We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,890)
Filter reviews
1,891 results
Traveler rating
1,117
460
158
97
59
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,117
460
158
97
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new tower older part ruth's chris wolfgang puck tower room pantlind hotel classic hotel old section sports bar walk in closet valet parking view of the river room service convention center within walking distance art prize restaurants and bars
Filter
Updating list...
1,358 - 1,363 of 1,891 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2014

I just want to say that every hotel manager in the buisness needs to stay one night in this hotel. The staff and owners really get it. The doors are quiet and you never know the staff are anywhere around your room. I want to thank Gil and Ryan on the 3rd shift team for everything. If you go to Grand Rapids treat yourself and stay at The Amway!

Date of stay: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pushrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking note about of our tremendous staff - we are very fortunate to have such sincere and dedicated staff members. We are quite flattered by your very kind words. We look forward to having you again soon!

At your service,

Carrie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

As an architect, I'm kinda prissy about cities and the cool-ness factor. GRAND RAPIDS IS VERY COOL. I had NO IDEA; Just go there, I cannot begin to tell you about all the things you will find. Also, go to the beaches, but avoid the towns. Surprisingly, you will have to pay for admittance so bring a charcoal grill , sneak in some local brew, and make a sunset night of it! The Amway was OK+ for my spouse's convention. Nice, quiet room. No perks- like coffee. Nice hotel in a great location. Best part was that our bellhop told me about the best islands for snorkeling/diving. Very nice people all around at the hotel. Again, I was WOWED with the city.

Date of stay: May 2013
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank 12mkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Beautiful hotel! This hotel is quite unique in that one side of the hotel is historic and very elegant with old charm and gorgeous decor. The other side is modern with contemporary decor. I initially requested to stay on the historic side but had a problem with the air circulation in the room. The room was small and a bit stuffy for my sensitive sinuses but a beautiful room nonetheless. After a sleepless night, I requested to be moved to the other side of the hotel. The hotel staff was very understanding and managed to accommodate my request even though the hotel was at full capacity. The room was spacious and newly renovated with a beautiful view. (five star quality) My sinus issue cleared up and I enjoyed the remainder of my stay. There is a spacious health club with updated equipment. A decent selection of restaurants but other options outside the hotel within walking distance. Overall, a very nice hotel.

Date of stay: March 2014
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank pat j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us, and for sharing this wonderful review of your experience. We are glad you enjoyed so much of what our hotel has to offer, including the architecture, location, and friendly staff; we are delighted that you got to experience our newly renovated Tower Rooms. I'm glad we were able accommodate you in getting another room that cleared your sinus issues! We look forward to having you again, and thank you again for choosing to stay with us.

At your service,

Carrie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I recently stayed at the Amway Grand for a teacher convention and was happy with the corner room I was given (1981.) It had a comfortable king-sized bed with a large sitting area, complete with a table and chairs. I'd agree with other reviewers who have said the heating unit was rather loud which made it hard to hear the TV. The bathroom was clean and big enough.

I visited the restaurants in the hotel during my stay. I wasn't overly impressed, especially with the prices. The breakfast and lunch buffets were definitely not worth the $15-$20 I paid for a limited meal.

That being said, it was a lovely stay. The staff was courteous and helpful. It was clean. It was convenient. I would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: March 2014
Trip type: Traveled on business
1  Thank MotherDaughterDuoFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I attended a one-day conference here and stayed the night before. I arrived pretty late so I didn't get a chance to explore much of the hotel, but everything that I did see was very nice and updated. I self-parked rather than valet parked and had a bit of a time finding the lobby, as I entered from the conference room side and it was a maze of stairs and half-stairs. Later on I found out that there's skyway access, which is a big plus in bad weather. The front desk staff person was nice and efficient.

I'm always a bit wary of older hotels, but the renovations are done well. Honestly I think the only drabby thing that I recall was that the door molding was a little banged-up with the appearance of many layers of paint. The room is clean, the bathroom is fully updated, and the closet is massive! I had a problem with WiFi dropping periodically but at least it's free. Elevators are fast, though I'm not sure what the occupancy was at the time.

The conference was held in a rather showy hall reminiscent of Versailles. The breakfast was pretty good but no toast or bagels, just pastries. I was not asked to specify my meal when I registered for the conference, but I was able to request and receive a vegetarian meal for lunch. I scoffed when I saw an entire brick of grilled tofu atop a bed of spinach and other vegetables. It really was delicious and delightful and I gave my compliments to the chef.

I haven't had the opportunity to visit Grand Rapids for any length of time. I would look forward to another stay here should I return in the future.

Date of stay: March 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DPT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie S, Manager at Amway Grand Plaza, Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us before your conference, and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We sincerely apologize for the wi-fi issues you experienced and we appreciate your understanding. Thank you for taking note of our helpful front desk staff - we are very fortunate to have such courteous staff members. I am delighted to hear that you found your vegetarian meal delicious. We hope you get the opportunity to explore Grand Rapids on your next stay, perhaps one of leisure rather than business!

At Your Service,

Carrie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews