotel, not the tower where we stayed last time. The location was great as we could look out the window and see the start line, which was awesome. Our room was a handicap room which meant no tub but it was excellent. Except for carpet from the 70's it was a great room. Good bed, great pillows great A/C, good water pressure, etc. Not super huge but big enough and very comfortable.

The staff here is great. Midwestern friendly and always pleasant. From the room cleaner to the front desk and bell staff they are as good as it gets in hotel workers. I don't know how they do it but the are without exception excellent.

A final note about restaurants. We had Mothers day in the Ruth's Chris attached and it too was excellent. Not cheap but another reason to stay here at the Amway Grand. The Deli (Cornucopia?) we visited a couple times and it was good too. They went out of their way to accommodate the runners needs.

I recommend this hotel as one of only 2 worth staying in downtown GR.

Room Tip: If you like the old style try for a room in the Pantlind. Ornate old style lobby and close to the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philipgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying with us for the second year during the Riverbank run! I am glad that you found your stay comfortable, and that you had a wonderful dining experience in Ruth's Chris for Mother's Day. Thank you for your kind words about our staff - we are very fortunate to have such exceptional staff members. We appreciate you choosing us for your stay, and recommending us to others, as we are flattered to be one of your top Downtown Grand Rapids hotels. We hope we get the opportunity to host you again next year.

At your service,

Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed here recently for a conference, in the new tower. Staff were super friendly, hotel is very nice. Rooms on the higher floors have been upgraded and are much nicer than those on the lower floors, which are a bit dated. Fitness centre is decent (although a little dark) with a good selection of cardio machines and weight machines. Had lunch in the Cornucopia: great salads, not expensive; breakfast buffet was also good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors of the tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirage2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

I love the history of this hotel. It has everything. From the converted furniture showroom that the Pantland used to be to it's own mark on the city when it was renovated in 1984 by DeVos and Van Andel this hotel is more than just a building.
Grand Rapids was a little-known and rotting city until the Amway Grand's renovation gave hope to the hearts of locals. This building marks the beginning of a transformed downtown from decaying to vibrant.
I stayed here for my honeymoon on the Pantland end and once in the Van Andel Suite on the top floor of the tower. Both experiences were wonderful. Everything in this building seems to take you back about 100 years. Service is excellent and it is so charming. I also love how the Gerald Ford Room is so 70's even though those colors are so out of style now.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chinagriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Defiance, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stayed in the Pantlind wing of the hotel for one night in May for a conference being held in the hotel. Room was very nice, maybe a little small for the price paid...BUT, clean and well-appointed with a comfy bed and nice, big television. My only issue with the room itself is the wi-fi signal kept cutting in and out (more noticeable on my phone than computer), but I chalk it up to being in the more historic wing of the hotel which was definitely not designed to accommodate wireless signals and that is fine and I managed. The wireless in the public areas of the hotel and conference rooms was amazing and made up for the relative lack of wi-fi in the room. The hotel is gorgeous and staff were always helpful and courteous when answering questions; I was even able to check in early when I arrived early Friday for the conference (normal check-in is at 4pm and I was able to check in at 7:30am with no extra charge).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smartace2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to review your experience, as we value your feedback. We sincerely apologize for the wi-fi issues you experienced on the Historic Pantlind wing, and we appreciate your understanding. Thank you for taking note of our helpful staff - we are very fortunate to have such courteous staff members. I am glad we were able to accommodate your early check in. We hope to host you for another stay very soon! We look forward to seeing you again.

At your service,

Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Grand Rapids hotels
0.1 mi away
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
JW Marriott Grand Rapids
#3 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Grand Rapids Downtown
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Grand Rapids Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Grand Rapids Downtown
0.2 mi away
CityFlatsHotel
CityFlatsHotel
#15 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
Courtyard Grand Rapids Downtown
#16 of 49 in Grand Rapids
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 187 Monroe Ave NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49503-2621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Kent County > Grand Rapids
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Grand Rapids
#3 Romantic Hotel in Grand Rapids
#4 Business Hotel in Grand Rapids
#6 Family Hotel in Grand Rapids
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 682
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When does the hotel become the destination? When the moment you walk through the door you feel as if you've been transported - by the elegance, the details, and the gracious service. When your every expectation of what a hotel can be is exceeded. Welcome to the Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, where every stay is marked by a memorable moment. Whether it's a stroll through the Pantlind Lobby, the great view from one of our Glass Tower rooms, the classical architecture, or your first bite of one of our signature entrees. The Amway Grand Plaza is much more than a hotel. It's a true destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amway Grand Plaza Rapids
Hotel Amway Grand Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing